Page 1 of 1

New Installation

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:19 am
by TRex
Some 8 months ago, my Fine Offset died on me, and I have only just replaced it. As it is a slightly different model, and to avoid any confusion, I decided (rightly or wrongly) to uninstall the original version of Cumulus so that all past data was lost, and reinstall the latest version. This was done just a few days ago. When doing the configuration of Station Settings, I inadvertently set the wind speed at m/s instead of km/h, and it ran like that for about 24 hours. On realising my error, I went to reset the configuration, and remembered, as well as saw your warning to "Choose carefully.- If you change units later, your data will be wrong!" I can appreciate that if I have 18 months of data in one unit, say Imperial, and want to change it to Metric, then the old data will be incorrect, and records will be meaningless. If I change my data from m/s to km/h, will my new data be forever read and logged in m/s, and consequently be wrong by a factor of 3.6 for all time, or does it mean that from now on, my data will be correctly recorded in km/h, but the 4 days of data in m/s will still remain in the history files, and so cause a (very minor) inaccuracy in the long term reports? If the latter, I will live with the minor error, but if it means that I shall always be seeing m/s, thinking it to be km/h, is there a way to correct this? I am quite happy to uninstall/reinstall if required, but perhaps it is easiest just to delete the 4 days of incorrect wind records. Can anyone advise me on this please, or are there other better options?

Regards,

Mike

Re: New Installation

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:39 am
by steve
It logs using whatever units are currently configured, as soon as they are configured.

Re: New Installation

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:42 am
by TRex
Hi Steve, Many thanks for a prompt reply.

Much appreciated as always.

Mike