Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Hardware/software/hints and tips/discussion/webcam links etc
User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby MackerelSky » Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:11 pm

I've got a busy weekend of work myself that will probably last into the first of next week, but we'll get you going.

Brad
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

User avatar
Paul C
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:45 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brampton, Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby Paul C » Thu Apr 03, 2014 4:35 pm

I think I may have a few days when I can have a go now

No doubt a few questions

1. the php files - are they stored and work in my computer in my timelapse folder or do I need to upload the php file to my website directory
2. do i need passwords ? - sick of passwords all over the place these days
3. your webpage displaying your images - could you supply the code behind it (Html)

many thanks

Paul

User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby MackerelSky » Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:47 am

Paul C wrote:
1. the php files - are they stored and work in my computer in my timelapse folder or do I need to upload the php file to my website directory
2. do i need passwords ? - sick of passwords all over the place these days
3. your webpage displaying your images - could you supply the code behind it (Html)
Paul


Hey Paul,

I should have some time to help with this over the weekend.

1. As stated in my previous post when I gave you the two scripts, I use them on my server in the directory that my images and videos are loaded into. There are ways to do it from your computer but this is the way I have mine setup

2. The password for each script is in the script.

Code: Select all

<?php
if($_GET['password']!="password")//change this "password" to something else like H2O+Dirt=Mud

You change this part to something else

Code: Select all

<?php
if($_GET['password']!="newpassword")//change this "password" to something else like H2O+Dirt=Mud

Then you access it like

Code: Select all

http://www.bramptonweather.co.uk/directory/picrename.php?password=newpassword

If you try to access it any other way, you should recieve the message that is already in the script.

3. I will be more than happy to share my html with you, not a problem. But what kind of a 'viewer' are you planning on using. This has been discussed previously in this thread and others relating to video viewing. My html is setup using video.js at http://www.videojs.com/ If you choose to use the program, I can help you thru that also as it's just two files to your video directory, two lines in your head tag and the rest is in the html.

Let me know how you make out

Brad
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

User avatar
Paul C
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:45 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brampton, Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby Paul C » Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:34 pm

Hi

I am not sure what type of viewer to use - something everyone can use and see "QuickTimePlayer" ?

Something free though !

I use Dreamweaver 8 for my web pages

User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby MackerelSky » Fri Apr 04, 2014 7:54 pm

Paul C wrote:Hi

I am not sure what type of viewer to use - something everyone can use and see "QuickTimePlayer" ?

Something free though !

I use Dreamweaver 8 for my web pages


Videojs is free...
Do you have a video uploaded to your site somewhere? Could you post a link? or send me a pm

Brad
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

User avatar
Paul C
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:45 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brampton, Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby Paul C » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:02 pm

http://www.bramptonweather.co.uk/timelapse/

just got a few sample videos from last month which I uploaded manually

My free week ran out ! so I had to switch to another computer before I take the plunge and buy the software ;)

User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby MackerelSky » Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:46 am

Paul C wrote:My free week ran out ! so I had to switch to another computer before I take the plunge and buy the software ;)

We're kind of at a standstill then Paul, without pics and vids being uploaded?
I'll be ready when you are.

Brad
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

User avatar
Paul C
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:45 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brampton, Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby Paul C » Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:15 am

Fair point - software purchased now

User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby MackerelSky » Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:53 am

Great, when you get it uploading to your directory, give me a holler.

If you need assistance setting up the software I'll do what I can from here. I would think adding time/temp/rain and wind from weather underground in the setup/weather section would be ideal for ya.

By the way, your new version should have the ability to start the program around sunrise and shut it down around sunset using your latitude and longitude(setup/timelapse options). It works great for me. No fiddling around as the days grow longer now or shorter later in the year. That is unless you have a reason to let the pics and vids continue all night

Brad
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

User avatar
Paul C
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:45 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brampton, Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby Paul C » Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:11 pm

I have managed to upload an image to my website folder, but when does the video upload ?

I cant see a time when this is done ?

is it possible for a change in the software to automatically change the video/movie file name corresponding to the day of the week, then I woulndt need any scripts ?

OR - if I used your webpage that you currently use all the scripts/crons and everything else are all ready in the page. Clearly I am looking for the easiest solution for me.


You will have to bare with me - I am a little slow

(In theory though, if I can do it anyone can dot it )

cheers

User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby MackerelSky » Sat Apr 05, 2014 10:32 pm

Little dark over there eh?

I haven't found a way with the software make a scheme work that changes the name of the video and image to the current day, not what it was made for

I'm running a little short for time this eve., but will be back early in the morning.
Let's see if you have the software uploading to the right directory.

The attachment below is when you click on the tab 'Setup' and then click Schedule & FTP. Then click on 'Show FTP Settings' and the screen should open up on the left hand side as below. Fill in your user,pass,ftp address and folder, timelapse as shown. When you have it filled in correctly, hit 'Test FTP 1' and let the software tell you if it was successful or not. It will try uploading an image.jpg to the folder.

When you get that working, on the right hand side of the screen is the line 'Capture Every 30 Seconds' Change that number to however often you want the software to take a picture and store it to make a movie later. Click 'Upload On' then determine how often you want a new picture uploaded. In the photo I have after every 10 pictures taken, or a new pic uploaded to the website every five minutes. This is where your isp bandwith comes in and how often you want to load a new large pic.

Now below that, you can enter your longitude/latitude so that the picture taking, film making only goes on during the day. Once you enter it in you can click verify and see if your and the software's sunrise/sunset coincide, and the put a check in the box if you want to use that feature.

Anyways Paul, main thing to get working is the image upload to your liking and then we'll move on. Once we get the software doing it's thing it's downhill after that.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

User avatar
Paul C
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:45 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brampton, Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby Paul C » Sun Apr 06, 2014 9:27 am

Yes the video from yesterday has uploaded :D

My Broadband provider decided to change my IP address yesterday and so my settings have can wrong and no images were recorded after 3pm - I have sorted that out this morning and its saving images again correctly.

Ready for next stage I guess :twisted:

User avatar
MackerelSky
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:14 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2 w/FARS
Operating System: Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 x64
Location: Smethport, Pa.
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby MackerelSky » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:22 am

The image I see in the /timelapse directory is from 10:39 your time, or am I looking in the wrong directory?

Anyways, Mike, the developer has sent me a message about an update that will handle our situation thru his software on renaming the movie and I'm going to be testing it later today. It might set you and I back a bit but I appreciate him seeing a want and trying to help.

Let me know where the images are being sent

Brad
Davis VP2/FARS
Cumulus 1.9.4(1092)

McKean Weather
'cause not everyone lives at the airport

Image

User avatar
Paul C
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:45 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 with solar
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Brampton, Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby Paul C » Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:09 am

http://www.bramptonweather.co.uk/timelapse/

yes thats the right place


EDIT - I hadnt got uploading every minute, but it should be now.

Further Edit -images uploading every minute
Latest timelapse uploaded just after midnight

I will be away for a few days now, back online Thursday

cheers

Belmardays
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:58 am
Weather Station: Davis
Operating System: Win7
Location: New Jersey

Re: SebecTec webcam with time-lapse software

Postby Belmardays » Sat Aug 02, 2014 12:11 pm

I love the Sebectec software reminds me of the old webcam32 software, I am using it with a wordpress install and a web image handler plugin so it will pull the latest image, but I wish I could just add a few lines of code so wordpress would refresh because the image pulled is new, it seems the image handler plugin is downgrading the image ..anyone setup on Wordpress using this
My site is belmardays.com
Thanks
bill


Return to “Webcams”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests