Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderators: daj, TNETWeather

weatherist34
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:09 am
Weather Station: Oregon WMR300 + Weatherflow
Operating System: OSX High Sierra
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby weatherist34 » Sat Jul 22, 2017 10:40 pm

vaggos wrote:Bian hello. Thanks for your reply.
I Have done already the update (since i wrote before) and everything seems to be ok.
Yes big fire risk because of the wind. An near to me is a big mountan Parnis.
In Kos earthquakes continue. The said that waiting again an earthquake about six R.
Regards
Vaggelis


Ok vaggos well I'm not amused just been woken up by a 4.2 tremor 160km from me nothing but water in between .. not funny anymore I really do dread a big one they have become so frequent last few months. Take care ...brian

BigOkie
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:06 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspian Jessie
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby BigOkie » Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:20 am

Steepleian wrote:
BigOkie wrote:
Steepleian wrote:
Which PHP7 Modules/dependancies have you installed? Here is a useful guide, its in German but fairly straightforward.


I'm attaching the phpinfo.php page I generated in hopes you can see something I'm not. (Edit: I tried attaching the html and it rejected it...i put in a zip container).


There are some differences from my installation but I don't know how significant they are. I am attaching mine below for comparison.

As a last resort may I suggest the following: -

If you have a spare memory card (or are using Berry Boot), install Raspbian Jessie and update it. Install PHP 7 using the German link that I previously indicated, a clean installation of the template and also the permissions, user and group also previously indicated and see what happens. I have no reason to doubt Ubuntu Mate but there could be a subtle difference which is causing the problem.

One final thought, have you tried running using your internal IP address? If this works, are your running a secure (https://) site. It could be that you have a corrupt or outdated SSL certificate.


After doing some debugging on the includes, I found the culprit.

Evidently this template require the mbstring module for php be loaded. That is NOT a default module that gets installed on most PHP packages. I installed the mbstring module (by issuing ...at least on Raspberry Pi... apt-get php-mbstring) and then restarting Apache and I have the template in place now.

What a pain that was.

In case someone has the same issue as I had.

Steepleian
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 7:33 am
Weather Station: Ambient WS-1001
Operating System: Debian 9
Location: Steeple Claydon
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Steepleian » Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:18 am

BigOkie wrote:
Steepleian wrote:
BigOkie wrote:
I'm attaching the phpinfo.php page I generated in hopes you can see something I'm not. (Edit: I tried attaching the html and it rejected it...i put in a zip container).


There are some differences from my installation but I don't know how significant they are. I am attaching mine below for comparison.

As a last resort may I suggest the following: -

If you have a spare memory card (or are using Berry Boot), install Raspbian Jessie and update it. Install PHP 7 using the German link that I previously indicated, a clean installation of the template and also the permissions, user and group also previously indicated and see what happens. I have no reason to doubt Ubuntu Mate but there could be a subtle difference which is causing the problem.

One final thought, have you tried running using your internal IP address? If this works, are your running a secure (https://) site. It could be that you have a corrupt or outdated SSL certificate.


After doing some debugging on the includes, I found the culprit.

Evidently this template require the mbstring module for php be loaded. That is NOT a default module that gets installed on most PHP packages. I installed the mbstring module (by issuing ...at least on Raspberry Pi... apt-get php-mbstring) and then restarting Apache and I have the template in place now.

What a pain that was.

In case someone has the same issue as I had.


Well done, glad you resolved it. Yes the mbstring was installed on my installation according to the php info. Look forward to seeing your website in all its glory.

Cheers Ian

weatherist34
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:09 am
Weather Station: Oregon WMR300 + Weatherflow
Operating System: OSX High Sierra
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby weatherist34 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 8:42 am

VERSION 3.4-X5c (Sunday 23rd July 2017) Updated
- solar2.php fix for UV INDEX value of 7 or 8 not rendering circle and color .
- Download the fix from here *please note they are only valid for Version 34-X5c !! .

http://www.mediafire.com/file/mkqf3rwq5 ... update.zip

spotted the problem at https://weather.meteoacharnes.gr/?theme=dark




brian..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
vaggos
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:00 pm
Weather Station: PROWEATHER STATION 1080
Operating System: XP SP3, win7, Win10
Location: Acharnes Athens Greece
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby vaggos » Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:15 am

weatherist34 wrote:VERSION 3.4-X5c (Sunday 23rd July 2017) Updated
- solar2.php fix for UV INDEX value of 7 or 8 not rendering circle and color .
- Download the fix from here *please note they are only valid for Version 34-X5c !! .

http://www.mediafire.com/file/mkqf3rwq5 ... update.zip

spotted the problem at https://weather.meteoacharnes.gr/?theme=dark




brian..


Brian
I did again the update. With the yesterday update it has problem over 7680 feet.
Now it seems ok.
https://weather.meteoacharnes.gr
Regards
Vaggelis
Image
Acharnes Athens Greece Meteo station
http://www.meteoacharnes.gr
https://weather.meteoacharnes.gr/
Thanks Sandaysoft

weatherist34
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:09 am
Weather Station: Oregon WMR300 + Weatherflow
Operating System: OSX High Sierra
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby weatherist34 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:56 am

vaggos

i think at 8500ft its going to max hit the limit . i have set the limit 9000 but working out a formula to convert feet to a useable px(pixel) size ratio between 0 to 9000 is a nightmare . so far it seems ok ..

User avatar
vaggos
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:00 pm
Weather Station: PROWEATHER STATION 1080
Operating System: XP SP3, win7, Win10
Location: Acharnes Athens Greece
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby vaggos » Sun Jul 23, 2017 12:05 pm

weatherist34 wrote:vaggos

i think at 8500ft its going to max hit the limit . i have set the limit 9000 but working out a formula to convert feet to a useable px(pixel) size ratio between 0 to 9000 is a nightmare . so far it seems ok ..


Brian
as i have seen the most true for cloud base is brom the nearest airport. I take data from lgav (Eleftherios Venizelos).
An here is the result: http://www.meteoacharnes.gr/cloudbaseCU.php.
Regards
Vaggelis
Image
Acharnes Athens Greece Meteo station
http://www.meteoacharnes.gr
https://weather.meteoacharnes.gr/
Thanks Sandaysoft

weatherist34
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:09 am
Weather Station: Oregon WMR300 + Weatherflow
Operating System: OSX High Sierra
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby weatherist34 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 12:20 pm

vaggos wrote:
weatherist34 wrote:vaggos

i think at 8500ft its going to max hit the limit . i have set the limit 9000 but working out a formula to convert feet to a useable px(pixel) size ratio between 0 to 9000 is a nightmare . so far it seems ok ..


Brian
as i have seen the most true for cloud base is brom the nearest airport. I take data from lgav (Eleftherios Venizelos).
An here is the result: http://www.meteoacharnes.gr/cloudbaseCU.php.
Regards
Vaggelis


cant work it out is that feet , meters , km , miles its not telling me much ..


formula used temp - dewpoint /4 x1000

however im testing temp - dewpoint /4 x1000 + altidude (ft)

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 547
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Mapantz » Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:58 pm

A few problems with the solar/cloudbase

I always used the solar2.php, as it was more accurate for me, and I liked the UV forecast for the day. I presume that cannot be used with the cloudbase graphic? However, if i switch to solar2.php, I still get the cloudbase graphic, but no UV info. If I switch to solar1.php, I get a UV value, but the UV forecast doesn't display like it used to.

There's also something white showing in the top right of the square - whether its text or not, I can't tell.

2017-07-24.png


I've got another issue since a fresh install too. It's causing Chrome to lag from using too much CPU and RAM
I cleared cache, then opened just the dashboard up..

cpu.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Mapantz on Mon Jul 24, 2017 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image

weatherist34
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:09 am
Weather Station: Oregon WMR300 + Weatherflow
Operating System: OSX High Sierra
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby weatherist34 » Mon Jul 24, 2017 1:27 pm

Mapantz wrote:A few problems with the solar/cloudbase

I always used the solar2.php, as it was more accurate for me, and I liked the UV forecast for the day. I presume that cannot be used with the cloudbase graphic? However, if i switch to solar2.php, I still get the cloudbase graphic, but no UV info. If I switch to solar1.php, I get a UV value, but the UV forecast doesn't display like it used to.

There's also something white showing in the top right of the square - whether its text or not, I can't tell.

2017-07-24.png



you can always use the previous solar1.php or solar2.php if you saved a copy ?

in the current version there simply is no room to display any text and i wanted to get rid of the text simply the translations in various languages were becoming a nightmare my aim to drop translations altogether its become nigh on impossible to create a clean looking template in all languages sadly.


solar1.php is ken true script pulls data from http://www.temis.nl

solar2.php pulls data from weather underground forecast

solar.php use hardware values no cloudbase graphic

cloudbase.php uses hardware values and cloudbase graphic

confused ? welcome to my world :-) .


quick fix for your white bit in solar1.php

find at the bottom

<div class="updatedtimeuv">

simply above that line at <br>
<br>
<div class="updatedtimeuv">

the update time should now come into view .


i have updated download(s) thanks for spotting.

quick update http://www.mediafire.com/file/mkqf3rwq5 ... update.zip

full download https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/

brian..

weatherist34
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:09 am
Weather Station: Oregon WMR300 + Weatherflow
Operating System: OSX High Sierra
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby weatherist34 » Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:06 pm

Mapantz wrote:A few problems with the solar/cloudbase

I always used the solar2.php, as it was more accurate for me, and I liked the UV forecast for the day. I presume that cannot be used with the cloudbase graphic? However, if i switch to solar2.php, I still get the cloudbase graphic, but no UV info. If I switch to solar1.php, I get a UV value, but the UV forecast doesn't display like it used to.

There's also something white showing in the top right of the square - whether its text or not, I can't tell.

2017-07-24.png

I've got another issue since a fresh install too. It's causing Chrome to lag from using too much CPU and RAM
I cleared cache, then opened just the dashboard up..

cpu.png


mapantz

sorry i didnt the bit about lag earlier in chrome, i just spent 20 minutes going round different sites in chrome here and couldnt see any significant lag ,i did some test at gtmetrix to look for any culprits in the code and didn't flag anything up . so i really don't know .there was no real significant change to any code in terms of jquery or any real hefty scripts apart form the one line jquery in the cloudbase but o cant see that causing any lag as it basically almost the same as the rain guage /rain rate it basically multiplies the value and converts it to pixels to raise the bar up and down according to current value. .

ill keep an eye open and look for anything in my emails or if anyone is experiencing let me know so i can try diagnose and compare..

sorry for the inconvenience ...from a very hot muggy soaking sweaty istanbul ..roll on september be nice to sleep without the ac... brian

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 547
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Mapantz » Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:37 am

Hi Brian

I've gone back to the older version, and i'm having the same issue. I'm not sure what is going on. I even rebooted my PC, then deleted all my data on Chrome, uninstalled it, then reinstalled it, but as soon as I go to anyone's dashboard, a Chrome process is is going up to, and beyond 1GB at times. I went to yours and all the other links on your home page, all of them are making Chrome lag badly.


Untitled.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
Image

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus
Operating System: Deb 9.4 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Toxic17 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 6:01 am

mapantz

what extensions do you have added to Chrome?

Perhaps you could try disabling all of them and/or loading a new Chrome Profile(for test purposes)

I've used Chrome 59 and Chrome 61(dev) and do not experience this CPU load on various sites including my own with Brian's Template.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://www.conligwx.org/pws/
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

weatherist34
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:09 am
Weather Station: Oregon WMR300 + Weatherflow
Operating System: OSX High Sierra
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby weatherist34 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:17 am

Mapantz wrote:Hi Brian

I've gone back to the older version, and i'm having the same issue. I'm not sure what is going on. I even rebooted my PC, then deleted all my data on Chrome, uninstalled it, then reinstalled it, but as soon as I go to anyone's dashboard, a Chrome process is is going up to, and beyond 1GB at times. I went to yours and all the other links on your home page, all of them are making Chrome lag badly.


Untitled.png


Interesting but I have sat here this morning trying to reproduce it on two machines one with 1gb memory windows 7 enterprise and the other Samsung netbook with 512mb slimmed down version of windows 7 I can't reproduce the same result . I have no idea never had to resolve anything like this so I'm at a loss as your saying you reverted back to previous template version and have the same issue but you didn't raise the issue prior to installing new version. So the problem existed before . I will have to sit back a wait to see if it becomes a widespread problem . Hopefully resolve it one way or the other .

I left it running for 30 minutes I only saw one CPU spike for a few seconds and that was when a notification to update cs6 photoshop appeared.

Brian ..

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 547
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Mapantz » Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:40 pm

I had a major PC crash today (see the CumulusMX forum) Anyway, I had to reinstall windows, so Chrome was a complete fresh install. No extensions, completely vanilla - still seeing the huge memory increase when I go to the dashboard. :(
Image
Image


Return to “Web site - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests