Page 68 of 72

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:38 pm
by Mapantz
Hi

I thought i'd bring up the issue of the template using a lot of memory on Chrome, again.

I have just bought a brand new laptop, it had the Chrome installer with it, so I installed the latest version, and i'm getting the same issue as I do with the PC. The memory goes sky-high, and the browser turns in to a slug.

Here's a screenshot of the task manager before I open Chrome, and a screenshot of it with one tab open on the template:

https://postimg.org/image/jah2kp5ad/

https://postimg.org/image/9bw3y7vut/

It's either a problem with Chrome, or there's something in the template that Chrome doesn't like. It's a mystery!

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 10:51 pm
by Toxic17
Mapantz wrote:Hi

I thought i'd bring up the issue of the template using a lot of memory on Chrome, again.

I have just bought a brand new laptop, it had the Chrome installer with it, so I installed the latest version, and i'm getting the same issue as I do with the PC. The memory goes sky-high, and the browser turns in to a slug.

Here's a screenshot of the task manager before I open Chrome, and a screenshot of it with one tab open on the template:

https://postimg.org/image/jah2kp5ad/

https://postimg.org/image/9bw3y7vut/

It's either a problem with Chrome, or there's something in the template that Chrome doesn't like. It's a mystery!


i can confirm there is more memory used on this template (mine and your sites) ut browser is not sluggish at all even with multiple windows open to other sites.

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:47 am
by weatherist34
Toxic17 wrote:
Mapantz wrote:Hi

I thought i'd bring up the issue of the template using a lot of memory on Chrome, again.

I have just bought a brand new laptop, it had the Chrome installer with it, so I installed the latest version, and i'm getting the same issue as I do with the PC. The memory goes sky-high, and the browser turns in to a slug.

Here's a screenshot of the task manager before I open Chrome, and a screenshot of it with one tab open on the template:

https://postimg.org/image/jah2kp5ad/

https://postimg.org/image/9bw3y7vut/

It's either a problem with Chrome, or there's something in the template that Chrome doesn't like. It's a mystery!


i can confirm there is more memory used on this template (mine and your sites) ut browser is not sluggish at all even with multiple windows open to other sites.


good morning

to be frank there is nowt I can do about that all the while there are thousands of articles on why Google chrome eats your memory but is it a bad thing? as this article explains https://lifehacker.com/why-chrome-uses- ... 1702537477, there are many more articles that highlight similar issues that date back long ago .historically this problem has existed with the chrome browser for many years.

I can only say my 2005 laptop with 1gb memory which the integrated video card uses 256mb from that 1gb ..does not experience any sluggishness when opening multiple tabs.i think when the issue last raised i went and opened up deliberately 2 or 3 you tube videos in separate tabs alongside the template being opened in another tab i didn't see any issues..

sorry I dont have the magic solution but neither do many of the gurus all the net , they suggest various ways but seem to always revert back to is it a bad thing that chrome eats the memory ?..

so your spanking brand new computer cant run the website template smoothly but my old 2005 HP 1GB laptop has no issues . so where i DO I START ? its impossible to narrow it down to any specific script and simply opening up the template in IE,FF,SAFARI,Opera and other chrome variants like vivaldi,Brave, + many others i tend to test on at regular intervals,firefox focus(very slimmed downed version of FF ipad new browser) doesn't produce any problems .

as harsh as it may sound if it is causing issues then don't use the template there are many others out there like saratoga that are not dependant on additional jquery/css scripts to produce visualisations at frequent intervals, this template offers visual elements to the data value outputs many other templates don't offer much in terms of visualisation when dealing with your realtime data values which are updated from anywhere to 2 seconds to 5 minutes , so think about it the template is rendering visually at anywhere between every two seconds to 5 minutes . if there were no visual elements just text then perhaps this would not cause you an issue ..

the template once installed theoretically only has an INITIAL page load size of no more 600kb !! may vary higher or lower (mine is 470kb) depending on end user modifications added on ,Ive always focused on performance and in the past I have dumped ideas in the trash bin due to causing slow load times..

So I have no idea where I would start, but has I experienced many times in the past I can go modifying the scripts only to find that the issue was the end user just like recently Toxic raised an issue about forecast data only to find it was remedied by the setting.So I can spend hours chasing or looking for something that don't exist , don't take that as an insult Im merely pointing out that this has happened many many times however there are genuine issues that get spotted and resolved from input by others so in this case it would be better to try and resolve amongst yourselves and a find a solution that doesn't break the template in other browsers thats the critical point other browsers..

some quick tests i did this morning

warehamwx
PageSpeed Score (97%) YSlow Score (96%) Page Details Fully Loaded Time 6.0s Total Page Size 527KB Requests 46

conlig
PageSpeed Score (98%) YSlow Score (97%) Page Details Fully Loaded Time 4.3s Total Page Size 481KB Requests 48

weather34
PageSpeed Score (99%) YSlow Score (97%) Page Details Fully Loaded Time 2.6s Total Page Size 470KB Requests 42

so you can see I have always tried to produce something that is reasonably good on loading based on what we or I are trying to achieve and that is
add visual elements , a pleasant fresh user experience to the template instead of just text values ..

As always Im all ears and open to ideas and solutions and would happily implement them and credit or acknowledge any valuable input because I believe sharing ideas amongst us makes it better for everyone .

please don't be offended I'm merely trying to ask others or yourselves to help in resolving it ..


brian

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:19 pm
by lw7dstweather
quiero agradecer a brian por su labor con el dashboard! http://lw7dst.sytes.net/

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:08 pm
by weatherist34
lw7dstweather wrote:quiero agradecer a brian por su labor con el dashboard! http://lw7dst.sytes.net/

gracias OM hablo ingles o turco 73s G7LIJ !

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:03 pm
by Toxic17
Mapantz wrote:It's either a problem with Chrome, or there's something in the template that Chrome doesn't like. It's a mystery!


just out of curiosity what version of Chrome are you using, and what extensions are loaded?

mine is:

Chrome Version 62.0.3202.9 (Official Build) dev (64-bit)
Add to Amazon Wish List 1.0.0.11
F.B.(FluffBusting)Purity 19.0.1.5
HappyGet 2 for QTS 4 1.2.2
Ubiquiti Device Discovery Tool 0.2.39
uBlock Origin 1.14.8

have you tried disabling the "Use hardware acceleration when available" feature in Chrome?

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:32 am
by Mapantz
Toxic17 wrote:
Mapantz wrote:It's either a problem with Chrome, or there's something in the template that Chrome doesn't like. It's a mystery!


just out of curiosity what version of Chrome are you using, and what extensions are loaded?

mine is:

Chrome Version 62.0.3202.9 (Official Build) dev (64-bit)
Add to Amazon Wish List 1.0.0.11
F.B.(FluffBusting)Purity 19.0.1.5
HappyGet 2 for QTS 4 1.2.2
Ubiquiti Device Discovery Tool 0.2.39
uBlock Origin 1.14.8

have you tried disabling the "Use hardware acceleration when available" feature in Chrome?


The latest (non dev) Version 61.0.3163.79 (Official Build) (64-bit)

1 extension, Adguard.

I tried disabling the hardware acceleration last time, it did work, but unfortunately, I then can't view videos on a lot of sites, that's why I gave up and ditched Chrome.

I have tried around 7 different browsers, most of them use the Chrome engine, and I don't have a problem. I'm not really too bothered about it anymore, Chrome has become a bad browser over the last few years. It certainly isn't as fast as it used to be! It's the same on Android now, millions are ditching it and moving over to the Samsung Internet browser, it's far better.

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:14 pm
by Toxic17
weatherist34 wrote:some quick tests i did this morning

warehamwx
PageSpeed Score (97%) YSlow Score (96%) Page Details Fully Loaded Time 6.0s Total Page Size 527KB Requests 46

conlig
PageSpeed Score (98%) YSlow Score (97%) Page Details Fully Loaded Time 4.3s Total Page Size 481KB Requests 48

weather34
PageSpeed Score (99%) YSlow Score (97%) Page Details Fully Loaded Time 2.6s Total Page Size 470KB Requests 42

brian


my main pws link is mysql database drive which is on my CumulusMX box. my pws1 folder is using newer CU-X5 (WU) and approx 1.2 seconds quicker.

Capture.JPG

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:32 pm
by Toxic17
Just managed to get the mysql PWS version down to 1.8s loading.

adding "skip-name-resolve" to my.cnf :)

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:26 pm
by Steepleian
Another browser quirk, maybe?

I have a menu link on my home weather station to a time-lapse video which progressively updates every 30minutes. JPG snapshots are taken every minute during daylight hours (Raspbian+Fswebcam; snapshots every minute during daylight hours. On the assumption that all current popular browsers are html5 compliant, the sequential snapshot jpegs are encoded to H264 within an MP4 container which then runs using JWPlayer. Running from the HWS menu in the data-featherlight="iframe" works fine with every current popular browser except Firefox which flags an error. This is true with MacOS, Windows, iOS, TvOS and Linux. If I run with a direct link to the relevant PHP file without involving data-featherlight="iframe", Firefox works fine with all the aforementioned operating systems. I have tried playing around with the code but to no avail.

I wonder if anybody has any thoughts on this matter?

You can see for yourself at https://claydonsweather.org.uk and selecting either Timelapse video (data-featherlight="iframe" version) or Timelapse direct under your various browser options.

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:34 am
by weatherist34
Steepleian wrote:Another browser quirk, maybe?

