Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:25 am
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
Do not allow your PC to go into standby mode while Cumulus is running - read the readme.txt!
If you find Cumulus useful, please consider a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 1:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Denton, Tx
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2080
Operating System: Windows Vista
I was wondering who all in this Forum uses the APRS / CWOP program on the Cumulus program. I am a HAM operator and was wondering if it’s worth the setup and how many of yall like the system.

Thanks!
David

_________________
David
KF5EPT

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 1:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 12:11 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Lower Sackville Nova Scotia Canada
Weather Station: weatherwise WS1080
Operating System: Win XP
I was thinking the same thing myself. A bit too early for me to start brodcasting in APRS just yet. I just got my wx stn last week and just getting the local stuff first. I know there are some wx station reporting on APRS here but I tyhink the closest one is like about 50 or so kms away so I suspect it would be a good idea. It would definitely be a good thing during weather events to brodcast info for tracking purposes at the area EMO.
Let us know if you decide to go live or not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 12:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Denton, Tx
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2080
Operating System: Windows Vista
I do plan on going live. I just need to figure out what all I need to do and where to sign up with CWOP. I have been looking on there website and trying to figure out stuff but everything I have been finding is leading me to think that I am not going to be able to do it with my WS unless I just am being retarted right now and just making it harder on myself b.c I want this done right now... lol :bash:

_________________
David
KF5EPT

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 1:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 5:57 pm
Posts: 237
Location: USA
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows XP3
David,

I send my data data to CWOP. Instructions on how to begin can be found here: http://www.wxqa.com/SIGN-UP.html.

The setup in Cumulus is straightforward. Go to the configuration menu and select internet. You will need your station id and password.

Kerry

_________________
http://www.tobyspondweather.com
twitter: @tobyspond


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 2:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Denton, Tx
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2080
Operating System: Windows Vista
Thanks!

I can not figure out how to join CWOP... I did see that if I have my own Amateur Radio Operators call sign I just use that but I dont have a password. How do I join CWOP? That is my hardest thing for me to figure out is how to join.

_________________
David
KF5EPT

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:07 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Utah, United States
Weather Station: Davis Vantage VUE
Operating System: Windows Vista
Put your callsign in as the username, no password, and use the default settings, and you'll be up on CWOP. That is not the preferred method, but it works.

To do it right you send an email to one of two guys, and they will help you get set up (using the APRS input servers, not the CWOP servers), with the proper station altitude in the database (http://www.wxqa.com/SIGN-UP.html).

The reason I use CWOP is it's the best way to get your data into the national weather databases (mesonet).

_________________
Bruce KF7K
http://science.uvu.edu/wilson/weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Denton, Tx
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2080
Operating System: Windows Vista
Thanks!

_________________
David
KF5EPT

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 1:09 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Sliedrecht/Netherlands JO21JT
Weather Station: WS4100 (WH1081)
Operating System: Windows 7
I'm also going live on APRS/CWOP.

73's Ton


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Denton, Tx
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2080
Operating System: Windows Vista
Bruce I guess I will have to get with the guys with CWOP. Just entering in my call sign and with no password and leaving else the same I still can't get my stuff to broadcast. Any advise?

_________________
David
KF5EPT

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:07 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Utah, United States
Weather Station: Davis Vantage VUE
Operating System: Windows Vista
I don't see your data either, on aprs.fi (the site I like best for realtime data).

Here are my settings:

Enabled: checked
ID: callsign
password: -1
server: cwop.aprs.net
port: 14580
Interval: 9 (minites)

_________________
Bruce KF7K
http://science.uvu.edu/wilson/weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 2:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:58 am
Posts: 57
Location: Ballston Lake New York
Weather Station: F/O
Operating System: XP SP4
I'm on.

http://aprs.fi/weather/a/DW7896

You are right - there are two chaps that "admin" the sign ups and they update the system every week. They are sticklers for correct GPS coords as they challenged me (rightfully so) to correct mine. Was off about a mile or so from my house. You'll get a real password after you pass their muster.

Weather data a little whacky as I'm setting up the station. I just completed my wx station / scanner / 2 meter antenna farm today. It's still on the ground on its test stand undergoing water resistance testing (aka ran out of time today to install on the house). Testing the 2 meter antenna with a 5 watt APRS station while the antenna was next to the entire wx station, transmitter and all. No issues or spikes. Transmitter will be in a new fan aspirated weather shield on the shady side of the house with a 15 meter extension cable up to mast.

Attachment:
IMG_0151.jpg


Attachment:
IMG_0152.jpg


Attachment:
IMG_0153.jpg


http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/fin ... ct=WEATHER


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Denton, Tx
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2080
Operating System: Windows Vista
Very cool set up!

_________________
David
KF5EPT

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 12:11 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Lower Sackville Nova Scotia Canada
Weather Station: weatherwise WS1080
Operating System: Win XP
Nice looking setup with the 2 meter antenna and wx stn.

As for CWOPS, is this for everywhere or is it just for the US or do I have to find a Canadian server/system or is there even a Canadian server?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:07 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Utah, United States
Weather Station: Davis Vantage VUE
Operating System: Windows Vista
I'm trying to figure out why the 2m radio is there. From your raw packets it looks like you're using Cumulus on your computer to send the data to the server via the internet, bypassing the radio.

_________________
Bruce KF7K
http://science.uvu.edu/wilson/weather


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: APRS / CWOP
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:58 am
Posts: 57
Location: Ballston Lake New York
Weather Station: F/O
Operating System: XP SP4
b.e.wilson wrote:
I'm trying to figure out why the 2m radio is there. From your raw packets it looks like you're using Cumulus on your computer to send the data to the server via the internet, bypassing the radio.


Bruce,

You're exactly right. Until I'm back on the air, I'll post up through the network. Right now the antenna is not up on the roof. We expect 5 or 6 days of good weather so I'll be on the air soon.

I'm also building out a mobile station so as soon as I get that running, I'll have two stations reporting in.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group