IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

FTP is broken. I advise all users using my server for their web site to make alternative arrangements.

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

AMBIENT WS 2092

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
garybuska
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:34 pm
Weather Station: WS2090
Operating System: Windows 8 64 bit
Location: Jacksonville, Fla

AMBIENT WS 2092

Postby garybuska » Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:23 pm

I plan on buying this in the near future and want to know what software will I need to connect to Weather Underground
This station transmits by wyfy and my computer does not need to be on to transmit data to weather underground :?:

water01
Posts: 1465
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: AMBIENT WS 2092

Postby water01 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:00 pm

I believe that this one of the weather stations that communicates to Weather Underground directly and if that is the case it is not supported by Cumulus.

garybuska
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:34 pm
Weather Station: WS2090
Operating System: Windows 8 64 bit
Location: Jacksonville, Fla

Re: AMBIENT WS 2092

Postby garybuska » Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:51 am

You are 100% correct I was wondering if there was another means I will not have this station until July 10th or so and from what i have read it does connect to weather underground directly by way of HYFY
I was not sure if I could connect to cumulus the same way
The main reason I am buying this station is so my computer does not have to be on to connect to weather underground
The station I have now my computer has to be on so I can connect to cumulus
I did not know if I could still connect to cumulus by WYFY
:?:

water01
Posts: 1465
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: AMBIENT WS 2092

Postby water01 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:31 pm

This station is not supported either by WiFi or USB as it's interface protocols are not supported by Cumulus.

Therefore there is no way to connect this station to Cumulus.

I would have suggested that you might be able to use an easyweather.dat file but I can see no way that you can intercept the output to Weather Underground to produce that file, unless anybody knows otherwise.

So I think you would have to use some other software as Cumulus will not support it.

User avatar
ICP963
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:53 am
Weather Station: Vantage Vue
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA

Re: AMBIENT WS 2092

Postby ICP963 » Sat Jun 16, 2018 5:24 pm

I would say that if your current station is working well then there is really no need to replace it. Just get a Raspberry Pi3 and run Cumulus MX.
It really is not that hard to set up and takes very little power.

That is what I use with my Davis Vantage Vu and I love it.

garybuska wrote:I plan on buying this in the near future and want to know what software will I need to connect to Weather Underground
This station transmits by wyfy and my computer does not need to be on to transmit data to weather underground :?:
Roy Schahrer - N7QYK
Chandler, AZ
WX Station : Davis Vantage Vue with USB Datalogger
WX Computer: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B running Raspbian
Software : CumulusMX Beta 3041

garybuska
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:34 pm
Weather Station: WS2090
Operating System: Windows 8 64 bit
Location: Jacksonville, Fla

Re: AMBIENT WS 2092

Postby garybuska » Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:39 am

Thanks for the replies
After some further reading this will come with soft ware that will allow me to connect to weatherunderground without using cumulus
I will let you know how this works out.
As I stated I will not have this station until after July 10th
That is when we close on the house we are buying
I have all ready set up a new station I just have to wait until I can find out the LAT/LONG of the new station

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 692
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.5 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: AMBIENT WS 2092

Postby Toxic17 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 2:35 pm

garybuska wrote:That is when we close on the house we are buying
I have all ready set up a new station I just have to wait until I can find out the LAT/LONG of the new station


you can do it now using these sites:

https://gps-coordinates.org/
https://www.latlong.net/
http://www.mapcoordinates.net/en
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://www.conligwx.org/pws/
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image


Return to “Fine Offset/EasyWeather”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests