If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Discussion and support for 3rd-party (non-Sandaysoft) tools for Cumulus
stimas
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Weather Station: Wt1080
Operating System: Windows7
Location: Norway

Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby stimas » Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:13 am

Hi
I was wondering if Ales could try to explain how this works (or someone else):
To get this widget “Weather Station” to work, you have to have these three files: realtime.txt, realtime.xml and sunbird.txt. So my questions:

1) First of all: where can the files be downloaded from? Latest version.
2) Should these three files only be placed on local computer (i.e.: C:\Cumulus)?
3) Will Cumulus update them or just use them?
4) Is it necessary to modify some of them?
5) Cumulus also generates files of type: *.xmltmp. Why? Perhaps Sandaysoft could answer this?

I also notice that Cumulus doesn’t upload the files to my ftp, only realtime.txt. Any idea why?
I hope someone can answer. I have used so much time figuring how to get this work.

Stimas

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby steve » Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:21 am

stimas wrote:5) Cumulus also generates files of type: *.xmltmp. Why? Perhaps Sandaysoft could answer this?
Because it has to create a file for the 'processed' version (the file with the actual data in). It creates a file with the same name but with "tmp" on the end.
I also notice that Cumulus doesn’t upload the files to my ftp, only realtime.txt. Any idea why?
Have you configured the remote file path correctly? If it is creating the processed 'tmp' file and you have ticked the 'ftp' box, but the file is not appearing on your web site in the place that you expect, then you have almost certainly not put the correct path into the 'remote filename' box.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

stimas
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Weather Station: Wt1080
Operating System: Windows7
Location: Norway

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby stimas » Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:40 am

Hi Steve,
Thanks for your reply!

In "Internt settings" -> "Sites/Options" I have these settings: http://screencast.com/t/9r2cwHDH

And Files (I have created a folder on my FTP server called "cumulus"):
www/cumulus
I also have tried:
public_html/cumulus

stimas

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby steve » Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:52 am

But presumably those settings are OK, as the realtime.txt file is being uploaded correctly? It's the 'files' tab which should have the details of the other files.

I tried to find your realtime.txt on your web site. There's one here from Monday: http://jomarka97.gratiswebhotell.no/realtime.txt

and one here from yesterday: http://jomarka97.gratiswebhotell.no/cumulus/realtime.txt

You have the standard index fiel here - http://jomarka97.gratiswebhotell.no/cumulus/index.htm

With your configuration settings, I'm assuming the ones in 'cumulus' should be up to date, but it isn't, so I don't understand what it is that you're doing. Is it just that you haven't had Cumulus uploading since that last update?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

stimas
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Weather Station: Wt1080
Operating System: Windows7
Location: Norway

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby stimas » Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:59 am

I have to add that the power at my cabin has been lost several time last night and therefore my computer has turned itself off (the power is back, but my computer hasn't turned it self on again). I cannot get it to work until I'm going back.
And because of this, I cannot do some more testing... :?

stimas

stimas
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Weather Station: Wt1080
Operating System: Windows7
Location: Norway

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby stimas » Mon Jan 05, 2015 9:34 am

Hi,
My computer is up and running again.
I can see that the local realtime.txt updates, but not on my FTP server.

stimas

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby steve » Mon Jan 05, 2015 9:47 am

Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

stimas
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Weather Station: Wt1080
Operating System: Windows7
Location: Norway

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby stimas » Mon Jan 05, 2015 9:52 am

Yes, I see that now. But my weather site doesn't update: http://screencast.com/t/c7UpO8TAt9
And the date and time for my realtime.txt on the FTP-server shows an old date: http://screencast.com/t/QLVFjd1B1haq

stimas

stimas
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Weather Station: Wt1080
Operating System: Windows7
Location: Norway

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby stimas » Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:02 am

I think I'm on to something now. It must be where I have sent the files. I'll get back...

stimas

stimas
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Weather Station: Wt1080
Operating System: Windows7
Location: Norway

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby stimas » Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:28 am

Now I get a FTP error (no error code, just "error").
I have created a folder on my FTP server called cumulus. In the Settings, I have done this: http://screencast.com/t/Yky5ZU7gA87L
I'm not sure if this is correct... Should "cumulus" be in both places (Sites AND Files)?


stimas

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26198
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby steve » Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:31 am

You don't need realtime.txt in 'files' at all, you just have to make sure the directory in 'sites' is correct.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

stimas
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Weather Station: Wt1080
Operating System: Windows7
Location: Norway

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby stimas » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:13 am

Yes!!! Now it seems to work!
Thanks a lot Steve!

stimas

stimas
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Weather Station: Wt1080
Operating System: Windows7
Location: Norway

Re: Weather Station and how it suppose to work. Help.

Postby stimas » Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:19 pm

Now the only thing that doesn't work, is sunset and sunrise.
I have tried a lot with the sunbird.txt:

What is the correct "format" of this file locally (C:\Cumulus>)?
a) <#longitude>|<#latitude>|<#sunrise>|<#sunset>|<#update>|<#location>
b) E&nbsp;07&deg;&nbsp;05&#39;&nbsp;18&quot;|N&nbsp;62&deg;&nbsp;20&#39;&nbsp;02&quot;|07:44|18:56|03.10.2014 10:26:16|Ekrelia

I have tried both, but no luck.
Do I have to transfer this file with a FTP Client as well?
Is there any connection between Realtime.xml, Realtime.txt and Sunbird.txt?

I also have put this in Internet Settings -> Files: http://screencast.com/t/pdfBz84NOwWY

Can someone tell me how I should do this? Thanks.

stimas


Return to “3rd Party Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest