Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4018) - 28 March 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Tarting up my Data Summary

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderator: daj

RayProudfoot
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by RayProudfoot »

sfws wrote:You are using Cumulus 1, jQuery is only included (http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/Simple_Web ... Cumulus_MX) in Cumulus MX. Your jQuery has nothing to do with Cumulus, it is loaded in your http://www.cheadlehulmeweather.co.uk/datasummary.php by line 11

Code: Select all

<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.4/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
Change that 1.6.4 to 3.3.1 for the quick and simple upgrade.
The simple change seems sensible given my inexperience. On opening datasummary.php in my web folder I see the following. Clearly the data from the chap who originally supplied the code...

<head>
<!-- datasummaryT.php - Last modified: 25 May 2012 @ 06h00 -->
<title>Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather</title>
<meta http-equiv="cache-control" content="no-cache" />
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<meta http-equiv="pragma" content="no-cache" />
<meta name="description" content="Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather Data" />
<meta name="keywords" content="Cumulus, Tzouhalem-Maple Bay weather data, weather, data, weather station" />
<link rel="icon" href="images/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="images/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
<link href="weatherstyle.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="datasummary.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jq ... ery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
</head>

Now clearly you are seeing something different when you view page source. I see the same with references to Cheadle Hulme, not Maple Bay. The version of jQuery is also different.

Before I go ahead and change anything does the above change your advice?
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by RayProudfoot »

A little more investigation shows I have a datasummaryT.php and this contains tags so that my station etc. is displayed correctly. So I'm not sure what the purpose of datasummary.php is.

The relevant section of datasummaryT.php is below...

<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
<meta name="description" content="<#location> weather data" />
<meta name="keywords" content="Cumulus, <#location> weather data, weather, data, weather station" />
<title><#location> weather</title>
<link href="weatherstyle.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="datasummary.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jq ... ery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
</head>

So sorry to be a pain but it seems this is the file I need to amend the jquery version from 1.6.4 to 3.3.1

Am I correct?

LATER: I decided it was a simple change and easy to reverse if necessary. Looks okay. Now running 3.3.1. I shall study the supplied files and proceed with caution.
Last edited by RayProudfoot on Sat 25 Aug 2018 11:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
sfws
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Chas O, Maplin N96FY, N25FR
Operating System: rPi 3B+ with Buster (full)

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by sfws »

RayProudfoot wrote:The relevant section of datasummaryT.php
Yes that is file you should change if you are following my advice.
I use Firefox and the address box I had contained "view-source:http://www.cheadlehulmeweather.co.uk/datasummary.php" when I was looking at your source.
What I see is from your live site, and represents your PHP file after it has both had the Cumulus web tags processed locally by Cumulus and has been converted to HTML on your (or Steve's as he is your host) server.
Ideally, the whole file should be updated to HTML5, the XHTML 1.0 version your file uses syntax that dates back to 1999 as the lines before those you quote indicate! This would actually involve deleting obsolete parts of various lines, but I'm not going to list them for you, partly because I have only ever used HTML5 so your file uses syntax I don't know.
RayProudfoot wrote:I'm not sure what the purpose of datasummary.php
I suspect at one time you downloaded the other datasummary.php found in your web folder from http://tzweather.org/wxweather or similar, but have not implemented it. As Mark said earlier, there are many variants, I don't mention that one in the Wiki maybe because it is no longer available?
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by RayProudfoot »

Thanks sfws for confirming the change I applied was the correct one. I'm not going to bother with datasummary.php as it doesn't appear to be doing any harm. I may change the suffix to ph# and then eventually delete it.

The chances of me upgrading to HTML5 are about the same as Stoke winning the Premier League! :D Assuming the old code still works that will do me.

BTW, it would be nice to refer to you by your first name. ;)
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3777
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus 24-Hour FARS
Operating System: Windows8 and Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by PaulMy »

Hi Ray,
Just compared my site's betel_readDayfile,php to the file in the zip and there are some differences. I have many versions on my computer but the zip was the latest v3.1. Hopefully you get along fine (make sure you read the HowTo ;) ) and if needed I can check or compare the differences.

Enjoy,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www. komokaweather.com/cumulusmx4/index.htm

Image
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by RayProudfoot »

Thanks Paul. I'm working my way through the instructions now. More later...
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by RayProudfoot »

I've hit a glitch and not sure how to get around it. In Cumulus -- Internet Settings -- Files there is space for 10 entries. All 10 are occupied. How can I add another? I need Cumulus to process betel_datasummaryT.htm.

LATER: Duh! Edit Cumulus.ini to add extra. :D
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3777
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus 24-Hour FARS
Operating System: Windows8 and Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by PaulMy »

Glad my telepathy is still working :o

Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www. komokaweather.com/cumulusmx4/index.htm

Image
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by RayProudfoot »

Oh dear. It looks like you can't have more than 9 uploads in cumulus.ini.

I edited cumulus.ini and entered the following after the 9th entry in the FTPSite section...

ExtraLocal10=C:\Program Files\Cumulus\web\betel_datasummaryT.htm
ExtraRemote10=www/betel_datasummary.php
ExtraProcess10=1
ExtraBinary10=0
ExtraRealtime10=0
ExtraFTP10=1

The file is not being uploaded to the server. What to do?
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by RayProudfoot »

Panic over. I suspected Cumulus might need restarting after changes to the ini. I've now got a betel_datasummary.php showing but it's empty. Still, Rome wasn't built in a day. :D
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 3777
Joined: Sun 28 Sep 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Plus 24-Hour FARS
Operating System: Windows8 and Windows10
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by PaulMy »

Hi Ray,
I have these 4 files on my webserver -
betel_datasummary,css
betel_datasummaryCU.php
betel_dayfile_languages.php
betel_readDayfile.php

The only one I can see on your site is betel_datasummary.php but this may be one of the differences in the zips.


You'll get there!
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro2+
C1 www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmx/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www.komokaweather.com/cumulusmxwll/index.htm /index.html /index.php
MX www. komokaweather.com/cumulusmx4/index.htm

Image
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by RayProudfoot »

That's because I'm an idiot Paul! :lol:

I forgot those files needing transferring to the server. They're there now and the page has changed but it can't read dayfile.txt for some odd reason.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by RayProudfoot »

The path to dayfile.txt was wrong in betal_readDayfile.php. I amended it and copied the php to the server.

This is looking a bit more encouraging... http://www.cheadlehulmeweather.co.uk/be ... ummary.php
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
Mapantz
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sat 17 Dec 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 11 x64
Location: Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by Mapantz »

Almost there, Ray. Just need the .css file and you'll be laughing! :)
Image
RayProudfoot
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed 06 May 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Post by RayProudfoot »

Thanks Mapantz. I think it's complete except when selecting Seasonal instead of Daily in the drop-down.

The season names are duplicated. How is that fixed?
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image
Post Reply