I have a menu link on my home weather station to a time-lapse video which progressively updates every 30minutes. JPG snapshots are taken every minute during daylight hours (Raspbian+Fswebcam; snapshots every minute during daylight hours. On the assumption that all current popular browsers are html5 compliant, the sequential snapshot jpegs are encoded to H264 within an MP4 container which then runs using JWPlayer. Running from the HWS menu in the data-featherlight="iframe" works fine with every current popular browser except Firefox which flags an error. This is true with MacOS, Windows, iOS, TvOS and Linux. If I run with a direct link to the relevant PHP file without involving data-featherlight="iframe", Firefox works fine with all the aforementioned operating systems. I have tried playing around with the code but to no avail.

I wonder if anybody has any thoughts on this matter?

You can see for yourself at https://claydonsweather.org.uk and selecting either Timelapse video (data-featherlight="iframe" version) or Timelapse direct under your various browser options.


GOOD MORNING .. known bug in firefox

Error loading player: window.getComputedStyle(...) is null

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=548397


when using a frame script https://stackoverflow.com/questions/815 ... in-firefox plus many other
references seems no solution..

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 6:07 am
by Steepleian
weatherist34 wrote:
Steepleian wrote:Another browser quirk, maybe?

I have a menu link on my home weather station to a time-lapse video which progressively updates every 30minutes. JPG snapshots are taken every minute during daylight hours (Raspbian+Fswebcam; snapshots every minute during daylight hours. On the assumption that all current popular browsers are html5 compliant, the sequential snapshot jpegs are encoded to H264 within an MP4 container which then runs using JWPlayer. Running from the HWS menu in the data-featherlight="iframe" works fine with every current popular browser except Firefox which flags an error. This is true with MacOS, Windows, iOS, TvOS and Linux. If I run with a direct link to the relevant PHP file without involving data-featherlight="iframe", Firefox works fine with all the aforementioned operating systems. I have tried playing around with the code but to no avail.

I wonder if anybody has any thoughts on this matter?

You can see for yourself at https://claydonsweather.org.uk and selecting either Timelapse video (data-featherlight="iframe" version) or Timelapse direct under your various browser options.


Thanks Brian for your feedback.

Regards Ian
GOOD MORNING .. known bug in firefox

Error loading player: window.getComputedStyle(...) is null

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=548397


when using a frame script https://stackoverflow.com/questions/815 ... in-firefox plus many other
references seems no solution..

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 10:30 am
by weatherist34
Steepleian wrote:
weatherist34 wrote:
Steepleian wrote:Another browser quirk, maybe?

I have a menu link on my home weather station to a time-lapse video which progressively updates every 30minutes. JPG snapshots are taken every minute during daylight hours (Raspbian+Fswebcam; snapshots every minute during daylight hours. On the assumption that all current popular browsers are html5 compliant, the sequential snapshot jpegs are encoded to H264 within an MP4 container which then runs using JWPlayer. Running from the HWS menu in the data-featherlight="iframe" works fine with every current popular browser except Firefox which flags an error. This is true with MacOS, Windows, iOS, TvOS and Linux. If I run with a direct link to the relevant PHP file without involving data-featherlight="iframe", Firefox works fine with all the aforementioned operating systems. I have tried playing around with the code but to no avail.

I wonder if anybody has any thoughts on this matter?

You can see for yourself at https://claydonsweather.org.uk and selecting either Timelapse video (data-featherlight="iframe" version) or Timelapse direct under your various browser options.


Thanks Brian for your feedback.

Regards Ian
GOOD MORNING .. known bug in firefox

Error loading player: window.getComputedStyle(...) is null

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=548397


when using a frame script https://stackoverflow.com/questions/815 ... in-firefox plus many other
references seems no solution..


No problem sorry can't be of much help..brian

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 10:42 am
by weatherist34
GOOD AFTERNOON ...

here is the last of the ideas I had sitting on my drive , the aim to present data clearly and relatively easy for enthusiasts and non enthusiasts to fathom out the actual data..see screenshot below..

these particular modules have all been reworked with just css and again inspired by the ideas found on https://dribble.com note dribble doesnt offer scripts or css so you have to go away and work it out but most of the time its relatively common css ..

https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/

hope you like it ..has I said a few days back Im planning to do a meteobridge mysql once I have the new hardware installed and run it for few days or weeks .
but right its just to dam humid to do anything , i can wipe moisture of my arms at present just sitting here,its the downside of living so close to the sea front especially when theres no wind.so when it cools down somewhat i will hopefully get up on the roof and do it..brian

Image

Re: Cumulus Realtime.txt Dashboard Template

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:30 pm
by Toxic17
weatherist34 wrote:GOOD AFTERNOON ...

here is the last of the ideas I had sitting on my drive , the aim to present data clearly and relatively easy for enthusiasts and non enthusiasts to fathom out the actual data..see screenshot below..



Brian, is there an Air Quality setting as shown in the screenshots? I cant seem to actually find it.

https://www.conligwx.org/pws1/index.php