IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

I strongly advise all users using my server for their web site to make alternative arrangements.

Outgoing mail is disabled because of the malware on the server. No new forum registrations are currently possible, and mail to the forum administrator will not work.

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Sunshine Recorder

For discussion of DIY weather equipment - sensors, accessories, improvements to existing kit etc
User avatar
kocher
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2+
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: San Sebastian - Spain
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby kocher » Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:08 am

I deleted the corresponding files on November 11 and 12 and, in fact, the errors no longer occur.

Thank you very much Ole :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

I take this opportunity to greet Paul
Image

User avatar
kocher
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2+
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: San Sebastian - Spain
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby kocher » Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:11 pm

Now the program works well on my PC.

I deleted data and images on 11 and 12 November

But, the station does not appear in Sun Recorders Worldwide:

http://www.sunrecorder.net/sr-around-the-world/
Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby PaulMy » Mon Nov 20, 2017 5:09 pm

Hi,
My Worlwide shows yours has not been updated since Nov 11 as well (it gets the info from the Sunrecorder site by s/n).
Are the WebToday, Web30Days, Web12Months and similar images being updated on your PC? Does your \System\Monitor\ files show current data? I presume that is the data FTP to B-L server.

I don't see any FTP log in my B-L files so not sure how to tell if the data/images are being FTP continuously. You may need to contact Ole.

I see one sun on the B-L Worlwide with data from a couple days ago which normally would not show, so possibly some issue with the B-L site.

Regards,
Paul

User avatar
kocher
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2+
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: San Sebastian - Spain
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby kocher » Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:40 pm

Saludos Paul

Now I have discovered that the problem has been caused by an alteration in the values of "settings".

Now my station appears on the map and, the graphics too.

I thank you very much for your great help :clap:

Greetings from San Sebastian
Last edited by kocher on Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
kocher
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2+
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: San Sebastian - Spain
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby kocher » Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:31 pm

Greetings to all

Last night, Sun Recorder started doing weird things.
When you start the program, a Microsoft.Net Framework error appears and, after a few seconds, an image appears in which something similar to:

     AHHHHHHHHH ...... :roll:

After that, multiple processes of SunrecorderGraph begin to open.
I have no choice but to close all processes with the Windows task manager

Does anyone know the cause of these errors?
Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby PaulMy » Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:17 pm

Hi,
I do get Microsoft.Net Framework popup to indicate it temporarily couldn't access a file to write to but this message can be closed just by ticking [Continue] and no loss of data, etc. (I can't recall which file it could not access). However, a year or two ago I did get similar to what you describe with multiple popup messages and most of the time I was able to close the popups from the taskbar - depending how long the popups had been popping. But after a program update I haven't seen that behaviour for over a year.

I suggest you contact Ole as he would want to investigate again for a fix.

p.s. not a lot of sunshine showing for today...

Enjoy,
Paul

User avatar
kocher
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2+
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: San Sebastian - Spain
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby kocher » Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:34 pm

Greetings Paul

Thank you very much for your quick and useful reply.

I will try to contact Ole.

Saludos desde San Sebastian

http://donos360.sansebastianturismo.com/
Image

User avatar
kocher
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:57 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2+
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: San Sebastian - Spain
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby kocher » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:05 pm

The problem has been solved thanks to the help of Ole. :D

The cause was caused by a corrupt file, possibly originated in an unexpected restart of the PC (due to unknown causes).
Image

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby PaulMy » Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:47 am

Spent most of the day getting Mark's sunplot script to work again http://www.komokaweather.com/weather/su ... lot-1b.php. Didn't realize until today that it hadn't worked since I updated to cPanel a couple of months ago :oops: . That cPanel update included a new user ID and password which I had forgotten about. The sunplot script for the B-L sunrecorder includes a complex series of tasks, which Mark and likely few others can understand, and which I had forgotten how they all worked together. Glad I had some written notes from the original setup.

Enjoying again,
Paul

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby PaulMy » Sun Jul 29, 2018 5:01 pm

My B-L sunrecorder finally died... but I now do have a VP2 Plus so Cumulus is still recording sunshine. I am importing realtime to my MySQL DB.
I am trying to change Mark's sunplot script to now use the DB instead of the B-L but haven't got it to work again.

B-L script http://www.komokaweather.com/weather/su ... dified.php which was fine when B-L was working
DB script http://www.komokaweather.com/weather/su ... dified.php which gives a
ERROR - Setting time zone - Unknown or incorrect time zone: 'America/Toronto'


The only difference in the scripts is line 60 to set $blEnabled = false;

Any suggestions where I can look for the cause?

Thanks,
Paul

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5195
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby mcrossley » Sun Jul 29, 2018 7:18 pm

Hi Paul, in on my phone at the mo, I'll take a look tomorrow. But it sounds like the time zone tables have not been populated in MySQL, you could try using an hour offset instead of a tz name, but you would then have to change it every daylight saving change.

User avatar
Mapantz
Posts: 500
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:55 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 x64 - A beast.
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby Mapantz » Sun Jul 29, 2018 7:22 pm

mcrossley wrote: it sounds like the time zone tables have not been populated in MySQL


That sounds extremely familiar?! :lol:
Image
Image

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5195
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Stretch Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby mcrossley » Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:29 pm

Yep, it's TZ tables missing in MySQL, Tina can tell you all about getting those tables populated ;)

You could try setting your TZ to '-4:00' (think that is correct at the mo?) to test the script works. But ideally you need to get MySQL configured.

User avatar
PaulMy
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:54 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 w/Envoy USB
Operating System: Windows-8
Location: Komoka, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby PaulMy » Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:29 pm

Mapantz wrote:
mcrossley wrote: it sounds like the time zone tables have not been populated in MySQL


That sounds extremely familiar?! :lol:

Hi Tina, would you have any suggestions how to fix?

Thanks,
Paul

droiddk
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Denmark

Re: Sunshine Recorder

Postby droiddk » Thu Aug 02, 2018 9:35 pm

PaulMy wrote:My B-L sunrecorder finally died...
Paul


Sorry to hear that Paul, how did it die? Maybe Ole can fix it?

I had to take down my own Sunrecorder since I lost my access to the installation-site :/ Too bad since I loved the Sunrecorder.

Regards


Return to “Homebuilt”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests