IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

I strongly advise all users using my server for their web site to make alternative arrangements.

Outgoing mail is disabled because of the malware on the server. No new forum registrations are currently possible, and mail to the forum administrator will not work.

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Tarting up my Data Summary

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderators: daj, TNETWeather

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:53 am

sfws wrote:You are using Cumulus 1, jQuery is only included (http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/Simple_Website_setup#Cumulus_MX) in Cumulus MX. Your jQuery has nothing to do with Cumulus, it is loaded in your http://www.cheadlehulmeweather.co.uk/datasummary.php by line 11

Code: Select all

<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.4/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

Change that 1.6.4 to 3.3.1 for the quick and simple upgrade.


The simple change seems sensible given my inexperience. On opening datasummary.php in my web folder I see the following. Clearly the data from the chap who originally supplied the code...

<head>
<!-- datasummaryT.php - Last modified: 25 May 2012 @ 06h00 -->
<title>Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather</title>
<meta http-equiv="cache-control" content="no-cache" />
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<meta http-equiv="pragma" content="no-cache" />
<meta name="description" content="Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather Data" />
<meta name="keywords" content="Cumulus, Tzouhalem-Maple Bay weather data, weather, data, weather station" />
<link rel="icon" href="images/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="images/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
<link href="weatherstyle.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="datasummary.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.2/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
</head>

Now clearly you are seeing something different when you view page source. I see the same with references to Cheadle Hulme, not Maple Bay. The version of jQuery is also different.

Before I go ahead and change anything does the above change your advice?
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Aug 25, 2018 10:28 am

A little more investigation shows I have a datasummaryT.php and this contains tags so that my station etc. is displayed correctly. So I'm not sure what the purpose of datasummary.php is.

The relevant section of datasummaryT.php is below...

<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
<meta name="description" content="<#location> weather data" />
<meta name="keywords" content="Cumulus, <#location> weather data, weather, data, weather station" />
<title><#location> weather</title>
<link href="weatherstyle.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="datasummary.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.4/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
</head>

So sorry to be a pain but it seems this is the file I need to amend the jquery version from 1.6.4 to 3.3.1

Am I correct?

LATER: I decided it was a simple change and easy to reverse if necessary. Looks okay. Now running 3.3.1. I shall study the supplied files and proceed with caution.
Last edited by RayProudfoot on Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

sfws
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:29 am
Weather Station: Customised mix of Fine Offset
Operating System: Tempermental Win. 10 PC
Location: UK

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby sfws » Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:03 am

RayProudfoot wrote:The relevant section of datasummaryT.php

Yes that is file you should change if you are following my advice.
I use Firefox and the address box I had contained "view-source:http://www.cheadlehulmeweather.co.uk/datasummary.php" when I was looking at your source.
What I see is from your live site, and represents your PHP file after it has both had the Cumulus web tags processed locally by Cumulus and has been converted to HTML on your (or Steve's as he is your host) server.
Ideally, the whole file should be updated to HTML5, the XHTML 1.0 version your file uses syntax that dates back to 1999 as the lines before those you quote indicate! This would actually involve deleting obsolete parts of various lines, but I'm not going to list them for you, partly because I have only ever used HTML5 so your file uses syntax I don't know.
RayProudfoot wrote:I'm not sure what the purpose of datasummary.php

I suspect at one time you downloaded the other datasummary.php found in your web folder from http://tzweather.org/wxweather or similar, but have not implemented it. As Mark said earlier, there are many variants, I don't mention that one in the Wiki maybe because it is no longer available?

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:13 am

Thanks sfws for confirming the change I applied was the correct one. I'm not going to bother with datasummary.php as it doesn't appear to be doing any harm. I may change the suffix to ph# and then eventually delete it.

The chances of me upgrading to HTML5 are about the same as Stoke winning the Premier League! :D Assuming the old code still works that will do me.

BTW, it would be nice to refer to you by your first name. ;)
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby PaulMy » Sat Aug 25, 2018 1:53 pm

Hi Ray,
Just compared my site's betel_readDayfile,php to the file in the zip and there are some differences. I have many versions on my computer but the zip was the latest v3.1. Hopefully you get along fine (make sure you read the HowTo ;) ) and if needed I can check or compare the differences.

Enjoy,
Paul

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Aug 25, 2018 1:58 pm

Thanks Paul. I'm working my way through the instructions now. More later...
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:07 pm

I've hit a glitch and not sure how to get around it. In Cumulus -- Internet Settings -- Files there is space for 10 entries. All 10 are occupied. How can I add another? I need Cumulus to process betel_datasummaryT.htm.

LATER: Duh! Edit Cumulus.ini to add extra. :D
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby PaulMy » Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:46 pm

Glad my telepathy is still working :o

Paul

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:52 pm

Oh dear. It looks like you can't have more than 9 uploads in cumulus.ini.

I edited cumulus.ini and entered the following after the 9th entry in the FTPSite section...

ExtraLocal10=C:\Program Files\Cumulus\web\betel_datasummaryT.htm
ExtraRemote10=www/betel_datasummary.php
ExtraProcess10=1
ExtraBinary10=0
ExtraRealtime10=0
ExtraFTP10=1

The file is not being uploaded to the server. What to do?
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Aug 25, 2018 3:03 pm

Panic over. I suspected Cumulus might need restarting after changes to the ini. I've now got a betel_datasummary.php showing but it's empty. Still, Rome wasn't built in a day. :D
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby PaulMy » Sat Aug 25, 2018 3:21 pm

Hi Ray,
I have these 4 files on my webserver -
betel_datasummary,css
betel_datasummaryCU.php
betel_dayfile_languages.php
betel_readDayfile.php

The only one I can see on your site is betel_datasummary.php but this may be one of the differences in the zips.


You'll get there!
Paul

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Aug 25, 2018 3:46 pm

That's because I'm an idiot Paul! :lol:

I forgot those files needing transferring to the server. They're there now and the page has changed but it can't read dayfile.txt for some odd reason.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Aug 25, 2018 3:54 pm

The path to dayfile.txt was wrong in betal_readDayfile.php. I amended it and copied the php to the server.

This is looking a bit more encouraging... http://www.cheadlehulmeweather.co.uk/be ... ummary.php
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 500
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby Mapantz » Sat Aug 25, 2018 4:00 pm

Almost there, Ray. Just need the .css file and you'll be laughing! :)
Image
Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2586
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: Tarting up my Data Summary

Postby RayProudfoot » Sat Aug 25, 2018 4:17 pm

Thanks Mapantz. I think it's complete except when selecting Seasonal instead of Daily in the drop-down.

The season names are duplicated. How is that fixed?
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image


Return to “Web site - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dazza1223, Mapantz, PaulMy and 5 guests