If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3041 Aug 17 2016. See this post for download

PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderators: daj, TNETWeather

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4688
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby mcrossley » Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:34 am

Changing line 302 to:

Code: Select all

if (array_key_exists($testfile, $filesfound)) {

fixes that problem, trying to figure out which index is going out of bounds at line 326...

Edit: Got it, in the month for loop $m is incremented before the range check, so when the loop exits $m=13
change line 326 to:

Code: Select all

if($y != $first_year) { $nav_build[$y]['months'][$m-1] .= "<br />\n";}
and that fixes it.

And finally changed 367-371 to:

Code: Select all

         if (array_key_exists($testfile, $filesfound)) {
            $advisory = "<br /><b>Report for $yr ";
            if ($mo) {$advisory .= $months[$mo];}
            $advisory .= "</b>\n";
            $rpt = implode("",file("$NOAAdir/$testfile"));

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4688
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby mcrossley » Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:07 am

Oh, and the putenv error? I run in Safe Mode, so
In Safe Mode, the user may only alter environment variables whose names begin with the prefixes supplied by this directive. By default, users will only be able to set environment variables that begin with PHP_
http://php.net/manual/en/function.putenv.php

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2432
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby beteljuice » Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:07 pm

Cheers Mark, I'll check that out and update later.

Never used array_key_exists, I'll have to look it up :?
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4688
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby mcrossley » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:03 pm

I hadn't either, but looking up on how to trap 'does not exist' errors found it, you cannot pass the missing array member to any of the normal error checking routines because it doesn't exist so the act of passing it causes an error - doh!

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2432
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby beteljuice » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:33 pm

mcrossley wrote:...
And finally changed 367-371 to:

Code: Select all

         if (array_key_exists($testfile, $filesfound)) {
            $advisory = "<br /><b>Report for $yr ";
            if ($mo) {$advisory .= $months[$mo];}
            $advisory .= "</b>\n";
            $rpt = implode("",file("$NOAAdir/$testfile"));

I elected to go 'terse' - same but different ;)

Code: Select all

         if (array_key_exists($testfile, $filesfound)) {
            $advisory = "<br /><b>Report for $yr " .($mo ? $months[$mo] : ''). "</b>\n";
            $rpt = implode("",file("$NOAAdir/$testfile"));

         } else {
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2432
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby beteljuice » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:39 pm

Update V3.1 - bug fix for 'twitch level' error reporting

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=5754&p=49194#p49194


NB: If you have an earlier version running without problems ..........
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2283
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby RayProudfoot » Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:28 pm

I've been working my way through the instructions kindly provided by beteljuice to get NOAA reports available on my website.

I've hit a brick wall and I'm sure it's path related but for the life of me I cannot see where the problem lies.

This is the error being reported on my server:-

[12-Dec-2011 20:01:36] PHP Warning: opendir(./NOAA-reports) [<a href='function.opendir'>function.opendir</a>]: failed to open dir: No such file or directory in /home/admin4/public_html/NOAA-reports/NOAA-reports.php on line 195

And here is the page I've created:- http://www.cheadlehulmeweather.co.uk/NOAA.php

Neither of the two reports (Dec or 2011) will display even though they exist in the NOAA-reports subfolder under my root public_html.

In public_html/NOAA-reports I have:-
NOAA-reports.php
noaarep.css
NOAAMO1211.txt
NOAAYR2011.txt

In public_html I have:-
NOAAT.php
NOAA.php
weatherstyle.css

Any help gratefully appreciated.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby saratogaWX » Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:01 pm

RayProudfoot wrote:I've been working my way through the instructions kindly provided by beteljuice to get NOAA reports available on my website.

I've hit a brick wall and I'm sure it's path related but for the life of me I cannot see where the problem lies.

This is the error being reported on my server:-

[12-Dec-2011 20:01:36] PHP Warning: opendir(./NOAA-reports) [<a href='function.opendir'>function.opendir</a>]: failed to open dir: No such file or directory in /home/admin4/public_html/NOAA-reports/NOAA-reports.php on line 195

And here is the page I've created:- http://www.cheadlehulmeweather.co.uk/NOAA.php

Neither of the two reports (Dec or 2011) will display even though they exist in the NOAA-reports subfolder under my root public_html.

In public_html/NOAA-reports I have:-
NOAA-reports.php
noaarep.css
NOAAMO1211.txt
NOAAYR2011.txt

In public_html I have:-
NOAAT.php
NOAA.php
weatherstyle.css

Any help gratefully appreciated.


I'd suggest you change the directory specification from

./NOAA-reports

to

./NOAA-reports/

and see if that fixes the issue.

Best regards,
Ken

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2283
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby RayProudfoot » Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:22 pm

Thanks Ken. I think that has fixed one problem but I appear to have another related to my location adapted for England.

The error log is now complaining about line 433:-

[12-Dec-2011 21:19:07] PHP Warning: preg_replace() [<a href='function.preg-replace'>function.preg-replace</a>]: Delimiter must not be alphanumeric or backslash in /home/admin4/public_html/NOAA-reports.php on line 433

That line is as follows:-
$rpt = preg_replace('State: Cheshire', 'County: Cheshire Country: UK', $rpt, 1);
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2283
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby RayProudfoot » Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:05 pm

I reverted to the standard piece of code for the location and it seems to have fixed the problem.

http://www.cheadlehulmeweather.co.uk/NOAA.php

One last question. How do I generate files for all the months I have data for? Had a look in the Help but nothing jumped out at me.
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby saratogaWX » Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:18 pm

RayProudfoot wrote:Thanks Ken. I think that has fixed one problem but I appear to have another related to my location adapted for England.

The error log is now complaining about line 433:-

[12-Dec-2011 21:19:07] PHP Warning: preg_replace() [<a href='function.preg-replace'>function.preg-replace</a>]: Delimiter must not be alphanumeric or backslash in /home/admin4/public_html/NOAA-reports.php on line 433

That line is as follows:-
$rpt = preg_replace('State: Cheshire', 'County: Cheshire Country: UK', $rpt, 1);


Hi Ray,

The preg_replace would need to have a delimiter in the regex on the first argument like:

$rpt = preg_replace('/State: Cheshire/i', 'County: Cheshire Country: UK', $rpt, 1);

then it would execute correctly.

Best regards,
Ken

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby saratogaWX » Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:24 pm

RayProudfoot wrote:I reverted to the standard piece of code for the location and it seems to have fixed the problem.

http://www.cheadlehulmeweather.co.uk/NOAA.php

One last question. How do I generate files for all the months I have data for? Had a look in the Help but nothing jumped out at me.

Glad the spec on the directory fixed the issue.

In the Cumulus, View, NOAA Monthly Report (and NOAA Yearly Report) there's an option at the bottom of the window to specify the Month/Year (or just Year) for the report. Select 'Update Report' then you can do a "Save" selecting ANSI file type.

Repeat for your missing reports, then manually upload the historical file(s) to your NOAA-reports/ directory.

Best regards,
Ken

RayProudfoot
Posts: 2283
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:29 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with Daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, England
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby RayProudfoot » Mon Dec 12, 2011 11:34 pm

Hi Ken,

Thanks for your help with both questions. Given the location code works I'll leave that alone for now.

Regarding choosing another month/year for NOAA data I don't see an option at the bottom of that window. I'm running Cumulus on a netbook with a 1024*600 resolution. Might that be the reason?

Steve, should I be able to see the option at the bottom of that window to generate data for another period?
Cheers,
Ray, Cheshire.

Image

User avatar
beteljuice
Posts: 2432
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3 - honest
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby beteljuice » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:39 am

Ken wrote:The preg_replace would need to have a delimiter in the regex on the first argument like:

$rpt = preg_replace('/State: Cheshire/i', 'County: Cheshire Country: UK', $rpt, 1);

then it would execute correctly.
:oops: - caught between regex and str replace :? - example corrected, cheers
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4688
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: PHP Web 'viewer' for Cumulus NOAA Style reports

Postby mcrossley » Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:44 pm

RayProudfoot wrote:Regarding choosing another month/year for NOAA data I don't see an option at the bottom of that window. I'm running Cumulus on a netbook with a 1024*600 resolution. Might that be the reason?
Probably, can you remote desktop into your netbook and specify a larger desktop size?


Return to “Web site - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests