If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Discussion and support for 3rd-party (non-Sandaysoft) tools for Cumulus
thekow
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:39 am
Weather Station: w1080
Operating System: Virtualbox XP environment
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby thekow » Sat Dec 15, 2012 12:28 am

Is there a way to Catch up the real time log. As in when the WS goes down for a couple hours and the data is recovered by cumulus it writes a new trends.log for the last X amount of hours?

BCJKiwi
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby BCJKiwi » Sat Dec 15, 2012 1:09 am

Unfortunately not.
'realtime' is considerd to be ephemeral in nature and Steve advises;
Cumulus runs a timer which fires once a minute, when the clock minute changes; it performs various actions at this point. If the current minute on the clock is a multiple of the log interval, it writes to the log file. Realtime.txt creating is done based on completely separate timer which fires at the configured interval. The data written to the realtime.txt file is taken from data stored in memory, as with the web tags.
So the realtime file is built from memory and is overwritten each time it is updated.

This I believe is the primary reason for this Realtime Gadget (and other code like it) - to enable the capture of realtime data and log it separately.

The catchup data is retrieved from the logger (at 5, 10 minute intervals or what ever you have set in Cumulus) whereas the realtime data is (in my case, a 15 second interval) from the live data in the station, not from the logger.

The creation of realtime.txt is based on the clock in the computer Cumulus runs in (at the realtime interval) and not on the 'catchup data'. Thus these interim realtime files never exist.

User avatar
MickinMoulden
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:12 pm
Weather Station: WS-1081 with rain gauge mod
Operating System: Windows 7 & 1.9.3 b1059
Location: Palmerston, NT, Australia
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby MickinMoulden » Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:56 am

pgils wrote:Hi
I love the gadget here - better than the one built into Vista.
I am new to Cumulus and have just downloaded the Gadget, and can see it takes data from: http://ibtest.dk/cumulus/realtime.txt

As i haven't come so far as to have any website - how do i define my own realtime.txt to have the values i need ??

The one i am using now shows wind as m/s and i'd like to change to km/h

Thanks for a good gadget

Check your Cumulus file for the realtime.txt file there and and put in C:\Cumulus\realtime.txt . If it isn't there then you need to open the Cumulus program and go to Configuration/internet settings and tick the "Enable Realtime" check box. It will then save a copy of the realtime.txt in your Cumulus folder for the gadget to find. No website neccessary. But I don't see the point in that, but there's your answer. But as I'm only up to page 13 from Dec 2012 in the forum, you've probably got an answer or a website ages ago hahahaha.
Michael, Palmerston, NT Australia www.Palmerston-WeatherImageNo image? I'm offline!
ImageImage

User avatar
MickinMoulden
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:12 pm
Weather Station: WS-1081 with rain gauge mod
Operating System: Windows 7 & 1.9.3 b1059
Location: Palmerston, NT, Australia
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby MickinMoulden » Sat Feb 09, 2013 6:15 am

ivestfold wrote:Hi there. I really would like to have this as well.. I have downloaded the zip folder, and renamed it to "cumulusih.gadget". It's still looking like a zip folder though... Anyway, when I double click on it, nothing happens..
Are anyone able to spell it out for me? Sorry for this... :oops:

BR

Ingve


In windows 7, click on the link, it will display a box to open or save/save as. Click Save as, and save on your desktop AND rename it before you save it as "cumulusih.gadget" and it will save it as a gadget file straight onto the desktop.
Michael, Palmerston, NT Australia www.Palmerston-WeatherImageNo image? I'm offline!
ImageImage

User avatar
gluepack
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:20 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby gluepack » Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:09 pm

Thanks dane for a very handy little gadget.

Always nice to get something that works out of the box and does what it says it will.

Sure, I'd like to see the location of the pws displayed as opposed to the location of the data file but.....it's great.

Out of interest, having never used gadgets before and, having added it to my Win 7 laptop, when searching to find out why I couldn't add it to my Win 8 desktop system, I discovered the following comments, on a website where they help you get them back....

Unfortunately, Desktop gadgets were not welcomed on Windows 8. Microsoft believes that Gadgets no longer makes sense with the introduction of tiles in Windows 8. In addition to that, Gadgets can pose a security risk to users. In July 2012, Microsoft released a security advisory to recommend users to disable Gadgets completely. The official desktop gadget directory has also been retired. This means that Windows Vista and Windows Seven users will no longer be able to install these Desktop Gadgets too.


Anyone created a tile that uses your own pws data?
Last edited by gluepack on Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau

BCJKiwi
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby BCJKiwi » Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:34 pm

The author of this gadget has advised
As stated in the 1st post of this thread:
Quote:

Do not use the local realtime.txt version "for real": the gadget will run fine for a while, but will hang after an unpredictable lapse of time
I can confirm I have this problem in Win7 across the local network so get my data from the website.

User avatar
kronckew
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:59 am
Weather Station: wh1081
Operating System: win10 x64 enterprise
Location: glos. UK

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby kronckew » Sat Sep 14, 2013 11:04 am

hi,

just got my pws, a wh1081, have it set up and working fine in cumulus 1.9.4. i have also created tasks to shut it down gracefully before shutting down the pc, and before it goes to sleep (standby) by my command, and to restart when the pc wakes. this all works fine, surviving a number of shutdown/sleep cycles, reboots, etc. i also joined and now upload to pwsweather, wow (met office), and wunderground.

i like having a weather gadget running on the side of my desktop, tried wow's not available at this time. tried wunderground's, only displays temp. ran across this one familiarizing myself with the forum & cumulus.

i do NOT have a website host i can upload to.

i tried the local realtime.txt approach with the 2.51h gadget downloaded from here. as expected it ran for a while then locked up.

as it has been noted, it does work with a remote server, so i had a brain storm (or a mini-stroke, not sure which) and set up a microsoft skydrive. got cumulus to send the realtime.txt to there.

it works. three days now, thru rain and storm (real and figurative) no lockups. has survived a few shutdowns/restarts/standbys and keeps on ticking.

just for the heck of it, i set up a 'bitcasa infinite drive' on their free file sharing site. it's similar to microsoft's offering. it works too.

microsoft's skydrive aliases to c:\user\user\skydrive and i set up a 'documents' folder to hold realtime.txt there.
bitcasa's aliases to a dummy I:\ drive, set up a 'crtfiles' folder there to hold the realtime file as well.

the gadget works with either c:\user\user\skydrive\realtime.txt or I:\crtfiles\realtime.txt in the gadget setup
CAVE CANEM RADIX LECTI ET SEMPER PARATUS
Image
------------Real Dogs Have Tattoos!-------------------
Vegetarians: My food poops on your food.

KC2VWR
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:59 pm
Weather Station: WS1080
Operating System: Windows Vista
Location: Kempston Rural

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby KC2VWR » Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:18 am

Downloaded the cumulusih.zip and tried to renamed it to cumulusih.gadget with no success still shows as a zip file.........

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26193
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby steve » Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:32 pm

If it still shows as a zip file, then it probably still is a zip file, and you probably have file extensions hidden (so the file is now called cumulusih.gadget.zip). If you turn on display of known file extensions, renaming files will be much easier. See http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows/show-hide-file-name-extensions#show-hide-file-name-extensions=windows-vista
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

hala
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 7:17 pm
Weather Station: Oregon WMR200
Operating System: Windows 7 SP1
Location: Sweden

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby hala » Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:55 am

Hello.

Is it passible to have this gadget for 64bit windows? I can only get this work in the 32 bit version of windows 7.
/Hakan

hala
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 7:17 pm
Weather Station: Oregon WMR200
Operating System: Windows 7 SP1
Location: Sweden

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby hala » Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:53 pm

It was possible to install under win7 64 bit. Needed to the installation manual by copying the file into the gadget directory. So I am happy again :)

BCJKiwi
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:40 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 Cabled with Solar
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby BCJKiwi » Sun Dec 28, 2014 7:43 pm

Made a small addition to this script.
I decided a sound warning as well as the text change to advise that the gadget was not seeing updates of realtime.txt might be useful.

so in cumulusih.gadget\js\gadget.js,
in function displayData(realtime)
{ .........

....
if ((oldhour) == time)
{
if (count < maxcount) count = count + 1;
else site = "<span style='color:#ff0000'>NB: not updating....</span>"; //color red
System.Sound.beep()
}

User avatar
gluepack
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:20 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby gluepack » Sun Aug 16, 2015 1:48 pm

I know they stopped gadgets in 8 but there are 3rd party products available to enable them.
I have it running in Windows 10.
However (and not having done any research), has this been converted to an app tile or is there a similar app tile that uses my weather station data that I could use?
Image

PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau

User avatar
dane
Posts: 408
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 2:15 pm
Weather Station: Rosenborg 68700
Operating System: Win10 Ult., 64-bit, RaspberryPi
Location: Gilleleje, Denmark

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby dane » Sun Aug 16, 2015 1:57 pm

gluepack wrote:I know they stopped gadgets in 8 but there are 3rd party products available to enable them.
I have it running in Windows 10.
However (and not having done any research), has this been converted to an app tile or is there a similar app tile that uses my weather station data that I could use?

Haven't done any research, either - but am running the gadget on Windows 10 with no problems, using http://8gadgetpack.net/
Ib

User avatar
gluepack
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:20 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

Re: Cumulus Realtime Gadget

Postby gluepack » Sun Aug 16, 2015 1:59 pm

Yes, I am using http://gadgetsrevived.com with no problems, so far.
Image

PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau


Return to “3rd Party Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests