If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Graphs not displaying on web site

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
Grimers
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:07 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit

Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby Grimers » Tue Nov 24, 2015 11:31 am

Hi,

I have just installed Cumulus MX and the graphs aren't loading in to my website. I have the standard files/images ticked and FTP passive mode on but the graphs do not load in.

Here is my website page: http://newton-poppleford-weather.co.uk/trends.htm

Many thanks in advance.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25765
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby steve » Tue Nov 24, 2015 11:54 am

Being underhand and registering a new account does not alter the fact that you have been banned from this forum, and I really should just ban this account as well. But I will let it go for now, perhaps you have learned to behave properly. At the first sign that you are returning to your old ways, I will ban this account without warning.

I have moved your post as the thread you posted in was nothing to do with the standard MX graphs, which are apparently the ones you are having problems with.

You say you have the standard images option selected - there is no such option in MX. You need to have "Include graph data files" selected. Setting this causes a set of json files to be uploaded to your ftp server, and it is these files which are used for the graphs. These are apparently missing from your server, e.g. http://newton-poppleford-weather.co.uk/graphconfig.json returns "404 not found".

Please confirm that you have "Include graph data files" selected, and if you do, please check whether the json files are actually present on your ftp server - it may that your web server is refusing to send them.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Grimers
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:07 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby Grimers » Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:09 pm

Hi steve,

Thanks for your reply. I understand your annoyance at creating a new account, but I hope to prove that I have learnt to be less forceful and argumentative. :)

I can confirm that the "Include graph data files" checkbox is checked in the Cumulus MX settings and yes you are correct, those files are not present on the server. Maybe this is something to do with 123 reg?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25765
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby steve » Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:15 pm

If you turn on ftp logging and wait for an upload, the ftplog.txt file which is generated may throw some light on the problem.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Grimers
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:07 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby Grimers » Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:26 pm

I can't see anything obvious to do with those files you stated, but here are a few uploads:

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25765
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby steve » Tue Nov 24, 2015 1:06 pm

It's uploading them and not getting any errors back, so the problem must lie with the server, if they don't appear on the server. Perhaps it doesn't accept .json files, but doesn't give an error for them either.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Grimers
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:07 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby Grimers » Tue Nov 24, 2015 1:12 pm

This is interesting. I've just checked the server again and the files are all of sudden now present but the trends page is still only showing a white box, however when I click on "Sun Hours" it displays the outline of the graph but no data is present.

Is it because I have UTF-8 selected by any chance?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25765
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby steve » Tue Nov 24, 2015 1:15 pm

The web server is still returning 404 for all of the json files.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Grimers
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:07 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby Grimers » Tue Nov 24, 2015 1:44 pm

Called 123-reg and all is fixed.

Grimers
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:07 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby Grimers » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:21 pm

Sorry to bring up an old thread. I'm facing a similar issue again, though some of the graphs do display... All of the files are present locally and on the server and each pair have the same file size!

http://newton-poppleford-weather.co.uk/trends.htm

The lack of data is let's say, a long story... ;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25765
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby steve » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:41 pm

Looks like you have both 'delete before upload' and 'rename' selected - not a useful combination, and it's apparently the cause of your problem in this case. Try turning off 'delete before upload'.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Grimers
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:07 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby Grimers » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:50 pm

Thanks for the quick reply, Steve!

Turning off "Delete before upload" didn't work but turning off "FTP rename" did to an extent, though 2 are still missing. I hope your travels are going well.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25765
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby steve » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:54 pm

The graphs that are empty are the daily graphs, and you apparently started from scratch less than an hour ago - so, no daily graphs.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Grimers
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:07 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby Grimers » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:56 pm

Oh, is that a feature of a new build? As before they used to show just one point and then build over time as expected.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25765
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Graphs not displaying on web site

Postby steve » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:58 pm

They can't show one point yet, you don't have one point to plot yet.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: csandke and 2 guests