IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

I strongly advise all users using my server for their web site to make alternative arrangements.

Outgoing mail is disabled because of the malware on the server. No new forum registrations are currently possible, and mail to the forum administrator will not work.

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refresh

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderators: daj, TNETWeather

Synewave
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:55 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681
Operating System: Raspian
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby Synewave » Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:45 am

Ooops, Sorry Dan, there was an error in that code I quoted. I've upated my post.

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2483
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby beteljuice » Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:06 pm

In a similar fashion, all your other JS created Hi / Lo, weather / wind icon decision coding needs to moved / modded into the ajax 'loop' :shock:

Welcome to the world of bespoke coding - to paraphrase Oscar Wilde "The pure and simple page is rarely pure and never simple" !

But you do feel so good when a little graphic changes or some text suddenly appears :clap:
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
captzero
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:20 am
Weather Station: Vantage Pro2 w/ daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby captzero » Sun Feb 27, 2011 7:55 pm

Thanks Paul / Daj,
I can see some more lost hours in front of the screen coming up for me. :lol:
Dan

http://www.brisbaneliveweather.com




A man with a thermometer always knows the temperature. A man with two thermometers, not so sure.

User avatar
captzero
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:20 am
Weather Station: Vantage Pro2 w/ daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby captzero » Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:41 pm

Thanks again Paul & Daj.

:clap: The script works well and easy enough to get up and running. Paul, thanks for the tip about the trend arrows. I was able to use that info to get all my other bits to update as well. Its a bit clunky in Chrome (okay in IE and FF) when fetching the wind direction graphic etc, but I can live with that. :clap:
Dan

http://www.brisbaneliveweather.com




A man with a thermometer always knows the temperature. A man with two thermometers, not so sure.

User avatar
captzero
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:20 am
Weather Station: Vantage Pro2 w/ daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby captzero » Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:16 am

Hi Guys,

I need some help with some conversions & calculations and the <span> tags.
Previously, I was running some js to convert and display wind speed km/h to knots (for fishing buddies) easily enough. The old script was:

<script type="text/javascript">
var speed = "<#wlatest>";
var speedknots = Math.abs(speed*0.54*10)/10;
document.write(speedknots.toFixed(1));
</script>&nbsp;kts

I have been able to get the do a similar thing using the realtimereader.js by using:

var spknots = rawdata[6];
$("#speedknots").html(Math.abs(spknots*0.54*10)/10);

and the span tag is <span id="speedknots"></span>

However, this will give 1.6 km/h as 0.8640000000000001 knots.

How am I able to display with 1 decimal point, ie, as 0.8 knots. Am I close or way off the mark here?

I have tried several variants but it usually breaks the javascript.

Thanks in advance.
Dan

http://www.brisbaneliveweather.com




A man with a thermometer always knows the temperature. A man with two thermometers, not so sure.

Synewave
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:55 pm
Weather Station: Watson W-8681
Operating System: Raspian
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby Synewave » Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:49 am

captzero wrote:Hi Guys,

I need some help with some conversions & calculations and the <span> tags.
Previously, I was running some js to convert and display wind speed km/h to knots (for fishing buddies) easily enough. The old script was:

<script type="text/javascript">
var speed = "<#wlatest>";
var speedknots = Math.abs(speed*0.54*10)/10;
document.write(speedknots.toFixed(1));
</script>&nbsp;kts

I have been able to get the do a similar thing using the realtimereader.js by using:

var spknots = rawdata[6];
$("#speedknots").html(Math.abs(spknots*0.54*10)/10);

and the span tag is <span id="speedknots"></span>

However, this will give 1.6 km/h as 0.8640000000000001 knots.

How am I able to display with 1 decimal point, ie, as 0.8 knots. Am I close or way off the mark here?

I have tried several variants but it usually breaks the javascript.

Thanks in advance.


Dan,

Based on the script you quoted above that worked, try this in the realtimereader.js

Code: Select all

var spknots = rawdata[6];
var speedknots = Math.abs(spknots*0.54*10)/10;
var speedknots = speedknots.toFixed(1);
$("#speedknots").html(speedknots);


Untested, but logically should work based on your original.
The <span id="speedknots"></span> stays the same in your HTML.

User avatar
captzero
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:20 am
Weather Station: Vantage Pro2 w/ daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby captzero » Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:00 am

Synewave wrote:Untested, but logically should work


Works like a dream. Thanks Paul.

I knew I had to add .toFixed(1) somewhere.

And, thanks for the quick reply too.
Dan

http://www.brisbaneliveweather.com




A man with a thermometer always knows the temperature. A man with two thermometers, not so sure.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5194
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby mcrossley » Sun Mar 06, 2011 1:03 pm

Why Math.abs() are you expecting it to go negative?

Math.round(spknots*0.54*10)/10

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5194
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby mcrossley » Sun Mar 06, 2011 1:37 pm

Second thoughts, as you are using .toFixed() - required for those pesky n.0 values - then all you need is:


var speedknots = rawdata[6]*0.54;
speedknots = speedknots.toFixed(1);
$("#speedknots").html(speedknots);

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2483
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby beteljuice » Sun Mar 06, 2011 2:05 pm

Or as a one-liner

$("#speedknots").html((rawdata[6]*054).toFixed(1));

:lol: but not so easy on the mind or the eye :shock:
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
Andy
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Hawkenbury, Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby Andy » Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:51 pm

Synewave wrote:It seems many want their index page to automatically refresh without having to press F5. Any many don't want to get into the realms of changing their site to use the PHP methods available in the forum.

Here is a simple way to achieve this using Javascript that will refresh the weather data on your index page automatically every 15 seconds. It works by reading the data from your realtime.txt file (providing you already have Cumulus set to upload that).


Paul,
Thanks - I had been after an auto update process.
Last edited by daj on Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fixed 'quoting' issue
Andy


Image

rayauger
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:36 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Window 7.0
Location: Canada

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby rayauger » Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:36 pm

Hello everybody,

Hope someone can help me.

Installed Paul's autorefresh and did some modification but then sometime after the update I am getting garbage as shown on the attached picture. Then a manual refresh or if you wait for the next refresh, it will display OK.

Any idea what could be the problem?

if you want to see the page here is the link

http://pages.videotron.com/meteo/yvan

thanks for your help

Yvan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5194
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby mcrossley » Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:39 pm

It looks like the fetch of the data actually got a Error 404 page rather than the data. I put some code in my autorefresh to check the contents of the returned data before trying to use in.

TgT
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:51 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + Solar
Operating System: A20 TV box + CumulusMX
Location: Slov.Konjice, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby TgT » Sat Sep 03, 2011 12:55 am

Good script :clap:

What about some flashcolor for changed data? :oops:
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5194
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Auto-refresh Website Index Page Without Using Meta Refre

Postby mcrossley » Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:46 am

TgT wrote:Good script :clap:

What about some flashcolor for changed data? :oops:

I have done that on my 'now' page. You need to store all the values, then on the next refresh compare new with old. If different set a 'newValue' style to change the colour. Then at the end of the update routine overwrite the 'old' values with the new and set a 'setTimout()' to call another function after say 10 seconds the clears the new value styles.

--sent from my phone


Return to “Web site - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests