Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Problem with rain sensor

For discussion of DIY weather equipment - sensors, accessories, improvements to existing kit etc
AllyCat
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset 1080/1 & 3080
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: SE London

Re: Problem with rain sensor

Postby AllyCat » Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:41 am

Hi,

There are more photos at the top and foot of page 1 of this sticky thread in the Fine Offset section.

Certainly cleaning won't do any harm, but various "electrical" issues are another possibilty, so you may need to be methodical in checking cables, connectors and general functionaility (as described above). A test I sometimes use is to plug the "Wind" cable into the "Rain" socket (or vice versa), which should indicate Lots of rain with just a few turns (or some wind with rapid rocking of the rain gauge). But note the Console display only updates every 48 seconds!

Cheers, Alan.

User avatar
cvsa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:19 am
Weather Station: WH1090 (Chinese stuff)
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Le Havre

Re: Problem with rain sensor

Postby cvsa » Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:58 am

thanks guys :D

User avatar
cvsa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:19 am
Weather Station: WH1090 (Chinese stuff)
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Le Havre

Re: Problem with rain sensor

Postby cvsa » Mon Jul 25, 2016 8:29 am

By the way, what is the use of the "reset" button under the solar pod (near the rain socket) ?

is it a reset for the rain gauge ? do i have to press it ?

AllyCat
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:58 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset 1080/1 & 3080
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: SE London

Re: Problem with rain sensor

Postby AllyCat » Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:11 am

Hi,

It's definitely not a rain reset. The rain signal simply "loops through" the Solar Pod so that the Pod can connect to the transmitter using the "spare" pins on the (now RJ12) Rain socket.

The button probably resets the separate "Solar" microcontroller in the Pod (which encodes and sends its data to the radio transmitter in the T/H/Wind/Rain external module). AFAIK, it's not described when a reset might be required, but note that the Pod can continue to run from its Solar Panel, even when unplugged from the transmitter (or the transmitter battery removed).

Normally, I prefer to remove the battery(s) and cover the sloping PV panel if a Reset or maintenance is required, but maybe the Reset button has the same effect. The two microcontrollers do "communicate" with each other in some way (so that their separate data messages never "collide"), so the Reset button may well reset/affect both of them.

Cheers, Alan.


Return to “Homebuilt”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest