Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderators: daj, TNETWeather

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby PaulMy » Sun Dec 24, 2017 2:58 am

I have Brian's latest version at www.komokaweather.com/pws and also Tony's modified MySQL www.komokaweather.com/pws-mysql

There is just a very slight difference in the graphs between the WU history and the Cumulus db source as they have different interval.

Enjoy,
Paul

bthoven
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:07 am
Weather Station: Misol WH-2600/Ambient WS-1400-IP
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby bthoven » Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:39 am

Just want to share how I make the webcamsmall.php refresh my webcam image every 30 seconds on the main dashboard.

I've amended the webcamsmall.php as follows:

Original code section:
<img src="http://myweb.com/image.jpg?version=<?php echo filemtime("http://myweb.com/image.jpg");?>" alt="weathercam" class="webcam">

replaced by the code below (refresh every 30sec):
<img src="http://myweb.com/image.jpg?version=<?php echo filemtime("http://myweb.com/image.jpg");?>" alt="weathercam" class="webcam" id="reloader" onload="setTimeout('document.getElementById(\'reloader\').src=\'http://myweb.com/image.jpg?\'+new Date().getMilliseconds()', 30000)" />

Thank you.

uplinkpdx
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:14 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro II
Operating System: Linux

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby uplinkpdx » Sun Dec 24, 2017 6:07 pm

That's what I thought. If I access the page from my PC, everything works fine. IF I access the page from my mobile devices, the page stops refreshing and then comes up blank. When I drill into my off-site server's file structure, realtime.txt is now gone. I do have "delete before upload" turned on. If I switch the "delete before upload" to off, then the file just stops updating. Only after I do a manual refresh of the realtime.txt file do things start to work again.

I switched FTP logging to 'on' to try and take a look at what CumulusMX is doing. When the data stops flowing after a view from a mobile browser, I start to see a lot of Disposing FtpSocketStream entries.

I'm going to do some more testing today off-site from where the CumulusMX device is running and see what results I get. I know this is odd behavior that probably only I am experiencing but I wanted to put it before the group to see if anyone had suggestions.

Thanks!

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 485
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Mapantz » Sun Dec 24, 2017 7:07 pm

Thank you to Brian for the updates this year, and also to Tony for the SQL conversion. All working OK on my site, now.

Merry xmas all.
Image
Image

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 485
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Mapantz » Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:28 pm

Just been doing some checking, and there seems to be an issue with wind speed conversions, but I don't know if this is only affecting the MySQL version or not?
If i choose different units, ie km/h, my graphs show km/h on the scale, but the speeds don't match up with any conversions - the numbers don't make any sense whether you decipher them as km/h or mph.
If I choose /?units=us mph shows correctly in the scale and the data.
If i chose ?units=metric km/h shows in the graphs, but the data doesn't correspond to what has actually been recorded - the same goes for ?units=uk

I've checked: https://www.conligwx.org/pwsmysql/

Same thing happens on Toxic's site, changing units gets completely confusing!

2017-12-24 (3).png

2017-12-24 (2).png



Same on: https://www.claydonsweather.org.uk/

Also, it says 17.4mph as the max gust on that site, but if you click the graph, it's showing me 24.1mph

2017-12-24.png

2017-12-24 (1).png


I simply don't know if this is an issue with the sql version, or an issue overall.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
Image

Steepleian
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 7:33 am
Weather Station: Ambient WS-1001
Operating System: Debian 9.1 Stretch
Location: Steeple Claydon
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Steepleian » Sun Dec 24, 2017 11:53 pm

Mapantz wrote:Just been doing some checking, and there seems to be an issue with wind speed conversions, but I don't know if this is only affecting the MySQL version or not?
If i choose different units, ie km/h, my graphs show km/h on the scale, but the speeds don't match up with any conversions - the numbers don't make any sense whether you decipher them as km/h or mph.
If I choose /?units=us mph shows correctly in the scale and the data.
If i chose ?units=metric km/h shows in the graphs, but the data doesn't correspond to what has actually been recorded - the same goes for ?units=uk

I've checked: https://www.conligwx.org/pwsmysql/

Same thing happens on Toxic's site, changing units gets completely confusing!

2017-12-24 (3).png
2017-12-24 (2).png


Same on: https://www.claydonsweather.org.uk/

Also, it says 17.4mph as the max gust on that site, but if you click the graph, it's showing me 24.1mph

2017-12-24.png
2017-12-24 (1).png

I simply don't know if this is an issue with the sql version, or an issue overall.


Hi Mapantz

All very odd. I am away from home at the moment with only an iPad to hand. I have checked my site and 14:47 the gust is shown as 15mph which tallies with the figure recorded in my database. Also the y-axis scale is showing 0 to 18mph in 2mph intervals which again is different from your screen shot of my site. I am flying a kite here but could it be the way the graph renders on different size/resolution screens?

Sorry I can’t send a screen shot of what I can as the iPad is refusing to cooperate at the moment.

I will do the same exercise with Simon’s site to if I get the same result.

Ian

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 603
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus
Operating System: Deb 9.1 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Toxic17 » Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:24 am

I think I found this issue before. its converting values that do not need to be converted.

I'll look at it again soon probably overwrote my fix that was done previously.

its in the conversion.php file some how the values are not recognized correctly
Regards Simon
https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 603
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus
Operating System: Deb 9.1 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Toxic17 » Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:29 am

Steepleian wrote:[

Ian


might actually be this:

conversion.php:

Code: Select all

include('../settings.php');   


perhaps it should be

Code: Select all

include('../settings1.php');   


since the country code (uk, scandinivia, us, rest of the world are in settings1.php and not settings.php perhaps?

cant really rembers what it was but I know the issue was around wind speed was not the correct conversion a few months back.
Regards Simon
https://www.conligwx.org
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

Steepleian
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 7:33 am
Weather Station: Ambient WS-1001
Operating System: Debian 9.1 Stretch
Location: Steeple Claydon
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Steepleian » Mon Dec 25, 2017 7:25 am

Toxic17 wrote:
Steepleian wrote:[

Ian


might actually be this:

conversion.php:

Code: Select all

include('../settings.php');   


perhaps it should be

Code: Select all

include('../settings1.php');   


since the country code (uk, scandinivia, us, rest of the world are in settings1.php and not settings.php perhaps?

cant really rembers what it was but I know the issue was around wind speed was not the correct conversion a few months back.


But does that explain the physical difference between what Mapantz sees on my site and what I see? Here is screenshot of today: -

C2655BF3-CA7B-43F1-9E81-0D091D15AB54.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

weatherist34
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:09 am
Weather Station: Oregon WMR300 + Weatherflow
Operating System: OSX High Sierra
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby weatherist34 » Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:57 pm

Merry Christmas UK users here is the fix for the forecast to reflect your MPH wind and metric celsius when switching units . *note forecast 3 day/10 day only .

included in zip attached

menu.php (root folder just replace file)
forecastfolder (just replace folder)
shared.php (root folder just replace file)

for your query about charts above the standard charts in download work fine showing mph when using UK . I can not cross check cumulus mysql version you will have to contact Tony .

simple method to convert data when using UK specific example of what is done in meteobridge version using MYSQL note those values below convert the default m/s to whichever metric is required.

if ($uk == true) {$conv= '2.23694';}
else if ($usa == true) {$conv= '2.23694';}
else if ($windunit == 'mph') {$conv= '2.23694';}
else if ($windunit == 'm/s') {$conv= '1';}
else if ($windunit == 'km/h'){$conv= '3.6';}

the chart output line *note the *<?php echo $conv;>

dataPoints1.push({label:rowData[0],y:parseFloat(rowData[7]*<?php echo $conv ;?>)});


Brian...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 485
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby Mapantz » Mon Dec 25, 2017 3:52 pm

I think I know what the issue is.. wunderground is logging the wind in km/h, so it needs converting, hence why it works on the normal template.
The wind data in my text files is already in mph, so it is converting the mph using 0.621371 ie my high gust today is 39mph, the conversion shows it as 24.2mph 39 x 0.621371 = 24.233469

Edit:

Ok, I think i've solved it.. if you're using the MySQL version and your data is already logged in mph, drop the php file in to your /chartswu/ folder

conversion.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
Image

weatherist34
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:09 am
Weather Station: Oregon WMR300 + Weatherflow
Operating System: OSX High Sierra
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby weatherist34 » Tue Dec 26, 2017 7:12 am

minor fix for layout of meteor.php,meteoalarm inclusion in homenotification.php fix (final attempt),UK users metric celsius with wind at mph for forecast data and switching unit

attached file is homenotification.php just simply replace existing however please note this is my final attempt to include meteoalrm info and combined with other alerts. I have tried to replicate all types of scenarios to make it work so far I have seen no anomalies at all but who knows . so if this doesn't work correctly then I will remove the inclusion of meteoalarm .

in the main download page there other numerous other updates so please read the page to see if they are valid for you and if there not no need to change anything...https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/


Brian
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
HRVistaWeather
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:38 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus - 24hr FARS
Operating System: Windows 10 Home (64bit)
Location: Franklin, Huon Valley, Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby HRVistaWeather » Tue Dec 26, 2017 8:38 am

Hi Mapantz,
Sorry late reply, busy busy.
Yes that would be the cause, it has nothing to do with the MySql stuff, as it just pulls whatever data is in the DB.
I don't have that issue because my database is in km/h so I suppose an additional switch could be added to the final templates conversion file to check all the possible scenarios by obtaining data from the settings1.php, though I have no time for that in the short to medium term.
Hope you all had a great Christmas,.
Here's Christmas Day looking East over the Huon River South of Franklin Huon Valley (40 mins South of Hobart) Tasmania.
https://southfranklinweather.com/webcamip/Mon.mp4
Kind Regards,
Tony
Huon River Vista - South Franklin Weather - Tasmania
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus - FARS, Cumulus MX, 2 Soil Temp/Moist Solar/Rad.
Image

uplinkpdx
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:14 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro II
Operating System: Linux

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby uplinkpdx » Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:08 pm

I am really starting to like this template. It's clean, provides all the information I want at one quick glance, and can be easily customizable. Most recently I modified the "Today Rainfall" graph. The one provided with the template placed the rain rate behind the total rainfall. We get a lot of rain here in the Pacific NW part of the United States and it was getting obscured. I reversed the order, switched the rain rate to a simple spline graph, and added a secondary Y Axis.

Image

Thanks for all the work you've put into this.

Mike
Yacolt, WA
http://www.uplinkpdx.com/pws

weatherist34
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:09 am
Weather Station: Oregon WMR300 + Weatherflow
Operating System: OSX High Sierra
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Postby weatherist34 » Tue Jan 02, 2018 7:48 am

Good morning and it’s a new dawn it’s a new day and a new year for me ...

What would you like to see implemented into the template , I’m open to ideas that do not destroy the appearance and turn it into a aircraft cockpit dashboard ideally like to use visuals and not just a text value .

If you have ideas a sample or mock up idea would be appreciated , the ideas can always be implemented into a extra page like wxcharts option .

Going forward there is no significant change on the horizon , been working on a dedicated weatherflow version but until the hardware is out of field test it won’t be of much use to anyone unless your a part of the field test or received some hardware for testing.


The release this morning just contains minor fixes that really doesn’t effect any cumulus based users so it’s not totally necessary to change anything or update.

I’ve removed the U.K. mph option from the header it caused lots of confusion for other users not using that combination of mph and Celsius .

So looking forward to another year on the template front as things are really comfortable to develop with having now dropped the weather display support so everything seems more reliable and somewhat stable .

Anyway reference the rain chart modification if it’s what every one would like I can simply reverse the chart data and release a simple upgrade file replacement for the today’s rainfall chart display.

..brian


Return to “Web site - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests