Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
nicksnet
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:09 pm
Weather Station: davis vantage pro2 inc FARS.
Operating System: windows 10
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA.
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby nicksnet » Sat Aug 15, 2015 9:11 pm

Hi Steve,

Are the following tags implemented in MX:

Station System up time, Cumulus was Last Started, CPU Type, Station System Free Memory, Display Mode, Total Size of Disk, Disk Space Available To Cumulus ?

Thanks Steve,

Nick. DW7240.com
ImageImage
Image

water01
Posts: 1403
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:33 am
Weather Station: WH1081
Operating System: Windows 7 64bit HP SP1
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby water01 » Sat Aug 15, 2015 9:58 pm


TgT
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:51 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + Solar
Operating System: A20 TV box + CumulusMX
Location: Slov.Konjice, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby TgT » Tue Aug 18, 2015 7:43 pm

Choose extra sensor as a default, temp and hum, like in Cumulus1 for wmr928 and wmr200.

WMR928TempChannel=N
This line needs to be added in the [Station] section of the Cumulus.ini file for WMR-928 stations (and other serial stations using the same protocol, eg WMR-968) to use an 'extra' channel (see previous parameter) as your main temperature sensor, set N to the required channel
Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26297
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Spain
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby steve » Tue Aug 18, 2015 7:59 pm

It already does that, since the first release, as far as I know - is it not working?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

TgT
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:51 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + Solar
Operating System: A20 TV box + CumulusMX
Location: Slov.Konjice, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby TgT » Thu Aug 20, 2015 10:30 am

If so, then i missed out :roll: I will try and report ;)
Image

User avatar
GlueGuy2
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:39 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 8.1
Location: US - California

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby GlueGuy2 » Tue Oct 13, 2015 5:03 pm

How about an SNMP MIB for CumulusMX?

I have a network of nearly 1,000 devices, and I keep tabs on everything with a tool called cacti (http://cacti.net). If CumulusMX had an SNMP MIB, I could create a template for Cumulus, and monitor it through cacti (or nagios). Either of these tools would allow me to set thresholds to monitor for unusual conditions (too high or low temperature, too high wind, and so on).
bp

sector950
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:03 pm
Weather Station: "black box magic"
Operating System: BSD & UNIX
Location: FL

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby sector950 » Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:20 am

Hi Steve, hopefully you read this one.

Would it be possible to select the EasyWeather.dat location? I understand that it is possible to do this via the .ini file but I am experimenting with your software and something called rtl_433 which I wont explain beyond it being a way to decode wireless transmitters running at 433MHz. That part (as in, decoding the wireless transmitter) part is done and works great - I can output the data in whatever format I want and decided to give Cumulus' EasyWeather.dat specification a shot. It worked great. None of this relates to the question obviously but I thought it'd be worth filling you and others in on what I've succeeded at.

So essentially as I explained above, I'm taking one black boxes output (the transmitter) and feeding it into Cumulus 1.9.4 build 1099, which I consider to be another black box obviously. That setup works great (with the occasional crash since I run Cumulus using Wine), but I'd to see if I can experiment with this further using the MX version. It'd probably be worth putting a disclaimer along the lines of "EasyWeather.dat must be located on the server" next to the file select obviously, I just want mono to parse the files location properly since I am not on Windows and can't necessarily set the location myself in the Cumulus.ini file.

Thanks. Also I've donated (same email I signed up with, if not message me back for another email it may have come from) if that adds any weight to the request.
donor

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26297
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Spain
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby steve » Sun Oct 18, 2015 8:31 am

sector950 wrote:Would it be possible to select the EasyWeather.dat location?
Yes, I hadn't realised until recently that I hadn't included it on the UI. I can add a box for it - it's unlikely it will offer a file selection dialogue as in Cumulus 1, though. I don't really understand why you can't edit Cumulus.ini, though. I didn't think it was possible to run a Unix box without command line access, or having to edit a config file at some point.
It'd probably be worth putting a disclaimer along the lines of "EasyWeather.dat must be located on the server"
I'm not sure that's true. If you can mount the location containing the file, it can be on another machine.

Thanks. Also I've donated (same email I signed up with, if not message me back for another email it may have come from) if that adds any weight to the request.
Thank you for the donation, but no, it doesn't make any difference. I treat everyone the same, regardless of whether they have made a donation, and most of the time I don't even know whether a particular forum user has made a donation or not.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

EnzoRussia
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 4:55 pm
Weather Station: Oregon Scientific WMR200
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Krasnodar, Russia

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby EnzoRussia » Thu Oct 22, 2015 6:54 pm

Hello.
I want you to add indicators for the minimum and maximum humidity during the day.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26297
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Spain
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby steve » Thu Oct 22, 2015 8:23 pm

EnzoRussia wrote:Hello.
I want you to add indicators for the minimum and maximum humidity during the day.

Already there.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
Freezeville
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 3:14 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional
Location: Maine, USA
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby Freezeville » Thu Oct 22, 2015 9:44 pm

Here are my thoughts.

Select-A-Graph - Very important.
Diary (including snowfall entry) - Nice to have.
Dayfile.txt editor - Very Important and much needed.
Alarms - Nice, not a high priority for me.
Manual ftp-update - I always use this after a restart in Cumulus 1.
Errors like ftp-time out / sensor contact lost - Needed; things can happen.
Configurable graph period - Extremely handy.
Flashing New Record - Nice to have, not a high priority for me.
Entry of 'current conditions' - Also nice to have; I've started using it lately.


My interest in this is to run it on Raspberry Pi and I just got one 2 days ago. I've had Cumulus running on it very briefly but haven't checked it out much yet. I started out using Putty with Xming for access to the Pi but have now switched to Windows Remote Desktop which I find easier, quicker and better.

TgT
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:51 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2 + Solar
Operating System: A20 TV box + CumulusMX
Location: Slov.Konjice, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby TgT » Tue Oct 27, 2015 4:27 pm

I bet it was mention before, but i would like to expose three functions I really miss before winter knocks on the door.
    dayfile editor
    todays rain
    snow input
Image

NeilThomas
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:51 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Raspberry Pi 3
Location: Gloucester
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby NeilThomas » Thu Oct 29, 2015 11:26 am

Along with direct access to the diary variables as mentioned above, it would be useful to be able to save the diary without having to close it. Is it also possible to have pressure trend data for yesterday, i.e. #presstrendYH, #TpresstrendYH.
Neil Thomas
website: oaktreewebs.co.uk
Image

sector950
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:03 pm
Weather Station: "black box magic"
Operating System: BSD & UNIX
Location: FL

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby sector950 » Fri Oct 30, 2015 6:20 pm

Did some testing and wanted to report that I managed to get the EasyWeather.dat location working manually and it consumes the data nice, but I've found a bug along the way. The EWInterval must be 1 or higher, whereas 0.100000001490116 worked before great with my odd setup. It works, but pulls it in every minute instead of 10 seconds. Any possibility of getting this to run like normal?

I'll edit this post later today with a zipped up MXDiag folder, Steve (I'm away from the box at the moment). It said something about 0 being an invalid value for something like System.Timers.Timer:set_Interval if I remember correctly, even though its technically 0.1.

How I got it working (on FreeBSD):

Code: Select all

EWFile=Z:\usr\home\yourname\EasyWeather.dat
EWInterval=1
donor

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26297
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Spain
Contact:

Re: Things in Cumulus 1 missing from Cumulus MX

Postby steve » Fri Oct 30, 2015 6:48 pm

I'll correct it in the next build so that it's a float as in Cumulus 1.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests