Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

New to Weather Watching

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
ronnie.vincent
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:06 pm
Weather Station: Aercus WS1093
Operating System: Windows 10

New to Weather Watching

Postby ronnie.vincent » Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:30 pm

Hi, I am new to Weather Watching after I was bought an Aercus WS1093 Weather Station. After a couple of initial hiccups, which actually turned out to be cross interference from an neighbours station (they transmit on the same frequency) things settled down. Having ran it for around 4 weeks I have now signed up to the Met Office WOW with a site. However having difficulty uploading the data! I have read the FAQ and browsed the forum but still a bit in the dark. I set up my account and logged those details in Cumulus. I also added my site ID and 6 digit pin. When I try to upload the data it shows the FTP dialogue box and has 3 tries to upload then comes up with "connect timeout" I have played around with the FTP settings without much luck. Wondered if anybody can give me the 'basic' settings to upload to. Thanks in advance :groan:
Aercus WS1093 Cumulus V1.9.4 Build 1099

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26246
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: New to Weather Watching

Postby steve » Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:35 pm

Uploads to WOW don't use FTP, they use HTTP, so the FTP settings in Cumulus aren't relevant, only the ones in the WOW box. If you turn on debug logging, the debuglog.txt file will show attempted uploads to WOW, with any errors returned by WOW.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

ronnie.vincent
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:06 pm
Weather Station: Aercus WS1093
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: New to Weather Watching

Postby ronnie.vincent » Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:55 am

Hi Steve, many thanks for the prompt reply. I 'unticked' all other Weather Stations and FTP boxes in the 'Internet' settings and my information has now uploaded great. But, when I click on Web Update the FTP Progress Box pops open and it still tries to connect. At the bottom of the window it shows 'FTP Connect Error and has 3 attempts at connecting and then shows 'Connect Timeout' in the FTP Progress Box and the Error button flashes. I checked the Debug Log for WOW errors and non were shown. However in the FPY Log the error 'FPT Connet Error Error Code 10060' is shown for the 3 attempts at connecting. Can this be prevented? I wondered if it had anything to do with the web address for the WOW site. I use 'wow.metoffice.gov.uk' I have tried putting http:// in front as well as /automaticreading at the end and a combination of both but it immediately shows Connect Timeout and does not upload. :roll:

sfws
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: off-line Fine Offset plus others
Operating System: off-line Vista and W10 PCs
Location: UK

Re: New to Weather Watching

Postby sfws » Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:32 am

Steve has already told you that the FTP settings are irrelevant to WOW, pay attention!

The FTP settings could be used if you had your own web server and needed FTP to place web pages on that server. Since you are presumably only using WOW, leave all the FTP settings mentioned on the Cumulus help page "Configuration: Internet Settings" blank. That should stop Cumulus attempting to use FTP. In other words (as Steve also said) the only boxes you need to fill out are those in the 'WOW' frame on the settings page.

ronnie.vincent
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:06 pm
Weather Station: Aercus WS1093
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: New to Weather Watching

Postby ronnie.vincent » Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:13 pm

Hi Steve, I did pay attention and all the boxes in the FPT settings are blank. However by carrying out some 'tests' it would appear that with the update default at 15 minutes I do not in fact have to do anything regards an 'internet update' in Cumulus. In addition I have also found that when I upload the data from the console to the Laptop it actually automatically updates the WOW site so by allowing it to do that the FPT Progress Box no longer pops up nor do I get the error message. It would appear that using the Internet Update function will automatically try and connect to an FTP server of your own web site, which at the moment I do not have of course, then uploads to WOW by which time you have the error showing. :clap:


Return to “Fine Offset/EasyWeather”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests