IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

I strongly advise all users using my server for their web site to make alternative arrangements.

Outgoing mail is disabled because of the malware on the server. No new forum registrations are currently possible, and mail to the forum administrator will not work.

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Website - Autorefresh

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderators: daj, TNETWeather

Altocumulus
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Website - Autorefresh

Postby Altocumulus » Sun Sep 02, 2018 7:54 am

Occasionally my website will lose its display, and show a blank page, and I'm not too sure why.
Originally I thought it was due to an internet-break, but that would result in a display that would say there's a break to the server.

I have a display on during the day on an old Win7 netbook using Chrome browser; in a separate room to the Cumulus monitor.
On my Win10 laptop, running Firefox browser, I've noticed the same issue - that of the website occasionally displaying a blank page.

Once that blank page appears, I can only get it to return by a manual re-fresh.

It doesn't matter what I'm using :

Meta or a script ..

#####

<Meta HTTP-EQUIV="refresh" Content="60; URL=https://www.craigdamwx.info">

##### Or:-

<script language="javascript">
function timedRefresh(timeoutPeriod) {
setTimeout("location.reload(true);",timeoutPeriod);
}

window.onload = timedRefresh(60000);
</script>

Can anyone shed a light?

I'm using Cumulus v1.9.4 (1099) - setup to update web data at 60 seconds.

Is it a conflict between browser and cumulus refresh both having a 60 second delay?

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 698
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.5 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: Website - Autorefresh

Postby Toxic17 » Sun Sep 02, 2018 8:25 am

not sure why you're experiencing that but you could try to start tweaking the web performance of your site.

https://gtmetrix.com/reports/www.craigd ... o/j5DmSQDC

btw https://www.craigdamwx.info/favicon.ico is coded into your site yet it doesn't exist.

Also do you really need all 12 ports open on the router/server? (quite a few email ports open)

if so then are you running a mail server on the same server as your web server?
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://www.conligwx.org/pws/
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

Altocumulus
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Re: Website - Autorefresh

Postby Altocumulus » Mon Sep 03, 2018 11:24 am

Toxic17 wrote:not sure why you're experiencing that but you could try to start tweaking the web performance of your site.

https://gtmetrix.com/reports/www.craigd ... o/j5DmSQDC

btw https://www.craigdamwx.info/favicon.ico is coded into your site yet it doesn't exist.


No idea! Not something I've consciously put there!


Also do you really need all 12 ports open on the router/server? (quite a few email ports open)

if so then are you running a mail server on the same server as your web server?


Again no idea. It isn't/wasn't something I had consciously done!

Thanks for the link to the reports - I'll try and understand what it means - though my Performance Scores seem higher than average :D

Many thanks Simon (Learning something new each day, it seems.....)

Geoff

Altocumulus
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Davis pro vue+
Operating System: Windows 10 Home
Location: NE Scotland

Re: Website - Autorefresh

Postby Altocumulus » Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:15 pm

That's a strange one. Favicon.ico doesn't exist on the server, nor in any of my css/html.


Return to “Web site - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dazza1223 and 5 guests