Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
fury88
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 5:20 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro 2 (fw 1.7.3)
Operating System: Linux Mint 18.1 x64

Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Postby fury88 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:57 pm

Hi all,

Very excited to get Cumulus up and running on Linux! Thankfully no more dealing with Windows.

I've worked through several issues so far by reading the forums, faq, and posts but I'm stuck at the moment with Cumulus MX 3043 not reporting to Weather Underground. It did an initial report when I first started up but now it refuses. I don't see anything in the debug log (unless I'm overlooking something). Also because I have pre 1.9.3 firmware I did turn off the LOOP back. I thought that was the magic trick but it didn't seem to help.

I've attached the log. A second set of eyes would be great!

Thanks, all!

-Matt
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5016
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Postby mcrossley » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:58 pm

First, it looks like you have the Cumulus log interval set to 10 minutes, but the Davis to something different? This causes the Davis to send the entire contents of the logger to Cumulus - which takes some time to process!

One archive record is sent to WU, but then the next live updates receive an error - "An error occurred while sending the request." which to me sounds like Cumulus could even send the data. Steve may have more of an idea what is causing that.

I'd stop Cumulus, fix your Davis logger interval issue, then restart Cumulus and see where you are then.

fury88
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 5:20 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro 2 (fw 1.7.3)
Operating System: Linux Mint 18.1 x64

Re: Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Postby fury88 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:21 pm

Ok that makes sense. I completely missed any error in there. Too many log debuggings in my other gig. ;-) I ran Cumulus 1.x for 7 years. I didn't think but I probably could just use the original .ini file. I wasn't sure if I'd break something by doing that though I did see it can be done.

fury88
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 5:20 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro 2 (fw 1.7.3)
Operating System: Linux Mint 18.1 x64

Re: Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Postby fury88 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:05 pm

Ok I changed the interval but also figured out the reason why it wasn't sending data was because I used my username for Weather Underground instead of my station ID. This is different I think. In the 1.x version it required the username.

fury88
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 5:20 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro 2 (fw 1.7.3)
Operating System: Linux Mint 18.1 x64

Re: Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Postby fury88 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:43 pm

Another question related to this thread but not part of the problem. I notice that it's sending a REST call for the WX API? The password is getting embedded in the link. Is that a good idea? I assume the WX API is taking https so it SHOULD be encrypted but I'm surprised they did that.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5016
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Postby mcrossley » Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:02 pm

WU define the interface. They need the password, otherwise anybody could upload to your station. As you say it uses SSL so it should be secure, same as using a password to log on to any other web site.

https://weatherstation.wunderground.com ... tation.php

fury88
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 5:20 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro 2 (fw 1.7.3)
Operating System: Linux Mint 18.1 x64

Re: Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Postby fury88 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:29 pm

No I understand that but you typically don't pass a URL directly with a password. Regardless it's ok and working. Whatever floats their boat. IBM owns it now.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 5016
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Postby mcrossley » Sat Apr 22, 2017 8:13 am

True, i haven't looked into it but when is the secure connection made, before or after the URL is passed to the server? You'd hope before!

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26316
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Postby steve » Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:49 pm

fury88 wrote:Ok I changed the interval but also figured out the reason why it wasn't sending data was because I used my username for Weather Underground instead of my station ID. This is different I think. In the 1.x version it required the username.

Cumulus 1.x also requires the station ID, it's required by the protocol and it's the only way to identify the station uniquely (a user might have more than one station). The protocol doesn't use the username at all.

Cumulus still uses http (rather than https) for the upload URL. I'll look into changing it (in MX) at some point to use https (it's not just a case of changing the URL).
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

fury88
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 5:20 pm
Weather Station: Vantage Pro 2 (fw 1.7.3)
Operating System: Linux Mint 18.1 x64

Re: Davis Pro 2 (fm 1.7.3) and Cumulus MX not reporting to Weather Underground

Postby fury88 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:32 pm

Steve,

You're right. My bad. I looked at my old .ini file and realized it WAS the station id as well. Not sure why I got hung up with my user id. LOL

Yes, I realize the http/https is not a simple change. Integrating certificates and whatever SSL library you are using is not simple. I appreciate the thought! I had a crash this morning and I will open up another thread unrelated to this and upload the zip file.

-Matt


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests