IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

FTP is broken. I advise all users using my server for their web site to make alternative arrangements.

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Other discussion about creating web sites for Cumulus that doesn't have a specific subforum

Moderators: daj, TNETWeather

User avatar
Buford T. Justice
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:21 pm
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2902A
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Location: USA

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby Buford T. Justice » Wed Jun 11, 2014 1:35 am

It is not impossible. Here is a non-METAR TEST version of my PHP Scripts. You have to have the Current box showing in Cumulus and use these EXACTLY:

Clear
Partly Cloudy
Mostly Cloudy
Overcast
Precipitation
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
GraemeT
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:19 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS-2355 & WS-2306
Operating System: Windoze 7
Location: Bayswater, Australia
Contact:

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby GraemeT » Sat Jun 14, 2014 10:59 pm

Thanks BT.

I'll let you know of any success.
Cheers,
Graeme.

Image

User avatar
Buford T. Justice
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:21 pm
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2902A
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Location: USA

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby Buford T. Justice » Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:08 am

Any luck with the non-METAR version? You can also try the updated Zambretti Weathercard Forecaster linked in my signature below.

User avatar
GraemeT
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:19 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS-2355 & WS-2306
Operating System: Windoze 7
Location: Bayswater, Australia
Contact:

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby GraemeT » Mon Jul 14, 2014 1:36 pm

I had a play with your scripts last week but ran out of time, so nothing to report yet. Certainly no negatives either, so that's a good sign...

I'll report back in a couple of weeks, with any luck.

Cheers
Cheers,
Graeme.

Image

ashreigney
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 5:53 pm
Weather Station: N96GY
Operating System: Wndows 8
Location: ashreigney
Contact:

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby ashreigney » Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Thank you for this, just installed it and all is well applied an offset to sort out the wind as it was a bit high in my opinion

bobm
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 7:35 am
Weather Station: Maplin N96FY
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Swindon

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby bobm » Sun Aug 10, 2014 8:13 am

Excellent - got it working in 10 minutes and put in a 25 offset.

One terribly minor point - the link at the top of bt-sager.php to http://www.freewebs.com/btjustice/bt-forecasters.html is dead.

uncle_bob
Posts: 473
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:58 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: 2008
Location: Canberra

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby uncle_bob » Tue Jun 16, 2015 1:32 pm

I've recently moved over to the Saratoga templates and now have just updated the website to use BT's Sager PHP scripts again.
They appear to be working too :)

Thanks again for these BT!
Interested in building your own Weather Station? Maybe check out the WeatherDuino Pro Project Here
Conder, Canberra Weather
Image

water01
Posts: 1465
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby water01 » Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:11 am

If you are using Cumulus MX you will need to change bt-sager-cu.php line 22 from

Code: Select all

$updated = "<#timeUTC format="yyyy-mm-dd hh:nn"> UTC";

to

Code: Select all

$updated = "<#timeUTC format="yyyy-mm-dd hh:mm"> UTC";

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26688
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby steve » Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:16 am

That should be

Code: Select all

$updated = "<#timeUTC format="yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm"> UTC";
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

water01
Posts: 1465
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby water01 » Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:25 am

Yep corrected the time but forgot about the month!! Brain not in gear!!

User avatar
Buford T. Justice
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:21 pm
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2902A
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Location: USA

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby Buford T. Justice » Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:43 pm

I have been holding off on that until MX goes public. As for the website, I need to update it as freewebs killed what I had for some reason.

User avatar
nking
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:03 pm
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby nking » Tue Feb 16, 2016 10:25 am

Just a quick note to say thank you to Buford T. Justice for his excellent work :clap: . With very clear instructions I've added it to my site with no problems :D

User avatar
nking
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:03 pm
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby nking » Fri Mar 11, 2016 8:54 am

Woke up this morning to fog (cloud at ground level) but wondered why the forecast was showing showers/rain and because of the temperature this was amended to snow. Taking a look at the php script I noticed that in line 154 ("VV" Clouds cannot be seen because of fog or heavy precipitation, so vertical visibility is given instead.) is considered "Precipitation". I amended mine to "Overcast" which, in my opinion, results in a more appropriate forecast. I will rely on my station to report if it is raining ;)

User avatar
jlp09550
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:35 am
Weather Station: ProWeatherStation
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Mouton Cove, Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Contact:

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby jlp09550 » Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:29 pm

I just implemented this on my weather station website. I'm curious to see how accurate it'll be. ;) So far, so good, though!

User avatar
kasper58
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:17 am
Weather Station: Aercus Instruments WS3083
Operating System: Hopefully QNAS LXC Docker
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: BT's Global Sager Weathercaster PHP Scripts For Cumulus

Postby kasper58 » Thu Mar 24, 2016 12:06 am

I am running CumulusMX and Apache2 on a Raspberry Pi.
I tried to implement the Sager script, but it fails, all I get is the title '12-24 Hour Forecast:' and no data.
I noticed that the bt-sager-cu.php creates a bt-sager-cu.phptmp in the web dir. Is this because it is owned by pi whereas root runs the script.
I have all 3 bt-sager .php's (bt-sager-cu.php with process selected) in the Extra Files to be copied to /var/web/html.

Any help appreciated.

UPDATE:
Got it sorted, needed to install php-curl

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install php5-curl


Restart apache2 and bingo.....

Will monitor now and see how well it works for me, I'm approx 70km from METAR station.


Return to “Web site - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests