Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:59 pm
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
If you find Cumulus useful, please consider a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:54 am
Posts: 111
Location: Mayenne, Pays De La Loire, France
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Vista Home Premium SP2
I'd like to set up a webcam but I don't know much about them. Luckily I found this thread as a starter. I'll need one that will be indoors, but will have to be upstairs and my weather station console and computer is downstairs. So presume I need a wireless one with an IP address.....Gina, being UK based, where did you get yours from and what sort of price would I need to pay?

I wanted to be able to use my own page rather than others that I have seen which display in a pre-built manufacturer's page, so these look good. From what I can (barely) understand, the alternatives shown here seem to be either to have the image embedded directly into a web page, or to transfer an image from somewhere else via ftp. Are their any pros and cons to either of these methods?

Your page looks closest to what I would like to do Gina. Can you give me a few more pointers on what I would need to do to extract the image and upload via ftp? It's outside my knowledge.

_________________
Many thanks
Helen

La Locherie Weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:34 pm
Posts: 632
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus w/24 FARS
Operating System: WinX Pro SP3 Dedicated wstn
Depends on what you are attempting to accomplish.

To many, a webcam page displays a "moving" webcam image, meaning you can see changes to the image in a short period of time. To do that, you need to embed the image and have the source updated fairly regular (once a second, several times a minute...). So you can see the wind blow so to speak.

Others, just want to show a recap image which is what Gina is doing.

Bandwith for the former is much higher and can be influenced by the number of visitors that are looking at the page at the moment. 1-5 is not much, but 300 visitors at the same time might make a bit of a difference to your sites performance and might even hit your workstation as well.

The latter is simpler to setup and use and gives a snap show of what things looked like when it was taken.

_________________
Kevin
Image
All you need is Time, Aptitude and Desire ... and you can build just about anything...
Cumulus User Maps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:54 am
Posts: 111
Location: Mayenne, Pays De La Loire, France
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Vista Home Premium SP2
Thanks Kevin, that's really clear. I'm unlikely to have more than 1-5 people on the site an any one time so looks like I could use either method - although simpler is always more attractive!

To use the former method, I could use code along the lines of what has been shown in the post then? If we want to show our bird feeding station in the pic too, I guess a sense of movement would be nice. Do you recommend any particular webcam?

I'd still like to understand Gina's method too so I can decide, so hopefully she will be along at some point.

_________________
Many thanks
Helen

La Locherie Weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:03 pm
Posts: 795
Location: Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, UK
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows Vista & 7 Pro
You might like to take a look at this site http://www.yawcam.com/. I haven't yet put it through its paces but it may be what you're looking for ;)

_________________
Neil
Hurstpierpoint Weather

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 5:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:41 pm
Posts: 1859
Location: Devon UK
Weather Station: FO WH1081PC (Maplin)
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
Hi Helen :)

Love your web site, very pleasant to look at :) Also, nice to see another lady on here :)

The webcam I'm using is nothing special though a bit above the most basic. Note that it is NOT a wireless one. I bought it from Maplin some time back. This is it :- http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=228786 I thought they'd discontinued it but I was wrong. I bought that model because it works well in low light (even without the led lights) has reasonable resolution and is fairly small. Also, they said it didn't need drivers as it was standard USB. And contrary to what they are saying on that page now, it DOES work with Linux (edit - I see they've taken that off now). Amazon.co.uk seem to do very similar ones much cheaper eg. http://www.amazon.co.uk/MiniGadget-Nightvision-Webcam-with-Microphone/dp/B002OI1GS6/ref=sr_1_34?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1265477826&sr=1-34 I don't know what the performance of that one is actually like, but the spec looks similar. Different make on it - mine was Sweex.

The software I'm using is Linux based and called simply webcam. It captures images from the webcam and uses FTP to upload them to a web site as a JPG image. You can set the resolution and capture rate etc. and specify the FTP server particulars, in a setup file, in plain text. On the server you have an image folder/directory where the image file is uploaded and supply a simple web page containing that image. Two extra lines of HTML code tell the client's web browser to refresh the page - so that the webcam is automatically refreshed.

Here is the HTML code for the webcam page :-
Code:
<html>
<head>
<meta content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" http-equiv="content-type">
<title>Webcam</title>
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="120">
<meta http-equiv="expires" content="0">
<link rel="stylesheet" href="http://ginad.org.uk/weathergd/normal.css" type="text/css">
</head>
<body style="background-image: url(../../weathergd/images/BlackdownHills.JPG);">
<h1>Blackdown Hills Weathercam</h1>
<h2>View across the Otter Valley looking South -&nbsp;updates every 5 minutes</h2>
<div style="text-align: center;">
<img style="width: 640px; height: 480px;" alt="Weathercam" src="images/webcam.jpeg"><br>
<br>
</div>
</body>
</html>


Although I use Linux (currently Ubuntu v8.10 for the webcam) I would think there's Windows software that would do much the same thing.

I have the webcam mounted in a waterproof box with a perspex window for the webcam lens, on the outside of the wall about 7ft up under the eaves but not so close as to obscure the sky. This is a bungalow and we don't have an upstairs. The webcam is connected by USB cable directly to the computer. I'm planning to add all this info to my weather web site in due course together with the location and altitude plus the various modifications I have made to the weather station sensors.

That's about all I can think of at present but I'm happy to answer any questions :)

_________________
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 6:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:54 am
Posts: 111
Location: Mayenne, Pays De La Loire, France
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Vista Home Premium SP2
Thanks Neil, I'll have a look at that site.

Gina, thanks for the comment re the website.

There is a lot to digest in your reply but it will be very helpful. Thanks for the links to the kit, I'll have a good look tomorrow. I haven't braved Linux yet but will do as you suggest and find something similar for Windows.

_________________
Many thanks
Helen

La Locherie Weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 7:59 am
Posts: 106
Location: Sheffield UK
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Vista
I use the wired version of this http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=256534 works really well, will upload images by ftp at pre-defined intervals, and you can also access it live. Can be set to keep overwriting the old file (which is ideal for a web page).

It does other stuff like motion sensing but the images captured use the time/date as the file name which makes using those on a webpage tricky.

_________________
====
Alan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:41 pm
Posts: 1859
Location: Devon UK
Weather Station: FO WH1081PC (Maplin)
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
That's a good point - these webcams often come with Windows software - I think mine did. Being used to nothing including Linux software I don't look at the included software :lol: I do still have one PC with Windows (XP Pro) on the HD :)

Regarding Linux and Ubuntu, I would say to anyone using Windows and happy with it, stay with what you know unless (like me) you like playing with new things. IMO both operating systems have their good and bad points. It's just that Linux suits me and the way I think better than Windows - with the bonus that the software is free :)

_________________
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 8:52 am
Posts: 660
Location: Crafers, South Australia
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH1091
Operating System: Windows XP
I've been watching this thread with interest as I know nothing about webcams and I'm in the same situation as Helen, where I need to place my webcam a greater distance from my PC than the standard USB cable lengths. I tried using 2 wire CCTV and a video to USB converter but that didn't do the job. I'm very glad you're now putting the exact model webcams & s/w you're using. :clap:

_________________
Cheers

Phil

Crafers Weather Station & Webcam

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Belfast, UK
Weather Station: watson w-8681
Operating System: windows 7
I use an ANC-600v ip camera http://www.svp.co.uk/electrical/digital-vision/digital-cameras/sumvision-ip-camera-anc-600v_mte-01027.html all it needs is access to a lan cable if you have a home network. It has its foibles which doesn't surprise me as a budget ip camera but it works well. there are wireless variants around which may be simpler for some to set up especially if you don't have cabling in place.

_________________
my weather station is http://www.ho66es.org/weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 1:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:34 pm
Posts: 632
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus w/24 FARS
Operating System: WinX Pro SP3 Dedicated wstn
Poor Sitting, but I stuck one of my webcams in the windowsill "Inside the sun screen". So it is a horrible picture, but during the day was okay.

Looking for my box which has the older webcam I used to use which no longer has the base to stick back outside in the same location (outside the screen), but I think my son was playing with it.

If I find it, I will replace the current cam. Don't want to use this one outside as I use it for video conferencing.

This is using PySoftware's Active Webcam software.

I set the image to 320x240 to keep the processing down and am running it at 1fps.

With the street lamp you can actually see the street, and the cars driving by. Bit boring.

http://cumulus.tnetweather.com/webcam

I will be out of the office in the other room so I will turn off the lights and it should make the image look better, though not by much.

Time for some online Poker...

_________________
Kevin
Image
All you need is Time, Aptitude and Desire ... and you can build just about anything...
Cumulus User Maps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Posts: 2157
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3
I'm getting "IE cannot display ...." for the server IFRAME :?

_________________
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 4:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:34 pm
Posts: 632
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus w/24 FARS
Operating System: WinX Pro SP3 Dedicated wstn
Seems my logic for displaying which port was wrong. should be fixed now.

I have to use a different port depending on where I am looking.

_________________
Kevin
Image
All you need is Time, Aptitude and Desire ... and you can build just about anything...
Cumulus User Maps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 4:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Posts: 2157
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3
Yup - That's working fine now :P

_________________
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webcam Servers
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 8:52 am
Posts: 660
Location: Crafers, South Australia
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH1091
Operating System: Windows XP
Woohoo, I got my webcam up and running: http://members.ozemail.com.au/~storerfa ... webcam.jpg

I have just sat the camera in the front window at this stage. Its a MS LifeCam Cinema True 720p HD. I also got a security camera dome which fits it perfectly and a 10m USB extention cable.

At this stage I'm collecteing an image through yawcam as detailed above and using cumulus to send the image to my website. It will stop updating when I start mounting the camera permanently, so this is just a test. I haven't linked it to my home page yet either.

Thanks for the info, this has been a great help.

_________________
Cheers

Phil

Crafers Weather Station & Webcam

Image


Last edited by hills on Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group