Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

WS1080 indoor temperature sensor?

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
m_kane
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:40 am
Weather Station: WS1080
Operating System: linux

WS1080 indoor temperature sensor?

Postby m_kane » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:51 am

Does anybody have spare indoor temperature sensor for ws1080? Mine is defective and gives 5 degrees too high readings.
Or is there any way to calibrate it (on ws display, not in cumulus)
Image
Sensor is first one from up in the picture (under battery connectors).

It seems difficult to find part from internet.. no any type markings in it :(

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 792
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: WS1080 indoor temperature sensor?

Postby Super-T » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:12 am

Used my spare on the outdoor sensor but I am sure there are a lot of defunct indoor displays sitting around with members.

AllyCat
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset 1080/1 & 3080
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: SE London

Re: WS1080 indoor temperature sensor?

Postby AllyCat » Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:15 am

Hi,

Fine Offset have changed the internal hardware of the "WH1080" several times, including the T/H sensor. You appear to have copied the photo from the 2009 ".. Inside of..." thread. Does your sensor daughter-board (in the middle, below the barometric sensor) look exactly the same?

AFAIK, the temperature sensor is (now) part of the Temperature/Humidity sensor so you also need to determine if the Relative Humidity is anywhere near "correct". Earlier consoles had the problem that the battery/USB power-switching relay heated up the inside of the console slightly, but later versions do not use a relay. If your "temperature sensor" still uses a thermistor (bead) then you might "adjust" the temperature with a replacement, or with a series or parallel resistor, as appropriate.

BTW, where in the World are you located, as this may affect any spares/shipping solution?

Cheers, Alan.

m_kane
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:40 am
Weather Station: WS1080
Operating System: linux

Re: WS1080 indoor temperature sensor?

Postby m_kane » Sun Feb 04, 2018 3:27 pm

Hi Alan, thanks for response and sorry for a late reply.

My station is indeed little different. It has temp sensor board in different side of main board. There is hole in main board where sensor's eye comes through. The little sensor board looks similar so I thought that it is interchangeable..

Here is pictures of sensor board and main board:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/h9dt6ga678qdd ... 2.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8c38d4dbtzg5z ... 8.jpg?dl=0

I live in Finland. Of cource I am willing to pay shipping and part if You have replacement..

Regards, Ismo


Return to “Fine Offset/EasyWeather”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests