Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

MySQL Time zones table

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderators: daj, TNETWeather

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 464
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

MySQL Time zones table

Postby Mapantz » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:53 pm

I just thought i'd make a post to see how many have this issue with shared hosting..

Basically, when retrieving my data from MySQL, you need timezone info:

Code: Select all

$result = $mysqli->query("SET time_zone='Europe/London'");


However, I cannot use that, because the time zone tables are not loaded in to MySQL. So, the way I can only get it to work is by using

Code: Select all

$result = $mysqli->query("SET time_zone='+00:00'"); or $result = $mysqli->query("SET time_zone='+01:00'");


But this messes up my sunshine graphs due to clocks going back and forward throughout the year. For example: If in May, I record sunshine from, 5am to 6am, and then call it back, it could show as 4am to 5am due to BST. You can fix it by using +01:00, but then you have the issue of sunshine in the evening being one hour out and vice versa. The Europe/London way fixes this problem. The hosting i'm using now refuses to load the time zone tables in to MySQL because it is shared hosting. I have asked another 5 hosting companies, and they all say the same thing! The only answer is to move to a dedicated server, but i'm not paying £30 a month for overkill hardware to host my simple weather site.

I don't know how i can get past this problem! I didn't have the problem with GoDaddy, but I had to ditch them, as it they were slow and I used to get so many issues with them, and I prefer SSD hosting. So I refuse to ever go back with them. So I think i'm completely stuck?!
Image
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5018
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: MySQL Time zones table

Postby mcrossley » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:09 pm

Can you create the zone table in your user space and populate it. The comments on this page suggests you can...
https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.7/en ... o-sql.html

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 464
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: MySQL Time zones table

Postby Mapantz » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:15 pm

mcrossley wrote:Can you create the zone table in your user space and populate it. The comments on this page suggests you can...
https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.7/en ... o-sql.html


I've managed to run that and create the table, but I don't know what I need to do next. It is beyond my capabilities after that :oops:
Image
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5018
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: MySQL Time zones table

Postby mcrossley » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:55 pm

I can send you the exports of my tables if you like - then just import them into your db?

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 464
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: MySQL Time zones table

Postby Mapantz » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:59 pm

mcrossley wrote:I can send you the exports of my tables if you like - then just import them into your db?


OK - Let's give that a try.
Image
Image

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 464
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: MySQL Time zones table

Postby Mapantz » Wed Dec 06, 2017 6:59 pm

That's 11 hosting companies now, that say the timezone tables aren't loaded in to sql, and they refuse to do it unless it is a dedicated server. How are other people managing this? It's really confusing to me. :?
Image
Image

Steepleian
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 7:33 am
Weather Station: Ambient WS-1001
Operating System: Debian 9.1 Stretch
Location: Steeple Claydon
Contact:

Re: MySQL Time zones table

Postby Steepleian » Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:05 am

Have you thought about hosting yourself? It really is very straightforward and you won’t have to worry about restrictions.

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 464
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: MySQL Time zones table

Postby Mapantz » Sat Dec 09, 2017 11:53 am

Steepleian wrote:Have you thought about hosting yourself? It really is very straightforward and you won’t have to worry about restrictions.


Not on my broadband connection, it's too slow. As it is, my internet slows right up if I get more than 2 people viewing my webcam. :lol:
Image
Image


Return to “Web site - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests