Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

wxforecast.php doesn't work

Discussion of Ken True's web site templates

Moderator: saratogaWX

User avatar
aznetcowboy
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis 6153 Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby aznetcowboy » Tue May 17, 2016 4:24 pm

I seem to remember that there is some change to the wxforecast.php forecasts script that for a number of reasons I won't go into here that I wasn't able to follow up on updating. Now after all this time, I forget what was required to get it working again. :oops:

There are so many references to wxforecast.php when doing a search, I gave up trying to figure our what I need to do to get it working again. I'm appreciative of any assistance to get this working again.
Tom Wills
Kingston Knolls Terrace, Tucson, AZ

El Gheko Neighborhood Weather Station: http://www.elgheko.us
El Gheko Neighborhood Association: http://na.elgheko.us

Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby saratogaWX » Tue May 17, 2016 4:37 pm

Running check-fetch-times.php?show=versions on your site shows you have a few scripts to update, including advforecast2.php (the forecast script).

Use the update tool to get the scripts you need and update your site.. then all should be well :)

Best regards,
Ken

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis VPro2 Plus
Operating System: Deb 9.4 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby Toxic17 » Tue May 17, 2016 8:09 pm

saratogaWX wrote:Running check-fetch-times.php?show=versions on your site shows you have a few scripts to update, including advforecast2.php (the forecast script).

Use the update tool to get the scripts you need and update your site.. then all should be well :)

Best regards,
Ken


haha, how did I miss this? thanks for the tip!
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://www.conligwx.org/pws/
https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

User avatar
aznetcowboy
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis 6153 Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby aznetcowboy » Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:15 pm

saratogaWX wrote:Running check-fetch-times.php?show=versions on your site shows you have a few scripts to update, including advforecast2.php (the forecast script).

Use the update tool to get the scripts you need and update your site.. then all should be well :)

Best regards,
Ken


I have just completed updating all the files that the Check-fetch-times.php indicated were out of date. It now shows every thing as current. However, my forecasts still do not show up. But, if I click on the line that says "Forecast from NOAA-NWS for . " I get the forecast. I am not sure what I missed in the update, but I don't get the forecasts for Arizona. :bash:

One positive thing, the Alerts seem to be working okay now. :)
Tom Wills
Kingston Knolls Terrace, Tucson, AZ

El Gheko Neighborhood Weather Station: http://www.elgheko.us
El Gheko Neighborhood Association: http://na.elgheko.us

Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby saratogaWX » Mon Jun 27, 2016 10:18 pm

You haven't uploaded the newer advforecast2.php.

Running check-fetch-times.php?show=versions on your site shows you're running 3.12 of the script. It needs to be V4.02 to work correctly. You just need to upload V4.02 of adforecast2.php to have your forecast work again. The DualImage function seems to work fine, and the rest of the key scripts on your site are at current release levels.

User avatar
aznetcowboy
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis 6153 Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby aznetcowboy » Mon Jun 27, 2016 10:54 pm

saratogaWX wrote:You haven't uploaded the newer advforecast2.php.

Running check-fetch-times.php?show=versions on your site shows you're running 3.12 of the script. It needs to be V4.02 to work correctly. You just need to upload V4.02 of adforecast2.php to have your forecast work again. The DualImage function seems to work fine, and the rest of the key scripts on your site are at current release levels.


Oh man... I'm not sure what I did here, but I could have sworn the adforecast2.php was version 4.02. I really blew it this time. :groan:

Thanks for your assistance and patience in dealing with this ID10T. :oops:
Tom Wills
Kingston Knolls Terrace, Tucson, AZ

El Gheko Neighborhood Weather Station: http://www.elgheko.us
El Gheko Neighborhood Association: http://na.elgheko.us

Image

User avatar
aznetcowboy
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis 6153 Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby aznetcowboy » Tue Jun 28, 2016 12:53 am

aznetcowboy wrote:
saratogaWX wrote:You haven't uploaded the newer advforecast2.php.

Running check-fetch-times.php?show=versions on your site shows you're running 3.12 of the script. It needs to be V4.02 to work correctly. You just need to upload V4.02 of adforecast2.php to have your forecast work again. The DualImage function seems to work fine, and the rest of the key scripts on your site are at current release levels.


Oh man... I'm not sure what I did here, but I could have sworn the adforecast2.php was version 4.02. I really blew it this time. :groan:

Thanks for your assistance and patience in dealing with this ID10T. :oops:


I was correct. I had v4.02 uploaded, and after a bit it reverts back to v3.12. Any ideas what is going on here? What should the file permissions be? They are set to 644.
Tom Wills
Kingston Knolls Terrace, Tucson, AZ

El Gheko Neighborhood Weather Station: http://www.elgheko.us
El Gheko Neighborhood Association: http://na.elgheko.us

Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby saratogaWX » Tue Jun 28, 2016 1:03 am

The advforecast2.php script never modifies itself..it has to be manually FTPed to your site. If it is being overwritten with a prior version, it could be a server backup/restore snafu, or some server-side caching in effect.

User avatar
aznetcowboy
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis 6153 Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work (UPDATE)

Postby aznetcowboy » Tue Jun 28, 2016 8:48 pm

saratogaWX wrote:The advforecast2.php script never modifies itself..it has to be manually FTPed to your site. If it is being overwritten with a prior version, it could be a server backup/restore snafu, or some server-side caching in effect.


This is crazy! I don't have a version 3.12 anywhere that I can find. I can copy 4.02 to the domain sever and within seconds it is back to version 3.12. If it was something in the code, then I would expect this to be happening to people other than just me and it isn't. I am not even using any FTP utility to upload it just to make sure that isn't the problem.

I am totally baffled about what is going on here. Hopefully someone can come up with an idea. My ISP can't explain it either.


Ignore the above statement. I think it is now resolved. My ISP sent me the following: "I looked at the log, and your machine is uploading the file (STOR) as advforecast2.phptmp and then renaming (RNFR/RNTO) the file every time it connects every 5 minutes:". Is the advforecast2.php supposed to be re-uploaded every five minutes?
Tom Wills
Kingston Knolls Terrace, Tucson, AZ

El Gheko Neighborhood Weather Station: http://www.elgheko.us
El Gheko Neighborhood Association: http://na.elgheko.us

Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby saratogaWX » Tue Jun 28, 2016 10:33 pm

Umm.. No, it is uploaded once. Sounds like your Cumulus settings are trying to upload it as a cumulus template. Turn that setting in cumulus off, and manually upload v4.02 advforecast2.php once.

User avatar
aznetcowboy
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis 6153 Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby aznetcowboy » Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:24 pm

My forecast tool (http://www.elgheko.us/wxforecast.php) has again stopped working. My ISP has informed me that he has upgraded the PHP he uses to version Php 7.0.28 and that version 5.6 is no longer available. Could this be the problem?
Tom Wills
Kingston Knolls Terrace, Tucson, AZ

El Gheko Neighborhood Weather Station: http://www.elgheko.us
El Gheko Neighborhood Association: http://na.elgheko.us

Image

User avatar
saratogaWX
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:02 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro Plus
Operating System: Windows XP SP3
Location: Saratoga, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby saratogaWX » Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:09 pm

No, the issue is your advforecast2.php (multi) - V4.02 - 07-Nov-2015 -- You need to use V4.03 after the end of February, 2018 when the NWS forced all accesses to *.weather.gov to https. The V4.02 and earlier could not do https (only http).

Download the update from the script page and your forecast should be back.

You may have to do a wxforecast.php?force=1 after installation of the updated script to refresh the cache file.

User avatar
aznetcowboy
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:03 pm
Weather Station: Davis 6153 Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: wxforecast.php doesn't work

Postby aznetcowboy » Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:31 pm

Thanks Ken! It is now working okay. I really appreciate the help!
Tom Wills
Kingston Knolls Terrace, Tucson, AZ

El Gheko Neighborhood Weather Station: http://www.elgheko.us
El Gheko Neighborhood Association: http://na.elgheko.us

Image


Return to “Saratoga Templates”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests