If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
User avatar
pernaczy
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:42 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH 2080, TFA Spring
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: Niesiolowice, Northern Poland
Contact:

Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Postby pernaczy » Thu Oct 05, 2017 7:06 am

Hi,
Today morning I realized that for the previous couple of hours Cumulus recorded still the same wind speed and wind direction data (see first picture. I disconected and than reconected wind sensors and Cumulus seems ts to start to receive correct data.

After that I started Easy Weather (with Cumulus turned out of course) and noticed that here ewerything seems to be OK (see the second picture).

So, my conclusion is that for all that period station has been receiving the "wind data" normally and for some reason Cumulus has been recording wrong wind data data.
Why?
Attached pictures are showing only wind speed data but the same happened with wind direction data.
For all that period an "outside temperature" and "outside humidity" data were recorded normally by Cumulus.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The day when I have learned anything is not the lost one.

Image

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 526
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.1 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Postby Toxic17 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:01 am

Hello

Cumulus only records what data it is given. I cannot see why Cumulus would suddenly change correct live data to something obscure.

What exactly did you disconnect/reconnect? the Weather Station Console to your computer?

Fine Offset Consoles are well known for lockups. is the console directly connected to the computer Cumulus is running from with just a straight USB lead?

One of the best Recommendation for fine offset Consoles is to attach it to a Powered USB hub first, then attach that to the PC. also adding Ferrite cores to the Neds of the USB cable can help with lockups too.
Regards Simon
https://www.conligwx.org
https://www.conligwx.org/pws/
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

water01
Posts: 1399
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Postby water01 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:28 am

Close Cumulus, roll the data files back to the previous day using the automatic backups held in the Backups folder and then restart Cumulus and it will import the correct data from the logger as Easyweather did.

AllyCat
Posts: 993
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset 1080/1 & 3080
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: SE London

Re: Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Postby AllyCat » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:06 am

Hi,

That does seem to be an "unusual" error; you could examine the Oct17log.txt file to see if there are any clues.

Also, if the data is still stored in the Console, you could copy the backup files from a previous time/day (into the data folder) and try downloading the data from the Console again.

Cheers, Alan.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Postby steve » Thu Oct 05, 2017 10:15 am

Do you have any spike removal settings for wind? Are there any messages in the diags log about wind speed?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

User avatar
pernaczy
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:42 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH 2080, TFA Spring
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: Niesiolowice, Northern Poland
Contact:

Re: Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Postby pernaczy » Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:01 am

First thank all of you for your remarks.
Now let's go to the answers.
Toxic17 wrote:Hello
What exactly did you disconnect/reconnect? the Weather Station Console to your computer?
Fine Offset Consoles are well known for lockups. is the console directly connected to the computer Cumulus is running from with just a straight USB lead?
One of the best Recommendation for fine offset Consoles is to attach it to a Powered USB hub first, then attach that to the PC. also adding Ferrite cores to the Neds of the USB cable can help with lockups too.

1. I disconnected and than reconnected wind sensors from the transmitter.
2. the console is directly connected to the computer Cumulus is running from with just a straight USB lead (I will change this with powered usb hub and will add Ferrite cores).
water01 wrote:Close Cumulus, roll the data files back to the previous day using the automatic backups held in the Backups folder and then restart Cumulus and it will import the correct data from the logger as Easyweather did.

I will try this.

AllyCat wrote:Hi,
That does seem to be an "unusual" error; you could examine the Oct17log.txt file to see if there are any clues.
Also, if the data is still stored in the Console, you could copy the backup files from a previous time/day (into the data folder) and try downloading the data from the Console again.
Cheers, Alan.

1. Attached is my monthly log file for the month of October. The period we are talking about is from October 4th to 08:00 of 5th October.
2. I will try to restore data using backup files.
steve wrote:Do you have any spike removal settings for wind? Are there any messages in the diags log about wind speed?

This seems to be the point. Probably I set them too low (5m/s for wind and 8m/s for gust). I have already changed them. Attached you can find the "diag" file and the spike removal settins picture I set now.
Piotr
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The day when I have learned anything is not the lost one.

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Postby steve » Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:10 pm

I can’t seem to view the diags file as I’m on my iPad, but those wind spike settings were far too low. If you look in the diags file you should see messages about the wind speed being ignored because of spike removal.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

User avatar
pernaczy
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:42 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH 2080, TFA Spring
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: Niesiolowice, Northern Poland
Contact:

Re: Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Postby pernaczy » Sun Oct 08, 2017 7:05 am

Thank you, Steve. You are absolutely right (as always). I can see such messages.
1. Assuming I will reload data from the station. I understand Cumulus will now not ignore them (as I have already increased spike remove values). Am I right?

2. In my case, wind speed and wind gust are being shown in km/h. Spike remowal values must be entered in m/s. So if I want Cumulus to ignore wind speed difference bigger than 30 km/h, I have to set spike removal as 8 m/s right

3. What values of spike removal for the wind speed and wind gust would you recommend?

4. Do you know, if I reset (remove batteries) my FO WH2080 station, will station logger settings (I set it to 10 minutes) go to the default (30 minutes)?
Sorry for so many questions.
Piotr
The day when I have learned anything is not the lost one.

Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Postby steve » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:12 am

1. Spike removal doesn’t operate on logger data anyway.

2.Yes

3. I can’t suggest figures, it depends on the wind profile where you are. Start high and work down if necessary, is my advice.

4. I don’t know.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

User avatar
pernaczy
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:42 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH 2080, TFA Spring
Operating System: XP SP3
Location: Niesiolowice, Northern Poland
Contact:

Re: Cumulus receiving wind data problem

Postby pernaczy » Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:42 am

Thank you, Steve. :D
Piotr
The day when I have learned anything is not the lost one.

Image


Return to “Fine Offset/EasyWeather”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests