Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

temperature blip

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
hmc1944
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 7:21 pm
Weather Station: Weatherwise WS1090 solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: st. Petersburg, Florida

temperature blip

Postby hmc1944 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:41 pm

Rain and cool today. Temperature been in low 60's and high 50's all day but saw record low temperature recorded at 3;19 pm of minus 38.5 F. When I looked at current temperature 10 minutes later, it was 59.6F. Using Weatherwise ws-1090 solar. Any suggestions what would cause it?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26655
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: temperature blip

Postby steve » Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:53 am

With a Fine Offset station, any number of things - interference from various sources, low transmitter batteries, etc etc, see many other threads in the forum. Cumulus provides 'spike removal' settings (on the calibration settings screen) to stop these being logged as they occur.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

hmc1944
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 7:21 pm
Weather Station: Weatherwise WS1090 solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: st. Petersburg, Florida

Re: temperature blip

Postby hmc1944 » Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:44 pm

Replaced the batteries today. Having temperature range of -38F for a low in the afternoon to 135F early evening not good. Today had a low of 6F and a high of 122. Sensor not near electrical lines and 5 feet off ground. Will see what happens next. May invest in another transmitter if issue isn't resolved.

sfws
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Customised mix of Fine Offset
Operating System: Tempermental Win. 10 PC
Location: UK

Re: temperature blip

Postby sfws » Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:10 pm

One key point you do not tell us - Does your weather station console show rubbish min/max values ?
The FAQ http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/FAQ#I_get_very_large_amounts_of_rainfall_shown.2C_or_other_high_readings focusses on cases when only Cumulus gets it wrong.

Assuming the console shows wrong figures, and as you have had your station a while, the fault is in the processing in the outdoor unit and this link http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=12877&p=100805 might explain the interference.
Last edited by sfws on Sun Feb 15, 2015 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MickinMoulden
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:12 pm
Weather Station: WS-1081 with rain gauge mod
Operating System: Windows 7 & 1.9.3 b1059
Location: Palmerston, NT, Australia
Contact:

Re: temperature blip

Postby MickinMoulden » Sat Feb 14, 2015 11:28 pm

[quote="hmc1944"]Rain and cool today. Any suggestions what would cause it?/quote]
I believe the rain has put moisture on the connectors. This causes errors In temp. If it is really bad it will start to show low or no wind. Check your connectors. Solder new ones on if corroded. If you have extended your cable with couplers, cut them off and Solder. Add shrink tubing. In the calibration setting I have put mine at 0.3c.
Michael, Palmerston, NT Australia www.Palmerston-WeatherImageNo image? I'm offline!
ImageImage


Return to “Fine Offset/EasyWeather”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests