Sandaysoft

Support forum for Cumulus weather station software
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:43 am
Please click here before posting. Help me to help you!
Useful Links: Cumulus FAQ • Enhancement requests • Wiki (documentation) • Downloads
Please put your approximate location into your profile • Add your personal web site to the Cumulus user map
Read the Announcements and News section regularly!
If you find Cumulus useful, please consider a donation -

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:24 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Hareskov near Copenhagen
Weather Station: WMR928NX
Operating System: Windows 7
yes I have told Cumulus to process as you can see from the atttached picture, cumulus is loading a file named {temperature}.txttmp to the first folder , local filenames, but nothing to the remote folder :?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Stig

http://www.Hareskovvejr.dk

stig@hareskovvejr.dk

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:24 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Hareskov near Copenhagen
Weather Station: WMR928NX
Operating System: Windows 7
sorry I did not get the {temperature}.txttmp file added , I am getting this mesage "The extension txttmp is not allowed."

_________________
Stig

http://www.Hareskovvejr.dk

stig@hareskovvejr.dk

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 19782
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
It's normally best to zip up files to attach them, so the forum software doesn't get it in the way. But it doesn't matter, I think the txttmp file will look exactly like the other two anyway?

I don't understand this:

Quote:
cumulus is loading a file named {temperature}.txttmp to the first folder , local filenames, but nothing to the remote folder


You're saying it's not creating the {temperature}.txt file at all? But what is the file that you've uploaded?

When I use your temperatureT.txt file as input, and tell Cumulus to produce a {temperature}.txt file, it works fine and creates a file with this content:

Code:
11.3c Regn: 5.6mm Vind: 19.4m/s Tryk: 1008.64hPa


So I don't understand why it doesn't work on your PC. I think there must be a problem with the remote filename; is the full path definitely correct? If so, it may be a permissions problem, or something like that. Unfortunately there are no error messages available if the file creation fails, it just fails silently.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 8:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:24 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Hareskov near Copenhagen
Weather Station: WMR928NX
Operating System: Windows 7
well last night it suddenly showed the data on the pictures, and has worked fine since then :? , I had a couple of times re pasted the file information in cumulus internet settings/files/remote file, but as you can see here the string I first sent you and the string I am using now are identical:

C:\Users\Stig\.yawcam\extravars\{temperature}.txt

C:\Users\Stig\.yawcam\extravars\{temperature}.txt

so I think you are right Steve, it has something to do with permission problems, anyway thank you for your help :)

_________________
Stig

http://www.Hareskovvejr.dk

stig@hareskovvejr.dk

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 8:28 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Posts: 19782
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Windows Home Server 2011
OK; glad it's working now, even if we couldn't explain what the problem was.

_________________
Steve
Sanday Weather
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 10:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:34 pm
Posts: 1050
Location: Anglesey, North Wales, UK
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows XP
Apologies for digging up an old post, but this is where i gained my info from so it follows suit

I have done EXACTLY to the letter what it says, in the created file, its showing EVERYTHING correctly, but on the website, its showing =15c


http://www.h-i-r.org.uk/weather/webcam.php


whereas it should show temp, press, rain etc as shown on the previous page here

_________________
Rob,
Dyffryn History on WU Dyffryn on Twitter Dyffryn on WOW
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 10:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:34 pm
Posts: 1050
Location: Anglesey, North Wales, UK
Weather Station: Fine Offset
Operating System: Windows XP
oh, and here are the files, pre & post process


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Rob,
Dyffryn History on WU Dyffryn on Twitter Dyffryn on WOW
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:42 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Folkestone, Kent, UK
Weather Station: Maplins N96GY (Watson W-8681)
Operating System: Windows 7 Home
Thanks for the details posted on this thread.

I saw there was an option in YAWCam to add variables, but didn't know where to start....but thanks to the details here I have successfully managed to get it working as can be seen here on my webpage: http://www.ironeagleuk.co.uk/cumulus/webcam.htm

_________________
Richard

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:04 am
Posts: 158
Location: Essex
Weather Station: Oregon WRM200 and Davis VP1
Operating System: W7
Another one who would like to say thanks for the infromation on this Thread....
And thanks to ironeagleuk for pointing me to it.

I've been stuggling to get the files to process with the data, but now all looking good.

http://www.cm2weather.co.uk/webcam.htm

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:56 am
Posts: 12
Location: United States
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Win7
Hello,

I've been trying to use this ifo to create a .txt file contained the temp and wind speed, etc. Obviously I am missing something fundamental.

I have created a temperatureT.txt in C:\cumulus and have also created a temperature.txt in the same directory. The temperatureT.txt containes the proper tags fro temp and wind speed.

Then, I have added the temperatureT.txt in the file tab of cumulus as the local file name and temperature.txt as the remote filename. The web update is set to 1 minute. I had expected to see the temperature.txt file updated once per minute with the correct data, but (sigh) it is empty.

Could some kind sould advise what I am doing wrong?

Thanks very much.

Shawn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:42 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Folkestone, Kent, UK
Weather Station: Maplins N96GY (Watson W-8681)
Operating System: Windows 7 Home
ShawnInPaso wrote:
Hello,

I've been trying to use this ifo to create a .txt file contained the temp and wind speed, etc. Obviously I am missing something fundamental.

I have created a temperatureT.txt in C:\cumulus and have also created a temperature.txt in the same directory. The temperatureT.txt containes the proper tags fro temp and wind speed.

Then, I have added the temperatureT.txt in the file tab of cumulus as the local file name and temperature.txt as the remote filename. The web update is set to 1 minute. I had expected to see the temperature.txt file updated once per minute with the correct data, but (sigh) it is empty.

Could some kind sould advise what I am doing wrong?

Thanks very much.

Shawn

In the internet files setup tab, I seem to have the realtime tickbox ticked, which the above screenshot doesn't show....try that and see if it helps

Image

Path and filenames:
Local Filenames: C:\Users\Richard\Documents\temperatureT.txt
Remote Filenames: C:\Users\Richard\.yawcam\extravars\{temperature}.txt

_________________
Richard

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:56 am
Posts: 12
Location: United States
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Win7
Thanks for the advice Richard. The realtime box is checked.

I worked on trying to figure this out all last night and until I saw your message it still confounded me. Then, I looked at the internet"sites/option" page and noticed that the realtime box there was unchecked. About as fast as I could put a checkmark there the problem was solved. Whew.

Thanks again for taking the time to reply.....very much appreciated.

Shawn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:56 am
Posts: 12
Location: United States
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Win7
Sorry - one more note. Here is all I was trying to achieve as shown in the attached (wx data as an image overlay). I am using Blue Iris for video.

Cheers.

Shawn
Paso Robles, Ca.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 1:01 pm
Posts: 159
Location: Australia
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: Windows 7 Pro / Ubuntu
I know this is an old post, but I'm just setting this up now.

mine wont stop displaying +15c, even though the temperature file doesn't even contain that :S

anyone else have/had this problem?

_________________
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tinkering my first webcam!
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 1:01 pm
Posts: 159
Location: Australia
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Operating System: Windows 7 Pro / Ubuntu
Sorry guys... found this in another forum..

In version 0.3.2 the extravars directory you should use is one which is located at C:\Documents and Settings\Username (whatever your username is)\.yawcam\extravars and not the extravars directory in the main program (it used to be the one which was used in older versions but is not any more)

Answered my question, was using the wrong dir :D

_________________
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group