Welcome to the Cumulus Support forum.

Latest Cumulus MX V3 release 3.28.6 (build 3283) - 21 March 2024

Cumulus MX V4 beta test release 4.0.0 (build 4017) - 17 March 2024

Legacy Cumulus 1 release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - 28 November 2014 (a patch is available for 1.9.4 build 1099 that extends the date range of drop-down menus to 2030)

Download the Software (Cumulus MX / Cumulus 1 and other related items) from the Wiki

Help requested with getting SteelSeries Gauges working

Discussion of Mark Crossley's HTML5/Javascript gauges

Moderator: mcrossley

duke

Re: Help requested with getting SteelSeries Gauges working

Post by duke »

avoorpool wrote:Ray,

Being a complete "newbe" and less than 2 month busy with getting some webpages together for the first time in my life, I'm not even aware of such a "validation process".
If you can give me a hint of how to correct those errors I'll have a look into it, although it might all together be way above my head, leaving your option #2 probably the best.

Thanks,

Arthur
Just work through them one at a time. W3S Validate
User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26702
Joined: Mon 02 Jun 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: Vienne, France
Contact:

Re: Help requested with getting SteelSeries Gauges working

Post by steve »

avoorpool wrote:I'll have a look into it, although it might all together be way above my head, leaving your option #2 probably the best.
Arthur, note that many of the errors on your web page are not down to non-conformance with the standard that the 'XHTML' link on the page claims. You have a lot of simple syntax errors such as missing '>' symbols (which the validator is also pointing out) which means that you are relying on browsers making sense of your code, so you really need to fix those rather than simply removing the link which claims conformance to a particular standard.
Steve
gemini06720
Posts: 1700
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 10:16 pm
Weather Station: No weather station
Operating System: No operating system
Location: World...

Re: Help requested with getting SteelSeries Gauges working

Post by gemini06720 »

avoorpool wrote:Being a complete "newbe" and less than 2 month busy with getting some webpages together for the first time in my life, I'm not even aware of such a "validation process".
Arthur, now you are aware... :)
avoorpool wrote:If you can give me a hint of how to correct those errors I'll have a look into it, although it might all together be way above my head, leaving your option #2 probably the best.
Arthur. do not jump to the extreme before trying your hand at corrections - otherwise you will learn nothing! :roll: As stated by Mark (Duke), you correct the errors or warnings one at the time until all have been corrected.

As I pointed out to Mark previously, the check of the page can only be done from an online server, such as the one where your web pages are hosted.

Remember, each pages have to be checked - one page at the time, until the W3C Markup Validation Service gives a passing mark ... or rather a green bar with the message "This document was successfully checked as XHTML 1.0 Strict!" :mrgreen:

The first step will be to load (on your computer) the editor you have been (and will be) using to modify your templates (the files needed to create/produce your web pages). Then, you should load the 'index.htm' template as it corresponds to the 'Now' web page.

The second step will be to load (on your computer) your browser. Once the browser has been started, navigate to your web site and load the 'Now' page (or the 'index.htm' file/template). Go to the bottom of the page. Then do a "Ctrl-Left-Mouse-Click" on the 'XHTML' link at the bottom of the 'Now' page (the first page to be checked) - the "Ctrl-Left-Mouse-Click" should open the 'XHTML' link either in a new tab or in a new window.

That click will take you to the W3C Markup Validation Service where a red bar with the message "Errors found while checking this document as XHTML 1.0 Strict!" will be displayed.

The third step will be to place a few check marks in some of the boxes under the "Options" title - check marks have to be placed in the box in front of 'Show Source', 'Validate error pages', 'Show Outline' and 'Verbose Output'. Then the right sided 'Revalidate' button has to be clicked. That will reload the validation page with all the options (and the errors and the warnings) activated.

Arthur, do not get intimidated by the number of errors displayed - you can (and will) correct the errors (and the warnings) one at the time, starting with the first one:

Code: Select all

Line 56, Column 77: unclosed start-tag requires SHORTTAG YES

<p><img src="http://bestanimations.com/flags/canada/Canada-03-june.gif"</p>
The text below the error line should give you a hint of what is causing the error/warning. Do you notice the red character - in the above displayed line it is the '<' character.

Look carefully at the complete line of code, the one starting with the '<p>' - go all the way to the right end and then come back 4 characters - some required code between the '.gif"' and the '</p>' is missing - missing are the 'alt' tag and the closing closing characters '/>' - the complete image tag is composed as follow:

Code: Select all

<img src="imagesource.ext" alt""/>
thus, your line once corrected should look like this:

Code: Select all

<p><img src="http://bestanimations.com/flags/canada/Canada-03-june.gif" alt=""/></p>
And so on and so on for all the other errors/warnings... :(

Arthur, you must also remember that one missing character can/may/will produce more than one error message or warning - it somewhat similar to a 'chain-reaction'...

Hopefully, your home editor can display line numbers which will make it easier for you to get to the line to be corrected...

If you are unsure of the error message, check the W3Schools pages - there is a lot of useful information for new (and even experienced) web page programmers. ;)

Arthur, as I wrote above, DO NOT DESPAIR, you can and will eventually get trough all the error/warning messages ... and you will learn something (many things) new. 8-)
duke

Re: Help requested with getting SteelSeries Gauges working

Post by duke »

You can also check all your CSS pages in a similar manner.
User avatar
avoorpool
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue 08 May 2012 4:24 pm
Weather Station: WMR200A
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Location: Pickering, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Help requested with getting SteelSeries Gauges working

Post by avoorpool »

HI Duke,

That might be easier, since most pages show a good result.
As for Ray's and Steve's comments: Will be done (good learning curve :D ) when time permits.

Thanks guys,

Arthur
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
avoorpool
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue 08 May 2012 4:24 pm
Weather Station: WMR200A
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Location: Pickering, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Help requested with getting SteelSeries Gauges working

Post by avoorpool »

Ray,

Thanks for your advise.
The coming week I'll have some time to go through the process and get this over and done with (corrections made).
However, I'm a bit confused, so I'll make an appeal to your expertise in order to:
a) Learn more about this process (for now and future implementations)
b) I don't want to mess-up my site (currently each page displays OK and pageviews are increasing (since June 20 ~ 2,100), although I'm aware errors should be corrected!!
Many errors I found are related to some "links" I've put into my pages (error messages as such are consistent throughout the different pages (see attachment).
The part which confuses me is that I see the same code in other websites. Some codes (i.e Statcounter on the bottom of each page) is simply copied from the original website with no changes made. What's correct here...????
Being aware that a simple "leaving out or change in any character" could cause the link or command not to work makes me a bit hesitant to correct this from a (now) working website :roll: .
Any suggestion or advise is definitely helpful.

Thanks,

Arthur.

http://altonaweather.ca
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
gemini06720
Posts: 1700
Joined: Mon 10 Aug 2009 10:16 pm
Weather Station: No weather station
Operating System: No operating system
Location: World...

Re: Help requested with getting SteelSeries Gauges working

Post by gemini06720 »

Arthur, as I wrote previously, you will find many answers to your questions on the W3Schools web site.

For example, in the image you posted, the 'target="_blank"' attribute is producing the error message. That is because that the 'target="_blank"' attribute cannot be used in your page as indicated by the W3C error message: "You have used the attribute named above in your document, but the document type you are using does not support that attribute for this element. This error is often caused by incorrect use of the "Strict" document type with a document that uses frames (e.g. you must use the "Transitional" document type to get the "target" attribute)".

What does all that mean: This is the first line of your page: As you can see (in bold characters), the page is identified as respecting a very 'strict' format. What the error message is stating is that the first line should be modified to allow for more flexibility in the code of the page: The use of 'transitional' gives more flexibility to the page in displaying older elements.

It is still a bit confusing ... even for myself :? - to learn more, have a look at the HTML <!DOCTYPE> Declaration.

I thank the Internet gods for the introduction of HTML5 and its now so simple '<!DOCTYPE html>' declaration...

I looked at the line of code provided by Statcounter and there is something wrong with the <img> element! Original lines:

Code: Select all

<!-- Start of StatCounter Code for Default Guide -->
<script type="text/javascript">
var sc_project=0000000; <- replaced for safety reasons
var sc_invisible=0;
var sc_security="00000000"; <- replaced for safety reasons
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://www.statcounter.com/counter/counter.js"></script>
<noscript><div class="statcounter"><a title="click tracking"
href="http://statcounter.com/" target="_blank"><img>
class="statcounter"
src="http://c.statcounter.com/8101191/0/6406ea6a/0/"
alt="click tracking"></a></div></noscript>
<!-- End of StatCounter Code for Default Guide -->
I think this is the way the code should be written (and reformatted for better understanding), although I have no way of testing it:

Code: Select all

<!-- Start of StatCounter Code for Default Guide -->
<script type="text/javascript">
var sc_project=0000000; <- replaced for safety reasons
var sc_invisible=0;
var sc_security="00000000"; <- replaced for safety reasons
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.statcounter.com/counter/counter.js"></script>
<noscript>
<div class="statcounter">
<a title="click tracking" href="http://statcounter.com/" target="_blank">
<img class="statcounter" src="http://c.statcounter.com/8101191/0/6406ea6a/0/" alt="click tracking"/></a>
</div>
</noscript>
<!-- End of StatCounter Code for Default Guide -->
User avatar
avoorpool
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue 08 May 2012 4:24 pm
Weather Station: WMR200A
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Location: Pickering, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Help requested with getting SteelSeries Gauges working

Post by avoorpool »

Hey Ray,

Thanks for your explanations. I think it might help with eliminating some of the errors by changing the first line into "Transitional".
I'll try the Statcounter changes as you suggested, since this is also something that returns on every page!!
The W3Schools site is indeed a very good way to learn (especially with numerous "try yourself" pages). After tomorrow evening I'll have time to "dive" into it and hope to have everything "settled" by the end of this coming weekend.
Keep you informed (or send some more questions when I'm really stuck :lol: ).

Cheers,

Arthur
User avatar
avoorpool
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue 08 May 2012 4:24 pm
Weather Station: WMR200A
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Location: Pickering, Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: Help requested with getting SteelSeries Gauges working

Post by avoorpool »

OK Guys,

After some "Blood, Sweat and Tears" since July 13th, Alton Forest Weather has passsed the test.
Since you need to learn how to crawl before you walk and finally run, I started to have all of my pages validated for XHTML 1.0, but this will definitely grow in the near future.
At least there's a beginning!!

Cheers,

Arthur
Post Reply