Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

New Installation

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
TRex
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:46 am
Weather Station: Fine Offset/WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Toowoomba Queensland

New Installation

Postby TRex » Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:19 am

Some 8 months ago, my Fine Offset died on me, and I have only just replaced it. As it is a slightly different model, and to avoid any confusion, I decided (rightly or wrongly) to uninstall the original version of Cumulus so that all past data was lost, and reinstall the latest version. This was done just a few days ago. When doing the configuration of Station Settings, I inadvertently set the wind speed at m/s instead of km/h, and it ran like that for about 24 hours. On realising my error, I went to reset the configuration, and remembered, as well as saw your warning to "Choose carefully.- If you change units later, your data will be wrong!" I can appreciate that if I have 18 months of data in one unit, say Imperial, and want to change it to Metric, then the old data will be incorrect, and records will be meaningless. If I change my data from m/s to km/h, will my new data be forever read and logged in m/s, and consequently be wrong by a factor of 3.6 for all time, or does it mean that from now on, my data will be correctly recorded in km/h, but the 4 days of data in m/s will still remain in the history files, and so cause a (very minor) inaccuracy in the long term reports? If the latter, I will live with the minor error, but if it means that I shall always be seeing m/s, thinking it to be km/h, is there a way to correct this? I am quite happy to uninstall/reinstall if required, but perhaps it is easiest just to delete the 4 days of incorrect wind records. Can anyone advise me on this please, or are there other better options?

Regards,

Mike

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: New Installation

Postby steve » Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:39 am

It logs using whatever units are currently configured, as soon as they are configured.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

TRex
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:46 am
Weather Station: Fine Offset/WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Toowoomba Queensland

Re: New Installation

Postby TRex » Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:42 am

Hi Steve, Many thanks for a prompt reply.

Much appreciated as always.

Mike


Return to “Fine Offset/EasyWeather”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests