If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

"Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

"Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby scanman » Wed Sep 28, 2016 12:06 pm

Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere. I was wondering whether anybody can explain in very simple terms, how I can obtain graphs which are less blocky? Using the default settings, my pressure chart in particular looks very blocky as compared to, say, my average wind speed chart. (see http://www.new.avochweather.info/trends.htm)

Any help from a coding guru would be gratefully appreciated!

freddie
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 17.04)
Location: Hyssington, Powys, UK
Contact:

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby freddie » Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:43 pm

Looking at your pressure graph, there is a data point for each minute. However, the data values only change every fifteen minutes. This isn't true for your temperature graph, though, which changes every minute at times. Is it possible that your pressure sensor reading is only updated every fifteen minutes on your weather station?
Freddie
Image

BigOkie
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:06 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspian Jessie
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby BigOkie » Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:19 pm

It can depend on what station you're using. Some only update every 15 minutes. I believe the Davis VP2 newer revisions do so every minute (or even more frequent) so obviously those with longer intervals will look blocky.

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby scanman » Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:26 pm

Thanks, guys. I do indeed have a VP2 and, looking at my data, it does indeed appear the pressure is only being refreshed at 15min intervals. I have Cumulus MX set up to over-ride the Davis 15minute default to force an update every minute, but this does not appear to be working. Might this be a Cumulus/VP2 issue? The forced update certainly seemed to work ok with older versions of Cumulus.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26028
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby steve » Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:45 pm

It's possible that I didn't implement the forced update in MX, it's my understanding that the VP2 firmware made this redundant a very long time ago. Are you using a very old firmware?

I'll check the code when I switch my laptop on later to see if that code is in there. I strongly suspect that it isn't, as it would require interfering with the normal Loop packet reception to force the update, and I don't remember doing that.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby scanman » Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:02 pm

Thanks Steve. I think my firmware IS old (2005), but am a bit unsure as to how to update it. I will look into this in a bit more detail, as the blocky graphs look horrid. I will let you know how I get on, but thanks to all for pointing me in the right direction.

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby scanman » Wed Sep 28, 2016 5:40 pm

hmmm.....looks like updating the firmware is easier said than done. Oh well........ :roll:

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby scanman » Wed Sep 28, 2016 8:55 pm

I seem to have rwo issues with updating the firmware - firstly, despite the computer running ok, when I try to find my console with the Davis software, it says it cannot be found! Secondly, reading around the matter, I fear updating my firmware may render the data logger inoperable. It seems, then, I am stuck with the firmware at present and will therefore be stuck with 15minute pressure updates, unless somehow the feature can be enabled within Cumulus MX?

BigOkie
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:06 am
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspian Jessie
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby BigOkie » Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:28 pm

Depends on how early. I have firmware rev 1.90 and mine seems to update fairly frequently. My graphs mete that out.
2016-09-28_162606.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby scanman » Thu Sep 29, 2016 7:30 am

My firmware is old (dated 27/05/05) and, reading on various forums, it looks as though I may have some difficulty in updating it. I have contacted Davis support for information, but also wonder whether - please, please, please - reinstating the forced update feature in Cumulus might be considered at a later date!!!

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26028
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby steve » Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:48 am

I'll consider it for a future update, but I don't know when that is likely to be. I'll have to have a look at the code to see how I might restructure it to get it to do the forced update.

I believe John Dann (prodata on the forum) offers a loan service for an updater for those with firmware too old to use the direct PC updater.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby scanman » Thu Sep 29, 2016 10:28 am

Thanks, Steve. I now have a bit of a dilemma as to whether to stick with MX and put up with the blocky graphs, or roll back to older versions of cumulus. Thinking aloud, so to speak, is it possible to use an older versions of cumulus but still have it update the highcharts? That might be a bit beyond my abilities, though...

"First world problems!" :D

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26028
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby steve » Thu Sep 29, 2016 10:42 am

Mark produced the Highcharts graphs for Cumulus 1 originally, I just stole them and modified them very slightly for MX. If you search for Highcharts in the wiki and forum, there should be what you need to set it up.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby scanman » Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:34 am

Cheers, Steve. On reflection, I will put up with the blocky graphs for now. The MX interface is just too good to lose!

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26028
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: "Blocky" graphs - how to smooth?

Postby steve » Sat Jan 14, 2017 5:01 pm

I've implemented the forced updating of the barometer in build 3042, which I've just uploaded.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests