If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

The inside of the ws-1081

Discussion specific to Fine Offset and similar rebadged weather stations
User avatar
hans
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:27 pm
Weather Station: wh1080 /ws4000(alecto) XP-sp2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: leiden,Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby hans » Fri Aug 13, 2010 3:34 pm

in a dutch tech-forum they looked into the wh1080(alecto 3000)
same station only without the winddirection and usb.
there you can see some scope pics.
http://gathering.tweakers.net/forum/list_messages/1290411///weerstation
as mentioned there, a logic analyzer would be more usefull.

the pics show the data of the various pins,and later a databurst.
which pin sends what data,sequence,etc is unknown.
also the protocol is unknown.

virusdunil
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:22 pm
Weather Station: ws-1080
Operating System: win7 for now

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby virusdunil » Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:25 pm

so...after all that time...did someone found out if its possible to increase the update time for the 1080 instead of the 48 seconds?

cheers

Gina
Posts: 1885
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:41 pm
Weather Station: Nothing working ATM - making one
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
Location: Devon UK

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby Gina » Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:10 pm

To change the timing of the transmission you'd need to reprogram the transmitter microprocessor. I'd bet the microprocessor is not re-programmable.
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.

gbee
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:44 pm
Weather Station: WH-1081
Operating System: Win 7

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby gbee » Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:55 pm

goldrush wrote:Kieth
You do not need to clear the memory, it will simply insert the new data and push out the oldest.


A problem seems to occur whereby the WH-1081 does not report rain, if the on board memory is full. Don't know how extensive this is though.

Gina
Posts: 1885
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:41 pm
Weather Station: Nothing working ATM - making one
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
Location: Devon UK

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby Gina » Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:03 pm

gbee wrote:A problem seems to occur whereby the WH-1081 does not report rain, if the on board memory is full. Don't know how extensive this is though.
It's faulty then. I run my WH1081 continuously and never clear the memory.
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.

User avatar
hans
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:27 pm
Weather Station: wh1080 /ws4000(alecto) XP-sp2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: leiden,Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby hans » Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:35 pm

Gina wrote:To change the timing of the transmission you'd need to reprogram the transmitter microprocessor. I'd bet the microprocessor is not re-programmable.


regarding the spikes in the other thread,i experimented with my outdoor pcb and put a strip of aluminum between the cable connectors and the thermistor,in an attempt to shield it from static.
the strip is connected to the neg.of the batteries.
so far no good.still an ocassional spike.
however i did accidently got some solder removed between 1 connection of the cristal(i think,its the small thin metal one) and the to be connected resistor on the other side between the cable connectors and the battery
contacts.
result:led constantly on but no transmission,only one transmission with data when batteries are inserted but no update after 48 seconds.
so experimenting with that cristal or resistor "could" change the update time.
Image
on the left you see the 000 resistor,the second most left(third from below)) from that one is the resistor and at 11 oçlock is the first cristal connection,that connection was broken.

Gina
Posts: 1885
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:41 pm
Weather Station: Nothing working ATM - making one
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
Location: Devon UK

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby Gina » Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:50 pm

I believe that to be the timing crystal for the microprocessor. With that disconnected everything comes to a halt. Yes, changing the crystal frequency would probably change the 48 second transmit timing but it would also change all the other timings making the data timing wrong and therefore wrecking the data structure.
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.

User avatar
hans
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:27 pm
Weather Station: wh1080 /ws4000(alecto) XP-sp2
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: leiden,Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby hans » Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:03 pm

i see,makes sense.
fortunately you know more about microprocc.than i do,
analog is more my thing.
still was worth a shot.
back to the spike problem..

gadgetmadz
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 2:54 pm
Weather Station: Maplin fine offset wh0181?
Operating System: win 7

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby gadgetmadz » Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:44 pm

has anyone hardwired one of these txs to a rx? (ie not use wireless) if so what did you do?
The 433mhz version

ben-s
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:30 am
Weather Station: Watson W8681
Operating System: Win XP
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby ben-s » Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:17 pm

It should be possible, but you'd need to work out the pinout of the radio chips in both the transmitter and receiver. Given that at least the transmitter is usually encapsulated with resin, this could be tricky.
It might be easier on the 868 MHz W8681, as (at least on recent units) the Tx circuit is freely accessible and you can read part numbers.

In theory, you could intercept the data in the transmitter before it reaches the RF circuit and inject it into the receiver after the RF circuit. You'd also need to disable both radios.

Depending on what the radios do to the signal, and how they communicate with the main processor, you might need to process the signal with a microcontroller of some sort.

All in all, I think it would be quite a big job...

Gina
Posts: 1885
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:41 pm
Weather Station: Nothing working ATM - making one
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
Location: Devon UK

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby Gina » Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:40 pm

Yes indeed, I think it would be too. Probably easier to connect the sensors using something like 1-wire.
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.

User avatar
phtvs
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:11 am
Weather Station: ws4000
Operating System: win7
Location: Lemmer

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby phtvs » Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:39 am

Hi,

I have an WS4000.

I wonder if it is possible to connect an additional temperature sensor to the station?

User avatar
nitrx
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:21 pm
Weather Station: WH1080
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Apeldoorn The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby nitrx » Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:12 am

phtvs wrote:Hi,

I have an WS4000.

I wonder if it is possible to connect an additional temperature sensor to the station?


No because the WS4000 from Alecto is exactly the same as a WS1080

L.F.
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:26 pm
Weather Station: Watson W8681
Operating System: Windows XP Sp3

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby L.F. » Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:30 pm

Because she hasn't changed the batteries in time, my wife has lost all the data on her unit on more than one occasion. Is it right that all the data disappears when the main AA batteries lose their power or is there a backup battery of some kind (although I can't find one from the photos of the inside of the 1081)?

Gina
Posts: 1885
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:41 pm
Weather Station: Nothing working ATM - making one
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
Location: Devon UK

Re: The inside of the ws-1081

Postby Gina » Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:47 pm

The console memory is retained when there's no power (either battery or USB) but I don't know how long the memory data will last without power - I've never had power off long enough to find out.
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.


Return to “Fine Offset/EasyWeather”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests