Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Station

For discussion of DIY weather equipment - sensors, accessories, improvements to existing kit etc
User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Station

Postby Werk_AG » Sun Jun 15, 2014 6:17 pm

After more than a year of development, I think is time to share with others the WeatherDuino Pro2 project.

The goal of the WeatherDuino Pro2 project is allowing you to build a full weather station.

The WeatherDuino Pro2 is developed with flexibility in mind.
It's designed to be able to use sensors and measuring instruments widely available in the market, such as rain gauges and anemometers used in popular Fine Offset weather stations, (commonly known as PCE 20, Watson, Maplin and other brands).

Additionally, if you have a RF rain gauge from an old or unused Auriol H13726 or Ventus W155 Weather Station you can use it with WeatherDuino Pro2, the RX unit will be able to receive data from it.

Supports the use of ordinary DHT22 temperature and humidity sensors, but also the most accurate SHT2x or SHT1x from Sensirion.

Supports custum made Solar Radiation and UV Sensors.

It's compatible with Cumulus by emulating a Davis VP, or via easyweather.dat

To see more info and constant updates, please visit the support pages of this project at: http://www.meteocercal.info/forum/Forum ... Duino-Pro2

Note: Because I'm just starting to share this project, available info is not yet complete.
Last edited by Werk_AG on Thu May 19, 2016 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
marfanuk
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:27 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Raspbian on the Raspberry Pi 2
Location: Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby marfanuk » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:27 am

Looks interesting. I might give it a try at some point. ;)
Image
http://www.nantwich-weather.co.uk - Cumulus MX beta running on the Raspberry Pi 2

Darren

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby Werk_AG » Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:23 pm

Thank you. Any question, please use our support forum.
Last edited by Werk_AG on Sun Aug 10, 2014 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby Werk_AG » Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:52 pm

The first public release of WeatherDuino Pro2 software is now available to download.

Thank you for reading.
Last edited by Werk_AG on Thu May 19, 2016 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

tumutbound
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 11:03 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Linux, Raspberry Pi (Wheezy)
Location: Port Huon, Tasmania , Australia
Contact:

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby tumutbound » Sat Jul 05, 2014 5:18 am

If it didn't require a login, I might have downloaded a copy.
My weather
CumulusMX (3036)
Raspberry Pi: Wheezy
FineOffset WH1081

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby Werk_AG » Mon Jul 07, 2014 1:06 am

My apologies to you for that little inconvenience. Perhaps sometime latter I will provide a download link.
Image

uncle_bob
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:58 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: 2008
Location: Canberra

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby uncle_bob » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:07 pm

Cool Werk! My latest weather station has issues and I was just thinking the other day that I may look into building one, as I'm sick to death of all the problems the La Crosse and Fine Offset have.

I'd love to get a Davis, but the cost is prohibitive in the chief of finances eyes.

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby Werk_AG » Wed Jul 09, 2014 1:42 am

Building an WeatherDuino Pro2 system is really easy, cheap and fun. You can even reuse some of your Fine Offset equipment, like anemoter, vane and rain gauge.

Are they like the ones in image below?

Image

If at any time you decide to build an WeatherDuino Pro2 system count on me to help.
Image

uncle_bob
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:58 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: 2008
Location: Canberra

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby uncle_bob » Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:03 am

Werk_AG wrote:
Are they like the ones in image below?



Exactly, but unfortunately the cups have completely disappeared from my anemometer . I think a bird flew off with it.

Can you use La Crosse parts?

Werk_AG wrote:
If at any time you decide to build an WeatherDuino Pro2 system count on me to help.


Werk, I think I'm going to take you up on that offer as I don't know where to start :)

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby Werk_AG » Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:17 pm

At least you have the vane and rain gauge to start...

Theoretically, you can use any anemometer or rain gauge that uses a reed switch, but you have to know its specifications: Wind factor, rain factor.
I do not know the characteristics of La Crosse parts, so it will be very difficult for me to help you with those parts.

If the bird will not return your anemometer cups :D, a new one from Fine Offset not cost you more than 15 Euros, I think!
Image

uncle_bob
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:58 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: 2008
Location: Canberra

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby uncle_bob » Fri Jul 11, 2014 1:34 am

If you start selling them, maybe you could use the name "Kraftwerk" ;)

AllyCat
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset 1080/1 & 3080
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: SE London

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby AllyCat » Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:19 am

Hi,

Werk_AG wrote:If the bird will not return your anemometer cups :D, a new one from Fine Offset not cost you more than 15 Euros, I think!

Yes, at least in the UK, the replacement anemometers are so cheap (£2.50) that one doesn't even consider repairing them (except perhaps the reed switch at 50p).

However, the cups do appear to be exactly the same size as a half ping-pong (table tennis) ball*, so you could try these if spares are not easily/cheaply available. But I guess they would need plenty of coats of "paint" to survive long-term daylight (particularly Australian). *I wonder if FO were "lazy" when building their prototypes. ;)

Alternatively, note that the FO anemometer generates two pulses per revolution (but appears to have an unusually low "anemometer factor"), if you are substituting a La Crosse part.

Cheers, Alan.

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby Werk_AG » Mon Jul 14, 2014 5:25 pm

AllyCat wrote:Alternatively, note that the FO anemometer generates two pulses per revolution (but appears to have an unusually low "anemometer factor"), if you are substituting a La Crosse part.


Some time ago I read a discussion on this matter. Not intend to open a new discussion about this, and I also do not know if the FO has more than one type of anemometer. I am convinced that all the units I have used, produce one pulse per revolution.

According to this datasheet, the wind factor is 1.492 MPH.

The WeatherDuino Pro2 wind readings are based on the routines published here.
By how these routines work, no matter if the anemometer produces one or two pulses per revolution, the only thing you need to know is the value of the wind factor (wind speed per each pulse per second) for a given anemometer.
Image

AllyCat
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset 1080/1 & 3080
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: SE London

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby AllyCat » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:10 pm

Hi,

AFAIK the Fine Offset Anemometers are all the same: They use a magnetic reed switch which closes when the magnet passes either end of the reed switch. There's a picture about half way down the page (2) of this thread.

But don't take my word for it, see Gina's post here.

Yes, the data sheet is correct, 1 pulse for 1.5 mph (26.4 inches per second) or 2.4 km/hr (66.7 cm/sec). However, the circumference is about 50 cms (radius of arms 8 cms) which (for one pulse / rev.) would imply an anemometer factor of 1.33. However it is normally between 2 and 3+, see Wikipedia Cup Anemometers , so a pulse must occur each half turn.:

"When Robinson first designed his anemometer, he asserted that the cups moved one-third of the speed of the wind, unaffected by the cup size or arm length. This was apparently confirmed by some early independent experiments, but it was incorrect. Instead, the ratio of the speed of the wind and that of the cups, the anemometer factor, depends on the dimensions of the cups and arms, and may have a value between two and a little over three..."

BTW, I've modified a few FO anemometers so that the two pulses are generated "asymmetrically". Then, if a small "tab" is attached to one of the cups, it's possible to determine also the direction of the wind without an additional "vane" (the tab speeds the rotation when moving "downwind" and slows in a "headwind") ! ;)

Cheers, Alan.

User avatar
Werk_AG
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:04 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Cercal CDV - Portugal

Re: WeatherDuino Pro2 - Build yourself a full Weather Statio

Postby Werk_AG » Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:36 am

I've replaced several broken reed switch on these anemometers, and the design and position of the magnet always led me to think it would just be a pulse per turn, but it is not. You are absolutely right ! They produce TWO pulses per turn.
A simple test with a multimeter was enough to verify this. :bash:

BTW, I've modified a few FO anemometers so that the two pulses are generated "asymmetrically". Then, if a small "tab" is attached to one of the cups, it's possible to determine also the direction of the wind without an additional "vane" (the tab speeds the rotation when moving "downwind" and slows in a "headwind") ! ;)


Interesting! Can you say more about this?

Cheers, Werk_AG
Image


Return to “Homebuilt”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests