IMPORTANT! The server may go down soon - possibly permanently. Please read the latest post in Announcements and News

I strongly advise all users using my server for their web site to make alternative arrangements.

Outgoing mail is disabled because of the malware on the server. No new forum registrations are currently possible, and mail to the forum administrator will not work.

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Average speed graph values are integers only

Please discuss beta versions of Cumulus 1 here. Note: There are currently no beta versions of Cumulus 1.
freddie
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
Location: Ystrad, Rhondda, Wales
Contact:

Average speed graph values are integers only

Postby freddie » Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:09 am

I have a Davis VP2 set to log at 1 minute interval. Cumulus has the same logging interval. I don't have "Calculate 10 min wind average" set, so I assume the value is passed through as an integer. Is this the case? I ask, because the wind speed graph always looks very "artificial".
Freddie
Image

freddie
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
Location: Ystrad, Rhondda, Wales
Contact:

Re: Average speed graph values are integers only

Postby freddie » Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:13 am

Having posted the above, I just saw an average speed of 14.9 knots on the Cumulus display, so I assume the values aren't being passed as integers, and some rounding is occurring in Cumulus?
Freddie
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26700
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Average speed graph values are integers only

Postby steve » Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:15 am

Yes, Davis stations supply wind speeds to whole numbers of mph. The Davis DLL does any required conversions to other units; I'm not sure whether it rounds those.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job


Return to “Cumulus 1 BETA versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests