Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Weather Station for Android

Discussion and support for 3rd-party (non-Sandaysoft) tools for Cumulus
LillypillyWeather
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:45 am
Weather Station: Digitech xc-0348
Operating System: Windows Server 2008 R2
Location: Kallangur, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby LillypillyWeather » Sun May 12, 2013 12:26 pm

Thank you so much Steve...you are a life saver. always given me great help. all working now.

thank you again

Greg

User avatar
gluepack
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:20 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Win 7 Pro
Location: Zlatina, Bulgaria

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby gluepack » Sun May 12, 2013 12:53 pm

Well, it worked first time under Android Jellybean on a Nexus 7.

I don't have the Sunbird.txt file as that was supposedly to be done away with according to 1st page of this thread. What is it required for and where do you get it from (if it is needed)?
Image

PWS links: WundergroundIVARNAPR3CWOP/APRSE(W)2048PWSWeatherZLATINABGAwekas10631Twitter@Zlatina_weather
Station type: PCE-FWS 20…Webcam link: View south to edge of Provadisko plateau

User avatar
ronalddevos
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:21 am
Weather Station: Freetec (Fine Offset WH1080)
Operating System: Windows 7/2003/2011
Location: Moutiers, Savoie, France
Contact:

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby ronalddevos » Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:22 pm

Ales,
Trying to get the app to work. However, it does not go beyond "Waiting for data...." etc.
All files are there - you can find them http://www.elzorro.eu/weather/realtime.xml (and .txt).
Running on Galaxy Tab w. Android 4.0.4
Any suggestions?
Kindest, Ronald
Last edited by ronalddevos on Sun Jun 23, 2013 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Gordon-Loomberah
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:51 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + Solar and UV
Operating System: Windows 7 32bit
Location: Loomberah, Australia
Contact:

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby Gordon-Loomberah » Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:33 pm

With the latest update (3.1) I continually get Weather Station has stopped messages- always when I am not actually using it. It has happened dozens of times when using firefox, and also viewing photos in Gallery, or when using the camera. I've reported it a few times, but usually just dismiss the error with "OK".
Loomberah Weather: http://gunagulla.com

Jakecat
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 9:12 pm
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: W7
Location: Bradfield

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby Jakecat » Sat Jun 22, 2013 9:18 pm

ronalddevos wrote:Ales,
Trying to get the app to work. However, it does not go beyond "Waiting for data...." etc.
All files are there - you can find them http://www.elzorro.eu/weather/realtime.xml (and .txt).
Running on Galaxy Tab w. Android 4.0.4
Any suggestions?
Kindest, Ronald


Same here

User avatar
ronalddevos
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:21 am
Weather Station: Freetec (Fine Offset WH1080)
Operating System: Windows 7/2003/2011
Location: Moutiers, Savoie, France
Contact:

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby ronalddevos » Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:52 am

Jakecat wrote:
ronalddevos wrote:Ales,
Trying to get the app to work. However, it does not go beyond "Waiting for data...." etc.
All files are there - you can find them http://www.elzorro.eu/weather/realtime.xml (and .txt).
Running on Galaxy Tab w. Android 4.0.4
Any suggestions?
Kindest, Ronald


Same here


It would appear that you need to ignore the app after filling in the URL and look at the widget (as opposed to the app). It works now.
@Ales, maybe a small documentation update??

kapo
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 1:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Vihtavuori, Laukaa, Finland

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby kapo » Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:15 am

Hi
My app works fine, almoust. there is one small thing that bothers me a little bit: When the weather text is in two rows, the second row's text appears only half in height direction, for example: max High pressure, Max Windspeed etc.. screenshot attached... Is there any way to correct that? It works normally in these settings, but it should be nicer if that text appears whole ... And the phone is Samsung Galaxy S4.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Hyrules
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:55 am
Weather Station: WMR-968
Operating System: Win 7 x64 , W. Srv : Windows XP
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby Hyrules » Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:49 pm

Working fine on Google Nexus 10 but it could make better use of the big screen (landscape) in fullscreen application. One thing that would be interesting is the option to auto refresh the full screen application every x amount of time like the widget. When there is a severe thunderstorm i like to monitor my station and a refresh ASAP is interesting.
---------------------------------------------
Computer Technician
Amateur Astronomer
Storm Chaser
---------------------------------------------

nossis
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:12 am
Weather Station: Station closed
Operating System: none at present
Location: No fixed Address

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby nossis » Fri Jul 26, 2013 11:52 pm

Firstly Kudos to those involved in this project. Great work!
Widget working fine for me on HTC one. Alas the app isn't. I also get the "Waiting for data". No matter what i do it just wont go further

Would love to have the app work as well...

XML file location here
http://members.iinet.net.au/~nossis/wea ... altime.xml

Am I missing something obvious perhaps?

Barry
Barry
Station Closed (Travelling around Australia)

nossis
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:12 am
Weather Station: Station closed
Operating System: none at present
Location: No fixed Address

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby nossis » Sun Jul 28, 2013 6:07 am

Well scratch my previous post as i figured it out....
Not sure where I got my xml file from :bash: ... but using the one as found here. (earlier in this thread)

download/file.php?id=8197
It sprung into life...

So that is now a confirmation that is does work on a HTC one Andoid ver 4.1, both widget and app :D Yippey!!!

Barry
Barry
Station Closed (Travelling around Australia)

nossis
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:12 am
Weather Station: Station closed
Operating System: none at present
Location: No fixed Address

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby nossis » Sun Jul 28, 2013 7:11 am

Now that I have it working and I note it uses webtags..... this got me thinking...
So I wonder if i can modify the displayed data in the app, by modifying webtag in the XML file??? Yes you can... Cool

It was at this point I just chanced across a mistake made in the XML file
The webtag for the line "today_rainfall" and "today_hour_rainfall" had been swapped in the XML file for what it should be.
So if you swap those webtags around it will then display correctly, line 73 and 76 in the XML file.

Hope this helps out....

Barry
Barry
Station Closed (Travelling around Australia)

bnwrx
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:01 am
Weather Station: Ambient WS2095 (Fine/Offset)
Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
Location: Woodland Park, Colorado USA
Contact:

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby bnwrx » Mon Sep 01, 2014 11:46 pm

Pulling up an old thread......
I just got a new smartphone and am trying this app....Had trouble getting it to work, but finally did, only it shows just the "Current data". The Today,Yesterday and Record fields are blank even though the data is supplied in the xml page:

http://woodlandweather.org/realtime.xml

Any ideas why?

Thanks!

uncle_bob
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:58 pm
Weather Station: WeatherDuino Pro2
Operating System: 2008
Location: Canberra

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby uncle_bob » Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:43 am

That picture above above, could possibly be seen from orbit :)

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26314
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby steve » Tue Sep 02, 2014 11:03 am

uncle_bob wrote:That picture above above, could possibly be seen from orbit :)
I've taken the liberty of resizing it a bit ;)
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

WoodburyMan
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:02 am
Weather Station: Ambient Weather WS-2095
Operating System: RaspberryPi Model B 3.0
Location: Woodbury, Connecticut, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Weather Station for Android

Postby WoodburyMan » Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:32 pm

It's been so long since I set this up originally. I have been using it for a year or two now. I forgot where the original source for realtime.xml was located so I can download it again. Anyone have a link?

I am having an issue with it with CumulusMX. It may be a character encoding problem. The file is in encoded in ISO-8659-15 correctly. However when Cumulus proceses it, it has problems with the Degree symbol.(°).
Example the line:

Code: Select all

<data realtime="temp"><#temp>°</data>

Should be rendered and shown as

Code: Select all

<data realtime="temp">26.6°</data>

However, my realtime.xml file shows up as

Code: Select all

<data realtime="temp">26.6?</data>

Location of my XML file.
http://www.woodburyweather.com/realtime.xml

*EDIT*
I found a work around. In realtime.xml, I changed

Code: Select all

<data realtime="temp"><#temp>°</data>

to

Code: Select all

<data realtime="temp"><#temp><#tempunit></data>

and now get this for output.

Code: Select all

<data realtime="temp">27.0°F</data>

It seems to work correctly. The app now shows the unit which is nice. Might be worth changing in the default realtime.xml
Image
http://www.woodburyweather.com
Running CumuluxMX 3020 on a RaspberryPi Model B 2.0.


Return to “3rd Party Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests