Page 1 of 1

Ambient's weather webcam

Posted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:55 pm
by aznetcowboy
I have been looking at the "Ambient Weather Camera" at http://www.ambientweather.com/cams.html. Does anyone have any experience with this camera?

The questions I have are:
    How does the IP WiFi work, quality-wise that is?
    How convenient/Inconvenient is the power connection?
    Does it work okay in nighttime settings?
    How do you mount this camera?

I will be installing it on my roof next to my Davis weather station setup. Thus the main reason for my question. The nearest power for the camera is about 15 feet away. And the router is a little over the 15 feet away. I have a metal pole where my Davis weather station unit is mounted and I would like to mount this camera on that same pole. Will that work? There is plenty of room to mount it.

Thanks for any information you can provide. :D

Re: Ambient's weather webcam

Posted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:05 pm
by duke
This is actually a 're-badged' Foscam camera.

Here's a shot from my 1.3megapixel version.

Re: Ambient's weather webcam

Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:15 pm
by aznetcowboy
How difficult is it to set up this camera to work with the Cumulus/Saratoga setup like my website is using. Is you camera hooked up to your website?

Re: Ambient's weather webcam

Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 9:38 pm
by duke
Just include a link to your uploaded image where you want to display it.
Something like:

Code: Select all

<img src="../webcam/current.jpg" alt="Weather Cam image." style="width:auto; height:auto; max-width:100%;"/>

Re: Ambient's weather webcam

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 4:26 pm
by aznetcowboy
Well, I have the camera here right now, but I am having a devil of a time trying to get it to connect to my Wi-Fi adapter. My PC I use for my Weather Station doesn't have it built in as does my main PC. Guess I will need to spend some time with tech support people. I sure thought it would be much easier to set up. :cry:

Re: Ambient's weather webcam

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 6:12 pm
by water01
"WiFi Adapter"????? If you think you can connect a WiFi camera to computer I think that is unlikely. You will have to connect it to a WiFi Router on a network and allow it to allocate the camera an IP address via DHCP. Once you have found the IP address out you should then be able to access its output.

Re: Ambient's weather webcam

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 10:01 pm
by aznetcowboy
water01 wrote:"WiFi Adapter"????? If you think you can connect a WiFi camera to computer I think that is unlikely. You will have to connect it to a WiFi Router on a network and allow it to allocate the camera an IP address via DHCP. Once you have found the IP address out you should then be able to access its output.

I guess I find this confusing. I have a router to which my main PC and my weather PC are hooked into two of the ports (my security system and the WeatherLink are in the other two ports). In everything I've tried, this Ambient Weather webcam doesn't show up in the wireless connections on the router.

If, as I understand what you said, this camera should show up on the router wireless connections, but it doesn't. I see no sign of it anywhere. Have I (apparently) misunderstood how setting up a webcam should work? :?

Re: Ambient's weather webcam

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:06 am
by duke
Have you made the wireless router search for new devices? Is the wi-fi turned on on the camera? Have you tried to connect and configure the camera with the supplied software?

In theory, this 'should' be easy and straight forward.