Page 1 of 2

Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:50 am
by liddelljs
Hi All,
Wondering if anyone can point me to a good step by step guide to setting up the hover charts for the steel series gauges on MX for a complete novice. I've done a bit of searching on the forum and have found a few related posts but nothing that seems to describe the process from scratch.

Cheers
Steve

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 1:06 pm
by mcrossley
Steve, sorry this post slipped off my radar.

There aren't any specific instructions that have been written up as far as I know. I suggest you read this thread which should tell you what you need to know. If you have any questions after that come back and I'll attempt to help you out.

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 1:05 am
by liddelljs
Thanks for the response Mark. Did you mean to add a link to a thread? I don't think it made it into the post.

Cheers
Steve

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:18 pm
by mcrossley
I did mean to add a link. I'm away on holiday at the moment using my phone. But if you search for "CumulusMX server side graphs" I think you should find it.

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:19 pm
by gwheelo
Me too - need some help with MX popup gauge images. Perhaps if you describe the process of the gauges page fetching the images via the JSON data I can work out the files and directories on my own. In other words the working steps from the gauges js code through the JSON, cache, and jpgraphs directories. For me, as usual, this will be a learning exercise.

gwheelo

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:17 pm
by gwheelo
Still trying to configure SS pop-up gauge graphs on my gauge page.

File structure is:

JSON data upload goes to: wheelocknet.net/cumulus/
JSON scripts are in: wheelocknet.net/images/JSON/
jpgraph files are in: wheelocknet.net/images/jpgraph/
cache dir is: wheelocknet.net/images/cache/
.htacess is located in: wheelocknet.net/cumulus/

Now what do I use for paths in:
gauges_ss.js
graphSettings.php
jpg-config.inc.php

Help please - any push will be most gratefully thanked!

gwheelo :?

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 8:42 am
by mcrossley
gwheelo wrote:Still trying to configure SS pop-up gauge graphs on my gauge page.

File structure is:

JSON data upload goes to: wheelocknet.net/cumulus/
JSON scripts are in: wheelocknet.net/images/JSON/
jpgraph files are in: wheelocknet.net/images/jpgraph/
cache dir is: wheelocknet.net/images/cache/
.htacess is located in: wheelocknet.net/cumulus/

Now what do I use for paths in:
gauges_ss.js
graphSettings.php
jpg-config.inc.php

Help please - any push will be most gratefully thanked!

gwheelo :?


And where is the web page?

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:38 am
by gwheelo
And where is the web page?


Details! :oops: :oops: :bash:

http://www.wheelocknet.net/medes_cam/medes_gauges.html

gwheelo

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:40 pm
by Toxic17
I noticed your using an old version of CumulusMX. (3028) any reason why? thats over a year old, and latest is now 3041.

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:59 pm
by gwheelo
I noticed your using an old version of CumulusMX. (3028)
- No reason other than it is working (lazy) - I will update, however. Thanks for the heads up!

gwheelo

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 3:52 pm
by mcrossley
gwheelo wrote:Still trying to configure SS pop-up gauge graphs on my gauge page.

File structure is:

JSON data upload goes to: wheelocknet.net/cumulus/
OK, I see the data.

gwheelo wrote:JSON scripts are in: wheelocknet.net/images/JSON/
I don't see these, was expecting graphHum.php etc in there?

gwheelo wrote:jpgraph files are in: wheelocknet.net/images/jpgraph/
I don't see anyhting there - 404 on all the files I would expect, are they hidden?

gwheelo wrote:.htacess is located in: wheelocknet.net/cumulus/
Is that the .htaccess supplied with the graphs? It should really be in the images folder along with the scripts.

gwheelo wrote:Now what do I use for paths in:
gauges_ss.js
graphSettings.php
jpg-config.inc.php


gauges_ss.js should be pointing to "/images/JSON/"

graphSettings.php - You can use the server document_root (which *should* be set to the path of web server root folder) then to the folders...
$GRAPH['jsonloc'] = $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"].'/images/JSON/';
$GRAPH['jpgraphloc'] = $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"].'/images/jpgraph/'
If that doesn't work, then just use the full system path from the root of the drive holder you web server folder, e.g...
'/<system-path>/<web-folder>/images/JSON/'

jpg-config.inc.php
define('CACHE_DIR',$_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"].'/images/cache/');
define('TTF_DIR',$_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"].'/images/cache/');
(again same caveat as above - use the full path if all else fails)

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 2:52 pm
by gwheelo
I took a time out the past few days to recover from a HD failure - everything is back in order now so I will start over with the current state of file locations.

The gauge page is at [url]wheelocknet.net/medes_cam/medes_gauges.html
[/url]
My gauges.js is located at [url]wheelocknet.net/medes_cam/gauges/ss_gauges.js[/url]

JSON data is uploaded to [url]wheelocknet.net/cumulus/tempdata.json[/url] (for example)
jpgraph scripts are in [url]wheelocknet.net/cumulus/images/jpgraph/jpgraph.php[/url] (for example)
JSON scripts are located in [url]wheelocknet.net/cumulus/JSON/graphSettings.php[/url] (for example)

cache dir is at [url]wheelocknet.net/cumulus/images/cache/[/url] (currently empty).

My same questions remain - paths, .htaccess location etc.

gwheelo

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 3:34 pm
by mcrossley
I'd start with...

gauges_ss.js should be pointing to "/cumulus/images/JSON/"

graphSettings.php - You can use the server document_root (which *should* be set to the path of web server root folder) then to the folders...
$GRAPH['jsonloc'] = $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"].'/cumulus/images/JSON/';
$GRAPH['jpgraphloc'] = $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"].'/cumulus/images/jpgraph/'
If that doesn't work, then just use the full system path from the root of the drive holder you web server folder, e.g...
'/<system-path>/<web-folder>/cumulus/images/JSON/'

jpg-config.inc.php
define('CACHE_DIR',$_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"].'/cumulus/images/cache/');
define('TTF_DIR',$_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"].'/cumulus/images/cache/');
(again same caveat as above - use the full path if all else fails)

But again I get a 404 on the http://wheelocknet.net/cumulus/JSON/graphSettings.php file?
Edit: Ah, it should be: http://wheelocknet.net/cumulus/images/J ... ttings.php.

The .htaccess file should be in wheelocknet.net/cumulus/images/JSON/ folder.

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:42 pm
by gwheelo
Edit: Ah, it should be: http://wheelocknet.net/cumulus/images/J ... ttings.php.
- :bash: :bash:

As usual you have zeroed in on my biggest problem - lack of attention and no respect for details!

But, in spite of all that and various adjustments (both code and attitude) there is success: http://www.wheelocknet.net/medes_cam/medes_gauges.html

Now - how do I get the windrose.png to display at a 1:1 ratio rather than squished. The php script produces a 400 X 400 px image but the tool tip displays a flattened image. Is there some way of achieving the original image w, h ration in the tool tip.? Obviously, I haven't found the solution.

My most grateful thanks, Mark, for your continuing patience and advise.

gwheelol

Re: Hover chart popup setup guide for MX

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 1:46 pm
by mcrossley
You'll have to override the CSS for that particular tooltip.

After the tooltips are created, modify the windrose one with some local styling on the image, e.g.

$('#imgtip10_img').css({width: 300, height: 300});

Insert in the ddimgtooltip.init() function almost at the end of the script - after the $targets.each() loop