Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Talk about anything that doesn't fit elsewhere - PLEASE don't put Cumulus queries in here!
User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4979
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby mcrossley » Wed Jan 18, 2017 1:43 pm

Anybody got a gold star for 2016? I think I should have, but no sign of it - mind you I haven't had an invite to the awards ceremony yet either :x

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2404
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby RayProudfoot » Wed Jan 18, 2017 2:33 pm

No,me neither. Despite giving them a fair bit of feedback I notice the WOW site is still pretty awful.

I used to be able to easily compare my MSLP with your site but doing it now shows a useless graph with still only one station showing and a baseline on the graph of 920hPa. Like we're ever going to get that here!
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4979
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby mcrossley » Wed Jan 18, 2017 9:10 pm

I don't have a problem plotting your station against mine on the graph, I just type in "Cheadle Hulme" and hit "Search", works every time?

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2404
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby RayProudfoot » Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:52 pm

Mark,

It's because of the vertical scale. It makes comparison so difficult. This is what I see. Do you see something similar?

hPa.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby PaulMy » Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:55 am

I polished by 2015 Gold award but that didn't get me a 2016 :o , then tried to copy my WU Gold Star but that didn't take eithe :lol: r. Guess I'll just have to be patient and wait...

Shows that I don't look at everything on my WOW site as just see that the Dashboard shows data of September 19, 2016. But the Table and Graph view are all with ongoing and up to current data. Is the data only fed from manual weather observation upload?

Paul

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4979
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby mcrossley » Thu Jan 19, 2017 9:20 am

Sorry, I see what you mean, yes the pressure graph is pretty useless. I'm not too impressed by the rainfall graph either to be honest.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2404
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby RayProudfoot » Thu Jan 19, 2017 9:27 am

I've written to the Met Office attaching that graph. Hopefully they'll fix it.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4979
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby mcrossley » Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:35 pm

They haven't fixed the graph, but they have awarded the 2016 gold stars - I must have missed the invite to the ceremony.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2404
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby RayProudfoot » Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:41 pm

mcrossley wrote:They haven't fixed the graph, but they have awarded the 2016 gold stars - I must have missed the invite to the ceremony.


:D I have one too.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby Mapantz » Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:49 pm

I have emailed them twice about showing my wind speeds in kts despite it being set to mph. They said they would fix it... like 4 months ago.. I hate kts!
They also said that 1 minute updates would be available, and that hasn't happened either.

Still can't stay logged in, this was something else they said was going to be fixed.. months ago. The main map is always 45 mins to an hour out of date, which I find useless. I also don't like the temperature colour scale, its all too close ie locations at 10 degrees are hard to differentiate from those at say 5 degrees.

Do they only show a gold star for one year now?
Image
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4979
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby mcrossley » Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:43 pm

RayProudfoot wrote:I've written to the Met Office attaching that graph. Hopefully they'll fix it.


Ray, if you want to patch it in the meantime, create a new Favourite in your browser, call it something like "Fix WoW Graph", and in the url field paste this bit of code...

Code: Select all

javascript:(function(){$("#graph").html($("#graph").html().replace("min: 920.0,",""))})();


Then when you bring up the pressure graph, just click that favourite link and it should redraw the graph properly.

It will remove the 920 as the minimum scale value and the graph will use the actual values as the min/max. I've tried this in Chrome and it works fine.

I also have another favourite to expand the graph to the full page width. The code for that one is...

Code: Select all

javascript:(function(){$('.col-lg-8').css('width','100%')})();


These will probably break the next time they rejig the site, but until then they are better than nothing.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2404
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby RayProudfoot » Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:05 am

Thanks Mark. I'll try that later and report back. :)
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2404
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby RayProudfoot » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:46 am

Mark,

That works well, thank you. I still can't get the comparison with your site to show anything. I enter wilmslowastro into the search box and press Update Graph but it just doesn't show a thing.

It's pretty disgraceful nothing has been changed on this site since I contacted them last year. They make a service available to the public then don't properly support it. The latest message on the WOW site apologises for the forum not being available. Don't hold your breath on that getting fixed any time soon. :roll:
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4979
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby mcrossley » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:51 am

Very odd Ray. When I open your site page, selected graph > pressure, put "wilmslow" in the search box, hit 'Search Site', it changed to "wilmslowastro", loaded the graph, ran my bit code and this is what I see...
Capture.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2404
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Met Office WOW site - upgraded but many stations missing

Postby RayProudfoot » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:59 am

Ah right. Loading your site then searching for mine and it works.

Try loading your own site and then searching for Cheadle Hulme. I couldn't get that to work.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest