Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Graphs went blank....

Please discuss beta versions of Cumulus 1 here. Note: There are currently no beta versions of Cumulus 1.
User avatar
tomcatuk
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:41 pm
Weather Station: ----> Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate
Location: West London IO91UN

Graphs went blank....

Postby tomcatuk » Sat Aug 03, 2013 11:48 am

I updated a program on my computer, but ended up with an error a missing dll file was advised to update Visual C++ Runtime files which I did and the program works....

When running cumulus I noticed all my graphs had gone blank, and I've no idea why, then it would not start, and the graphs are only showing info from 4am this morning, I only noticed the problem typically 30mins before having to go to work yesterday at 3pm and thought it was all ok, came in this morning in the early hours and it had lost contact with the computer, anyway fired it up again and now seems to be working.

I had copied the backup files over from yesterday morning but was unsure if I had to do the same with the daily ones hoping that this had cured it....
1.9.4 b1082

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Graphs went blank....

Postby steve » Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:16 pm

It's probably nothing to do with the graphs themselves, it will be missing data. It was probably unable to download data for a period.

If you copied some but not all of the backup files, that's likely to make things worse; you have to copy them all from a known good start point (i.e. before you started having problems with your computer), and then start Cumulus.

If you zip up the diags folder and attach it, I'll see if I can see anything; but having copied some of the backup files it may be difficult to work out what was going on.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
tomcatuk
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:41 pm
Weather Station: ----> Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate
Location: West London IO91UN

Re: Graphs went blank....

Postby tomcatuk » Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:30 pm

Hi Steve, yes sorry I never realised about the daily files, as they all have a daily date stamp for 00:00and the others are dated differently so never copied those over... is there a procedure for copying them over?
Diags included.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Graphs went blank....

Postby steve » Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:45 pm

tomcatuk wrote:Hi Steve, yes sorry I never realised about the daily files, as they all have a daily date stamp for 00:00and the others are dated differently so never copied those over... is there a procedure for copying them over?
Sorry, I misunderstood. The daily backup files are just an alternative to the startup backup files. They exist so you always have a recent backup if you don't restart Cumulus very often. You choose either a daily backup or a startup backup and copy all of the files from the folder into the data folder.

Contact was lost to the station just after midnight:

03/08/2013 00:02:19.541 : VP2: LoadCurrentVantageData_V, error = -32701
03/08/2013 00:02:33.963 : VP2: LoadCurrentVantageData_V, error = -32701
03/08/2013 00:02:48.385 : VP2: LoadCurrentVantageData_V, error = -32701
03/08/2013 00:03:02.807 : VP2: LoadCurrentVantageData_V, error = -32701
03/08/2013 00:03:39.885 : VP2: LoadCurrentVantageData_V, error = -32701
03/08/2013 00:03:54.322 : VP2: LoadCurrentVantageData_V, error = -32701
03/08/2013 00:04:00.838 : *** Data input appears to have stopped, restarting

You have 'restart if data stops' set, so it restarted. It was still unable to talk to the station after the restart (not really surprising), and it looks like you closed it and restarted it at about 0340. It successfully downloaded all of the missing data from midnight and carried on. I'd have expected it to do this anyway without any intervention. I can't see any problems other than the initial communication problem.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
tomcatuk
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:41 pm
Weather Station: ----> Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate
Location: West London IO91UN

Re: Graphs went blank....

Postby tomcatuk » Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:49 pm

Ok Steve, well thanks for taking a look....

User avatar
tomcatuk
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:41 pm
Weather Station: ----> Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate
Location: West London IO91UN

Re: Graphs went blank....

Postby tomcatuk » Sat Aug 03, 2013 1:04 pm

Hi Steve, this is weird... just restarted Cumulus again and seems to take forever to download data and my graph files have been wiped again so not sure what's going on.... I'll just leave it running and see what happens today.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Graphs went blank....

Postby steve » Sat Aug 03, 2013 1:14 pm

You just stopped it and started it again immediately, without doing anything else? This can sometimes provoke the station into sending the entire contents of the logger, which causes a slow startup, but Cumulus copes with this.

If you attach the diags files again, I'll take a look. Can you also attach your August log file, please.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
tomcatuk
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:41 pm
Weather Station: ----> Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate
Location: West London IO91UN

Re: Graphs went blank....

Postby tomcatuk » Sat Aug 03, 2013 1:31 pm

Hi Steve try this.... and yes shut it down and then restarted.
Edit, Steve I just looked at the August Log, the top entries??
What happened there a future date, how on earth has that got there??
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26247
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Graphs went blank....

Postby steve » Sat Aug 03, 2013 1:39 pm

The slow startup was because the station sent the entire contents of the logger.

The graphs problem is because you have some spurious entries at the start of your August log file:

30/08/13,11:35,23.9,73,18.8,1.0,4.0,90,2.8,7.1,1012.80,331.0,28.4,50,4.0,23.9,23.9,0.0,0,0.00,0.00,26.7,673,0.0,90,0.0,7.1
30/08/13,11:40,23.6,77,19.3,0.0,4.0,0,8.6,7.6,1013.08,331.5,28.6,53,1.0,23.6,23.6,0.0,0,0.00,0.00,26.9,679,0.0,90,0.0,7.6
30/08/13,11:45,23.1,80,19.5,0.0,1.0,0,86.1,10.2,1013.24,334.0,28.6,53,0.0,23.1,23.1,0.0,0,0.00,0.00,26.6,685,0.0,0,0.0,10.2
30/08/13,11:50,22.6,83,19.6,0.0,0.0,0,17.3,10.4,1013.14,334.3,28.4,54,0.0,22.6,22.6,0.0,0,0.00,0.00,26.1,691,0.0,0,0.0,10.4
30/08/13,11:55,22.4,84,19.6,0.0,1.0,0,1.8,10.4,1013.38,334.3,28.3,56,1.0,22.4,22.4,0.0,0,0.00,0.00,26.0,696,0.0,90,0.0,10.4
30/08/13,12:00,22.2,86,19.8,0.0,1.0,0,1.8,10.7,1013.08,334.5,28.3,57,1.0,22.2,22.2,0.0,0,0.00,0.00,25.8,701,0.0,270,0.0,10.7
01/08/13,00:00,19.3,87,17.1,0.0,2.0,0,0.0,0.0,1013.89,383.3,24.0,61,0.0,19.3,19.3,0.0,0,0.00,0.00,21.7,0,0.0,0,0.0,0.0
01/08/13,00:05,19.2,87,17.0,0.0,4.0,0,0.0,0.0,1013.82,383.3,24.0,61,0.0,19.2,19.2,0.0,0,0.00,0.00,21.6,0,0.0,0,0.0,0.0
01/08/13,00:10,19.2,87,17.0,0.0,4.0,0,0.0,0.0,1013.79,383.3,24.1,61,0.0,19.2,19.2,0.0,0,0.00,0.00,21.6,0,0.0,0,0.0,0.0

The most likely cause is that the clock on your PC was wrong at some point in the past (it could have happened at any time, not necessarily recently). You need to stop Cumulus and remove those first six lines from the file.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
tomcatuk
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:41 pm
Weather Station: ----> Davis Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate
Location: West London IO91UN

Re: Graphs went blank....

Postby tomcatuk » Sat Aug 03, 2013 1:45 pm

Steve, done that, started up in a matter of seconds and the graphs are back... thanks you and enjoy your weekend....


Return to “Cumulus 1 BETA versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests