Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 3:42 am
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
Do not allow your PC to go into standby mode while Cumulus is running - read the readme.txt!
If you find Cumulus useful, please consider a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Transmitter on mains power
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 11:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:25 am
Posts: 112
Location: Worsley, Manchester
Weather Station: Fine Offset WH1081
Operating System: Shuttle Xpc SK41, XP Pro SP3
Could the transmitter be ran on mains power via a 3v 80mah adaptor with battery backup if power failure, or is it just easier to stick to AA's.

Regards

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transmitter on mains power
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 9:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:43 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Maghull, nr Liverpool, UK
Weather Station: MyDEL WX2008 Mk2 Fine Offset
Operating System: XP and W7
Hi Jonesey.

no real reason why mains power cant be used but it will give loads of negative issues. eg

cable run, insulation, location of cable, weather proofing and much more.

I used good quality ALKALINE batteries and got 18 months trouble free before changing them while servicing the system.

It seems not worth the effort fixing a psu system unless your going to locate the transmitter somewhere easily unaccessible !

and then you will have all the issues with cables and connections.

Its interesting to note the new units have solar panels fitted.

_________________
Phil - G0DOR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transmitter on mains power
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:41 pm
Posts: 1859
Location: Devon UK
Weather Station: FO WH1081PC (Maplin)
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
I second that. Another point, 3v unregulated supplies will have a much higher low current voltage which could damage the transmitter. A regulated 3v supply would work but again with the possible problems above. Yes, more trouble than it's worth.

_________________
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transmitter on mains power
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 3:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:30 pm
Posts: 418
Location: West Cornwall UK
Weather Station: w8681 BlakeLarsen Sun Recorder
Operating System: Windows 7 SP1
Hi
I have been running mine on a 3V regulated supply for over a year with no problems. I just used two pieces of dowel as battery substitutes with drawing pin contacts on the ends.
Power cuts are the only disadvantage.
Regards
Alan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transmitter on mains power
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 3:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:41 pm
Posts: 1859
Location: Devon UK
Weather Station: FO WH1081PC (Maplin)
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
You could run the 3v PSU off an UPS :lol:

_________________
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transmitter on mains power
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:55 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Brighton, UK
Weather Station: Watson W-8681
Operating System: Vista
Gina wrote:
You could run the 3v PSU off an UPS :lol:


... and with a backup diesel generator to takeover when the UPS battery runs out. :roll:

_________________
Paul

http://www.greatcollegestreet.co.uk -Online
http://www.lehamel.eu - Online

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transmitter on mains power
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:41 pm
Posts: 1859
Location: Devon UK
Weather Station: FO WH1081PC (Maplin)
Operating System: OS X, Linux Mint, Win7 & XP
Synewave wrote:
Gina wrote:
You could run the 3v PSU off an UPS :lol:


... and with a backup diesel generator to takeover when the UPS battery runs out. :roll:
Oh absolutely!

_________________
Gina

Sorry, no banner - weather station out of action. Hoping to be up and running with a new home-made one soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transmitter on mains power
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 8:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:15 am
Posts: 211
Location: Auckland NZ
Weather Station: WH1091
Operating System: Win7
How about fitting NiMH AAs in the usual place? Wouldn't the external supply keep them topped up? Or maybe the combined 2.5v they supply is insufficient to power the transmitter in event of a cut.....

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transmitter on mains power
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:20 am
Posts: 351
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Weather Station: Vantage Pro2 w/ daytime FARS
Operating System: Windows Vista SP2
Jaycar Electronics here in Aus are selling a "AC/DC Transmitter Adaptor for Home Weather Station" (AUD$29.95) with a 6 metre cable. It's for the Fine Offset clone they are selling.

Details here: http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=XC0294

_________________
Dan

http://www.brisbaneliveweather.com




A man with a thermometer always knows the temperature. A man with two thermometers, not so sure.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transmitter on mains power
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:01 pm
Posts: 15
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: XP SP3
UPS............... Diesel generator..............

Have both, but not for the weather station, the UPS and generator are for computer hardware.

Have a Maplin (Fine Offset) 1080. The simplest solution that seems to have worked OK for me over the last 12 months is a regulated DC power supply, and 2 AA batteries in a carrier close to the PSU, with a diode wired in to only allow them to provide power. If the PSU is off for some reason, the batteries take over, and as long as I replace them once in a while, the sender seems to be happy so far. There are no batteries at the transmitter, the wire from the PSU is soldered to the battery tags. Once in a while btw is not at all so far, and we have had power outages, but no problems with the sender dropping out

Reason is that we're in a hollow, so the station is mounted on a pole that's on the chimney of a dormer bungalow, so getting to the sender to replace batteries is a major pain!

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group