Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:41 pm
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
Do not allow your PC to go into standby mode while Cumulus is running - read the readme.txt!
If you find Cumulus useful, please make a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 12:07 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20770
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
It seems that it gives 51.0 m/s for wind speed (confirmed on the Open2300 site), so I'm ignoring 51 or above, 110% for humidity, (so I ignore everything above 100 - of course) and 69.8 for outside temp (which I believe is its 'normal' maximum value), so I'm ignoring everything above 69C.

I was already doing some filtering during normal running, but not for the archive data.

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:54 pm
Posts: 11
steve wrote:
I think I've worked out what values are returned when contact is lost, I'll have a new version shortly which attempts to allow for it.

Steve



Cheers

_________________
http://weather.kilmoneynet.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 12:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:54 pm
Posts: 11
TgT wrote:
huh, cilldara, quite lots of bad data there, you really have it that much away from the main unit? Or have you tried connecting a station with rs232(comport) instead of USB?

My friend gets just temperature spikes around 83°C i think... steve, what is your "hack" now? Does it ignore those readings or any other way? If i may suggestion a special editbox where people can add their ignored numbers ...



The outside sensors are about 30feet away from the base unit which should be OK I think, though I'm hoping to move them farther away from the house to a more exposed location.

I don't think its bad data, I only get problems when the base unit is showing a - in the outside reading slots, and Heavy Weather does ignore the gaps. As Steve has said he's working in the dark, trying various things to get it working, I don't think he even has access to a unit.

My original plan was to use an old PC to run weather software 24/7 and act as a file/backup server but it died beyond economic repair so I'm keeping my eye out for something decent but also economical to run 24/7.

_________________
http://weather.kilmoneynet.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:33 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:37 pm
Posts: 2262
Location: Dudley, West Midlands, UK
Weather Station: None !
Operating System: XP SP3
Easy fix for La Crosse 23xx reception.

Open the base unit and you see a length of wire wrapped round loosely inside.

That's your receiving antenna, get a soldering iron and replace it with twice the length.

You can still get drop-outs through external batteries / sub-zero temperatures, but it should help stop your unit being so volatile.

You could run cabled (as I do), if the base is 'mains' powered then the outside sensors are powered from the base BUT if there is a nearby lightning strike it can take out the COM port of your PC (don't know about USB / serial adapters)

It happened to me :x

_________________
Image
......................Imagine, what you will KNOW tomorrow !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:17 pm
Posts: 8
As a newcomer to a WS2350 and to Cumulus (great software BTW - many thanks!), I have been following this thread since I have also been receving similar aberrant readings, again (I think) relating to reception fall-outs. The dubious readings so far are not constant, but include:

Max temp > 50C (multiple values in 50-60 range, but clustered around 58)
Mac gusts > 120 km/h (multiple values)
Min pressure as low as 50 hPa (multiple values)

Not sure if any of this helps, but I thought that I might mention it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:27 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20770
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
I don't think any of the changes I've done are going to help with those values :(

Which version/build are you using?

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:17 pm
Posts: 8
1.8.4 build 605.

BTW, I am a complete novice in this malarky, and the set-up is very recent (last week) and still being finalised - hence please accept my comments with due caution. Nonetheless, I thought that the errant readings might be germane to the discussion. FWIW, equivalent errant readings did not seem to occur in Heavy Weather, but I have not used that as much.

Apologies for any confusion stemming from my contribution!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:06 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20770
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
No, that's fine, no confusion at all. I am somewhat relieved to see you say you're using 1.8.4, as I've done some changes in 1.8.5 which appear to have solved a lot of the false data problems (other than this latest lost communication business).

I think you will find that installing 1.8.5 will improve things for you - but I think you might as well hold on until the next build before installing it - unless you're really keen :)

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:17 pm
Posts: 8
Very keen, but even more incompetent - I shall wait for the next biuld, and try to optimise existing siting and set-up in preparation!

Thanks again for your time and effort!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:41 pm
Posts: 6
Location: La Palma
Weather Station: WS2300
Just to confirm that I am seeing the high readings on my system as I am awaiting a replacement for the external transmitter to arrive from the UK as mine died after 2 years of service


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 9:50 am 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20770
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
Latest build attempts to fix the 'lost communication' data issues:

http://www.nybbles.co.uk/downloads/beta185/CumulusSetup.exe

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:54 pm
Posts: 11
Thanks Steve,

I've downloaded and installed the new version, the station has been behaving itself for the last day or two, so I can't tell if its made an difference, I'll let you know how it goes if and when the problem recurs.


John

_________________
http://weather.kilmoneynet.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:41 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20770
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
OK - thanks, John.

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:17 pm
Posts: 8
Hi,

I have installed the new build but am still obtaining aberrant readings. Since these include data measured at the console, I am not sure that reception breakdown is the sole explanation. What I notice (e.g. for pressure readings) is that the wacky data contain elements of the preceding and following readings, with the problem seeminly affecting the digits preceding the final two: e.g.

1007.2
77.2
1007.2

1008.6
88.6
1008.6

Dunno if this is of any use, but in case it is...

Many thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: High readings when station loses communication with sensor
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:12 pm 
Offline
Cumulus Author
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 20770
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
The pressure data is returned in 3 bytes of BCD, so this suggests that the least significant byte, representing the 7.2 in your first example, is OK, but the other two, representing x100 (the x is part of the pressure in inHg) are not. But the data is checksummed, so I don't understand what could be going wrong. The checksum isn't very sophisticated - add the bytes and take the least significant byte.

I'm not actually logging the entire packet to the debug log, just the data, but could you turn on the debug log and let me have it when you see the problem again? And I'll look into tracing the entire packet including the checksum.

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group