Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

La Crosse WS2800

Jennings
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:41 pm
Weather Station: La Crosse
Operating System: Windows Vista
Location: Surry, England

La Crosse WS2800

Postby Jennings » Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:46 pm

Hi newbie here.

I'm am thinking of getting a La Crosse WS2800.

Could anyone advise me whether Cumulus operates with this station?

Has anyone had experience of this model. It seems quite expensive for a Las Crosse product?

Any advice appreciated.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26314
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby steve » Fri Apr 06, 2012 1:25 pm

Only the WS23xx range is supported: http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/Supported_Devices

There's a 'hack' which some people are apparently using, but it's rather limited. See this thread, from about the 8th post onwards: http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1729
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

Jennings
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:41 pm
Weather Station: La Crosse
Operating System: Windows Vista
Location: Surry, England

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby Jennings » Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Thanks Steve, I think I'll start with a WS2350 and see how I go.

I understand that the WS2350 has a storage capacity of 175 'data sets' and can record an intervals of 1 minute to 24 hours.

What does this mean in practice? If I set it at say every 10 mins, how many days would the unit store?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26314
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby steve » Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:46 pm

Jennings wrote:I understand that the WS2350 has a storage capacity of 175 'data sets' and can record an intervals of 1 minute to 24 hours.

What does this mean in practice? If I set it at say every 10 mins, how many days would the unit store?

Just over 1 day and 5 hours.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

einzack
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:11 am
Weather Station: WS2355
Operating System: 7
Location: New Zealand

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby einzack » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:29 pm

Jennings wrote:Thanks Steve, I think I'll start with a WS2350 and see how I go.

I understand that the WS2350 has a storage capacity of 175 'data sets' and can record an intervals of 1 minute to 24 hours.

What does this mean in practice? If I set it at say every 10 mins, how many days would the unit store?


this same question confused me when I first got my WS2355 as I didn't run it connected to a computer 24/7.
the station's default is to store a record every hour when not connected to cumulus, which obviously extends the period of storage. I've been away for up to 10 days and it's still been storing data when I have returned.
I believe the only way to adjust the recording interval is by using the supplied "Heavy Weather" software.
No way to do it on the base unit itself or through Cumulus.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26314
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby steve » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:49 pm

einzack wrote:I believe the only way to adjust the recording interval is by using the supplied "Heavy Weather" software.
No way to do it on the base unit itself or through Cumulus.

Yes, I think that's right. I might do a 'stand alone' utility to set the interval, like the one I've done for Fine Offset stations.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

Matt.j5b
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:13 am
Weather Station: La Crosse WS 2306
Operating System: Windows 10 64 Bit
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby Matt.j5b » Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:12 pm

Thats right Steve, it seems it can only be done with the heavyweather software, and can't be done through the base unit.
Regards, Matt of Brisbane, Australia
Ferny Grove Weather
Cumulus MX testing

Dviard
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:44 pm
Weather Station: Ws2800 La crosse
Operating System: W7
Location: France, gourdon

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby Dviard » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:01 pm

I am new on this forum. I am french, so excuses me for my english.

I buy two weeks ago la crosse ws2800. If i understand everinthing here, cumulus can only talk with RS232 : com1

So if i make serial cable mother rs232 / mother usb cumulus will able to talk with La crosse ws 2800 ?

I will build it tomorrow and i will tell you if it runs !

Regards
Dominique

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26314
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby steve » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:51 pm

Dviard wrote:So if i make serial cable mother rs232 / mother usb cumulus will able to talk with La crosse ws 2800 ?
No, Cumulus doesn't work with the WS2800, as stated above.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

AndyH
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:34 am
Weather Station: La Crosse 2350
Operating System: Windows 8
Location: Reigate, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby AndyH » Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:18 pm

steve wrote:Yes, I think that's right. I might do a 'stand alone' utility to set the interval, like the one I've done for Fine Offset stations.


If you could I would be very grateful. When ever I go away I have to connect my weather station to my laptop and run the horrible heavy weather software to change the interval.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26314
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby steve » Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:42 pm

I'm hoping to make the utility work with all of the stations supported by Cumulus, eventually, and I started on making it work with Davis stations, but it's finding the time...
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

Sjaak66
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 7:19 pm
Weather Station: La Crosse WS-2800
Operating System: Windows XP Embedded
Location: Netherlands

Re: La Crosse WS2800

Postby Sjaak66 » Sat Dec 21, 2013 10:39 am

Hi I see this is an old topic but it is possible to use cumulus with the La Crosse WS-2800.
Yes you need a bit od workaround whih can be found on the internet.
I'm using it with Heavyweather file converted by Wuhu to the requeired .dat file for Cumulus.
I know you have to make concessesions but it'll do the job until Cumulus is supporting the
data file from heaveyweather.

I don't know anymore where I found the workaround but I'm willing to share my created files
to do the job if someone needs them


Return to “La Crosse”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests