Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Intermittent wind speed in Fine Offset WH1080

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
sdalrymple
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:50 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Win 10

Intermittent wind speed in Fine Offset WH1080

Postby sdalrymple » Thu Feb 08, 2018 1:44 pm

My fine offset stopped reporting any windspeed in December, reading just "0.0". I replaced with a new wind speed sensor from Maplin, which didn't seem to do anything, but I left it up for a couple of weeks and when I checked again it had recorded. But then that one failed again just reporting "0.0"
I contacted Clas Ohlsen, who I originally purchased it from, and they sent me another wind gauge! Again this didn't work at first, then worked fine for a week, and then stopped at 7 this morning but I see there's been a single spike recorded at 11am, other than that wind speed reads "0.0".

What is going on here and can I fix it? I have changed the batteries in the base unit and the transmitter.

User avatar
Super-T
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:37 am
Weather Station: wh-1081
Operating System: Weather Laptop - Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Intermittent wind speed in Fine Offset WH1080

Postby Super-T » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:35 pm

Perhaps a connector or cable problem. Did they supply a new cable?

User avatar
Ned
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:15 am
Weather Station: WS2083 aspirated
Operating System: Win 10
Location: Auckland NZ
Contact:

Re: Intermittent wind speed in Fine Offset WH1080

Postby Ned » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:39 pm

What springs to mind is a cable connection issue, either where the anemometer plugs into the wind vane, or at the wind cable connection to the transmitter. These telephone connectors are susceptible to corrosion - check for green gunk at the connection sockets. I've restored these with scraping and spraying with WD-40 or similar.
Image

sdalrymple
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:50 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Win 10

Re: Intermittent wind speed in Fine Offset WH1080

Postby sdalrymple » Sat Feb 17, 2018 5:02 pm

Apologies for taking ages to reply - been on my hols! Are all the cables just standard telephone cables? Sounds like I need to take it down, give it a clean and replace them

sfws
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Maplin based, but customised
Operating System: off-line Vista and W10 PCs
Location: UK

Re: Intermittent wind speed in Fine Offset WH1080

Postby sfws » Sat Feb 17, 2018 5:40 pm

Alan ('AllyCat ') is the Fine Offset electronics 'expert', but since you get the cable with the anemometer, you have already replaced that cable. You therefore know the cable between vane and anemometer is okay, although the socket in the wind vane or the cable to the transmitter might be faulty and might indeed produce an intermittient fault like you are apparently experiencing.

To me if 3 different anemometers all result in the same problem, I would wonder if the problem is in a different part i.e. the processor/transmitter. I don't know, but I guess that could also behave eractically either because its wind socket is dirty or because the circuit board has something loose.

I suggest you do an "advanced search" just within this section of the forum for previous contributions from author AllyCat as they will explain all the options available to you as well as answering your question about the cables. An obvious test is to swap the wind and rain plugs where they plug into the transmitter, windy weather will show a lot of rain, and wet weather a lot of wind. You will have to sort out the mess of wrong values. Alternatively use a meter to check for continuity or pulses in the wind vane to transmitter wire, you will find which pin is what posted in this section of the forum somewhere.

As I understand it, the transmitters can vary in terms of transmission frequency, vary in terms of the way the processor works and vary in terms of how the zero and one states are represented (e.g. some use on/off, others vary frequency). Thus I believe if you cannot fix the problem, you will have to replace both transmitter and console as a pair, and I guess a complete new station will be a similar cost.

On my 9 year old Fine Offset I have twice replaced the anemometer, and I have changed the reed switch a couple of times too, so I don't think they are designed to last a long time, but to have a new one not working must be rare. I have not replaced my transmitter or console (fingers crossed) as I get good wind data for within a town. I don't trust either the humidity or the temperature readings on my station and measure those separately.


Return to “Fine Offset/EasyWeather”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests