If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Upgrade to MX problems

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
midcon07
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:48 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Altoona, Iowa, USA

Upgrade to MX problems

Postby midcon07 » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:57 pm

Let me preface this: I'm 75 years old and have been doing my darnedest to keep up but it's a struggle. 8-) I have been running 1.9.4 successfully for a couple of years. Decided to upgrade to MX. I tried to follow all the instructions and thought I had it but after 4 hours I've given up. I right clicked on the CumulusMX and had run it as administrator, I was asked for the permission, clicked ok. Still can't get the program to run. attached is a screen that pops up everytime I attempt to run it.
After giving up I moved my MX directory out of C: to a flash drive, moved my 1.9.4 back on C: and it works fine, caught up all the back data.
I would like to upgrade to MX so help is appreciated.
Windows 10, Davis VP2.
error.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25774
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to MX problems

Postby steve » Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:24 pm

That's the error you get when it isn't run as administrator (and you haven't used the netsh command mentioned in the intructions to allow it run without administrator privilege).

Can you do other things which require administrator privilege? It could be that your user (unusually) doesn't have administrator access (i.e. it isn't a member of the admin group).
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

midcon07
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 10:48 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Altoona, Iowa, USA

Re: Upgrade to MX problems

Postby midcon07 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:08 pm

Thanks for your help, Steve. I figured that one out.
Now I get a different screen (attached) and it looks like the program is running ok but I believe I have to edit the eighth line and add "localhost" into the text. I'm sorry but I don't know how to do that. Apparently there is no dos text editor for Win 10? But there has to be a way.
prompt.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 25774
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Raspbian
Location: Sanday, Orkney
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to MX problems

Postby steve » Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:15 pm

You don't edit that line, you do what the instructions say: "Type the URL which is displayed (when MX starts running) into your browser (replace the * with the IP address, or use localhost) and the interface should appear." In other words, put http://localhost:8998/ into the address bar in your browser.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests