If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Installation auf raspberry

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
jank
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:57 pm
Weather Station: weatherstation
Operating System: Debian Wheezy
Location: Germany

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby jank » Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:01 pm

bajowar wrote:Cumulusnow.sh is looking for graphconfig.json in the CumulusMX directory. It is however in the directory CumulusMX / web. After changing the lines
No. 21,22,23,24 in cumulusnow.sh

TEMP = $ (cat $ INSTPATH / web / graphconfig.json | cut -d "\" "-f 6)
WIND = $ (cat $ INSTPATH / web / graphconfig.json | cut -d "\" "-f 14)
RAIN = $ (cat $ INSTPATH / web / graphconfig.json | cut -d "\" "-f 22)
PRESS = $ (cat $ INSTPATH / web / graphconfig.json | cut -d "\" "-f 30)
The display is faultless.
Dieter

Hello Dieter
thank you very much to bring this up......I already changed it and released a fixed version of this Script.
I made the same changes you made - added the correct path information to graphconfig.json
Want to see your Station values on SSH? Cumulusnow http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=14062
Want a Start|Stop|Restart Script for CumulusMX on RaspberryPi? cumulusmx.sh http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=13767

bajowar
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:52 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Windows 10/ RaspBerry Pi2
Contact:

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby bajowar » Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:53 pm

Hello jan,
I still have a problem. This is not so important, but not nice: as title text is displayed with me "wetterstation engelrod weather". By editing "indexT.htm" and other template files, I could delete the word "weather". Unfortunately I do not succeed in "gauges". The title I want (without weather) is displayed for one second, but then overwritten with "weather". I'm a bit overwhelmed. Maybe you have remedy?

Dieter

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25908
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby steve » Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:10 pm

Are you sure you are editing the gaugesT.htm file in the MX web folder, rather than the gauges.htm file?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

jank
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:57 pm
Weather Station: weatherstation
Operating System: Debian Wheezy
Location: Germany

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby jank » Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:17 pm

bajowar wrote:Hello jan,
I still have a problem. This is not so important, but not nice: as title text is displayed with me "wetterstation engelrod weather". By editing "indexT.htm" and other template files, I could delete the word "weather". Unfortunately I do not succeed in "gauges". The title I want (without weather) is displayed for one second, but then overwritten with "weather". I'm a bit overwhelmed. Maybe you have remedy?

Hello dieter
I assume, you already read Steve's suggestion to edit this file gaugesT.htm and not gauges.htm ?

Is your webpage accessible form the internet ? I used google, but could not find your weatherstation so far.
Btw: Your location seem to be not so far away from me. Engelrod - Bebra .....just a few kilometer distance
Jan
Want to see your Station values on SSH? Cumulusnow http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=14062
Want a Start|Stop|Restart Script for CumulusMX on RaspberryPi? cumulusmx.sh http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=13767

bajowar
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:52 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Windows 10/ RaspBerry Pi2
Contact:

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby bajowar » Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:48 am

I'm absolutely sure I've changed the entry in gaugesT.htm. Oddly, the same change occurs after 10 minutes also in gauges.htm. On the weather map (under gauges) the change is displayed for 1 second and is then overwritten with "weather". The display of the instruments is automatically renewed every 5 seconds and the error will probably happen.
My weather station is on "www.engelrod.com/wetterbericht"
Dieter

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25908
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby steve » Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:43 am

Make sure you remove the <span ...> ... </span> around the word 'weather' as well as the word itself.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

bajowar
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:52 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Windows 10/ RaspBerry Pi2
Contact:

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby bajowar » Tue Feb 14, 2017 12:56 pm

Thank you steve, that was it!
Dieter

Phil23
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:59 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Win7 Pro
Location: Australia

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby Phil23 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:32 am

steve wrote:
BigOkie wrote:I wonder if installing Windows IoT on a Pi would work?
No, IoT isn't suitable for running applications like Cumulus.


Lol,

Installed started down this road yesterday.
Had never seen a Pi before; Not at all familiar with Linux, only a DOS/Windows background.

Installed:-

Raspian from NOOBS,
Got it to jump straight onto my Wi-Fi.
Installed Mono,
Installed CumulusMX & got it running, no station connected yet,

Installed TightVNC Server & it worked,
Installed SAMBA services & mounted my domain shares.

Got rid of TightVNC in favour of X11, so I could VNC the console desktop rather than a separate one.
5 minutes there & that was working.

All took about an hour & a half of my afternoon.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Decided to have a look at Win10 IoT:-

Jumped thru a dozen hoops the get the right image on the card,
Watched it sit idle spinning dots for near the next hour.

Found It hated my basic wired Logitech keyboard, missing characters & auto repeating endlessly when trying to enter the Wi-Fi password.

All up abandoned that exercise after about 4 hours.
Slipped the Raspbian card back in & on the Linux learning curve.


All in all the IoT experience was totally unpleasant.

Cheers

Phil.

bajowar
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:52 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Windows 10/ RaspBerry Pi2
Contact:

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby bajowar » Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:25 am

Is it possible to display the weather data in German?
Dieter

bajowar
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:52 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Windows 10/ RaspBerry Pi2
Contact:

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby bajowar » Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:33 pm

Hello,
how can I create such a window. I mean the rectangular window with weather data.
Dieter

jank
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:57 pm
Weather Station: weatherstation
Operating System: Debian Wheezy
Location: Germany

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby jank » Mon Feb 20, 2017 9:08 am

Hello Bajowar
as far as I remember you need to translate the file strings.ini which is locatedi nthe CumulusMX folder

https://goo.gl/M6cbjD

here is a download link to my strings.ini which was translated years ago.
PLease don't forget to backup your original first
Jan
Want to see your Station values on SSH? Cumulusnow http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=14062
Want a Start|Stop|Restart Script for CumulusMX on RaspberryPi? cumulusmx.sh http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=13767

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25908
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby steve » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:12 am

You can translate some text via strings.ii. You can translate the interface and web pages. A few items are not yet able to be translated.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

bajowar
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:52 pm
Weather Station: PCE-FWS 20
Operating System: Windows 10/ RaspBerry Pi2
Contact:

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby bajowar » Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:11 am

After rebooting CumulusMX, saved data such as rainfall today, rainfall this month, rainfall this year is set to zero. This is certainly not wanted? In the event of a power failure, all stored data would be lost. How can I restore the old values?

jank
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:57 pm
Weather Station: weatherstation
Operating System: Debian Wheezy
Location: Germany

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby jank » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:39 am

On which page of the Webinterface is all set to zero after reboot ?
I assume a reboot is the same as a restart of CumulusMX and my data does not disappear after restart ?
Jan
Want to see your Station values on SSH? Cumulusnow http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=14062
Want a Start|Stop|Restart Script for CumulusMX on RaspberryPi? cumulusmx.sh http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=13767

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25908
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Installation auf raspberry

Postby steve » Sat Feb 25, 2017 2:03 pm

bajowar wrote:After rebooting CumulusMX, saved data such as rainfall today, rainfall this month, rainfall this year is set to zero. This is certainly not wanted? In the event of a power failure, all stored data would be lost. How can I restore the old values?

If you zip up the mxdiags directory and attach it, I'll take a look to see if I can see why that's happening.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: posixx and 2 guests