If you use Cumulus, please donate Image

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Davis Pro2 connection questions

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
Benpointer
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: OSX Sierra

Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby Benpointer » Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:25 am

Hi,

apologies if this is already covered elsewhere but I have had a search and can't seem to find the answer.

I have bought a secondhand wireless Davis Pro2 which seems to be working fine. It has a weatherlink datalogger which I believe was used with a windows PC (no weatherlink software CD though). I want to connect it to my iMAC running OSX Sierra.

Do I have to have the Weatherlink MAC software in order to use Cumulus MX? I tried connecting and running it anyway with ComportName=COM0 but I get the "Unable to connect to station" error in the Cumulus startup. Have I got the right com port?

The consul is running firmware version 1.7 (which I can't update - no Windows PC). I did also download and install the latest CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller OSX driver from Silicon Labs, who I believe make the data logger chipset... I was guided by this info on AfterTen: http://www.afterten.com/products/weathe ... nnect.html

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Steve

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26141
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby steve » Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:44 am

Serial port names on OS X and Linux don't look like Windows COM port names, they look like /dev/ttyUSB0 etc. I can't remember what the usual port is on a Mac, you could try the one I mentioned or perhaps /dev/ttys000 - right now I can't remember exactly how you determine the correct port on a Mac - you can use the dmesg command on Linux as mentioned in the MX FAQ, perhaps that also works on a Mac.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Benpointer
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: OSX Sierra

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby Benpointer » Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:05 pm

OK thanks Steve. If I use the OSX command "ls /dev/tty*" I get a very long list of available options (see below). I have tried:

ComportName=/dev/tty
ComportName=/dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART
ComportName=/dev/ttys000

and various others - all to no avail. I am just wondering if I have got a more fundamental problem. Do I need WeatherLink software for this to work?

Thanks

Steve




PS the full list I get from the ls / dev/tty* command is as follows:
/dev/tty /dev/ttyse
/dev/tty.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port /dev/ttysf
/dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART /dev/ttyt0
/dev/ttyp0 /dev/ttyt1
/dev/ttyp1 /dev/ttyt2
/dev/ttyp2 /dev/ttyt3
/dev/ttyp3 /dev/ttyt4
/dev/ttyp4 /dev/ttyt5
/dev/ttyp5 /dev/ttyt6
/dev/ttyp6 /dev/ttyt7
/dev/ttyp7 /dev/ttyt8
/dev/ttyp8 /dev/ttyt9
/dev/ttyp9 /dev/ttyta
/dev/ttypa /dev/ttytb
/dev/ttypb /dev/ttytc
/dev/ttypc /dev/ttytd
/dev/ttypd /dev/ttyte
/dev/ttype /dev/ttytf
/dev/ttypf /dev/ttyu0
/dev/ttyq0 /dev/ttyu1
/dev/ttyq1 /dev/ttyu2
/dev/ttyq2 /dev/ttyu3
/dev/ttyq3 /dev/ttyu4
/dev/ttyq4 /dev/ttyu5
/dev/ttyq5 /dev/ttyu6
/dev/ttyq6 /dev/ttyu7
/dev/ttyq7 /dev/ttyu8
/dev/ttyq8 /dev/ttyu9
/dev/ttyq9 /dev/ttyua
/dev/ttyqa /dev/ttyub
/dev/ttyqb /dev/ttyuc
/dev/ttyqc /dev/ttyud
/dev/ttyqd /dev/ttyue
/dev/ttyqe /dev/ttyuf
/dev/ttyqf /dev/ttyv0
/dev/ttyr0 /dev/ttyv1
/dev/ttyr1 /dev/ttyv2
/dev/ttyr2 /dev/ttyv3
/dev/ttyr3 /dev/ttyv4
/dev/ttyr4 /dev/ttyv5
/dev/ttyr5 /dev/ttyv6
/dev/ttyr6 /dev/ttyv7
/dev/ttyr7 /dev/ttyv8
/dev/ttyr8 /dev/ttyv9
/dev/ttyr9 /dev/ttyva
/dev/ttyra /dev/ttyvb
/dev/ttyrb /dev/ttyvc
/dev/ttyrc /dev/ttyvd
/dev/ttyrd /dev/ttyve
/dev/ttyre /dev/ttyvf
/dev/ttyrf /dev/ttyw0
/dev/ttys0 /dev/ttyw1
/dev/ttys000 /dev/ttyw2
/dev/ttys1 /dev/ttyw3
/dev/ttys2 /dev/ttyw4
/dev/ttys3 /dev/ttyw5
/dev/ttys4 /dev/ttyw6
/dev/ttys5 /dev/ttyw7
/dev/ttys6 /dev/ttyw8
/dev/ttys7 /dev/ttyw9
/dev/ttys8 /dev/ttywa
/dev/ttys9 /dev/ttywb
/dev/ttysa /dev/ttywc
/dev/ttysb /dev/ttywd
/dev/ttysc /dev/ttywe
/dev/ttysd /dev/ttywf

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26141
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby steve » Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:17 pm

This looks like the one:

/dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART

What does the MXdiags file have in it when you set that (with MX stopped) and then start MX?

You don't need Weatherlink for Cumulus to work (although you might need it if you need to change the VP2 logging interval).
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Benpointer
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: OSX Sierra

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby Benpointer » Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:55 pm

Hi Steve, here is the contents of MXDiags using ComportName=/dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART in my Cumulus.ini...

2017-04-28 16:46:48.866 ========================== Cumulus MX starting ==========================
2017-04-28 16:46:48.868 Command line: /Applications/CumulusMX/CumulusMX.exe -lang en-GB
2017-04-28 16:46:48.868 Cumulus MX v.3.0.0 build 3043
2017-04-28 16:46:48.869 Platform: Mac OS X
2017-04-28 16:46:48.870 OS version: Unix 16.5.0.0
2017-04-28 16:46:48.870 Mono version: 4.8.0 (mono-4.8.0-branch/8f6d0f6 Thu Mar 9 11:59:17 EST 2017)
2017-04-28 16:46:48.870 Current culture: English (United Kingdom)
2017-04-28 16:46:48.870 Directory separator=/ Decimal separator=. List separator=,
2017-04-28 16:46:48.870 Date separator=/ Time separator=:
2017-04-28 16:46:48.870 Standard time zone name: GMT
2017-04-28 16:46:48.870 Daylight saving time name: BST
2017-04-28 16:46:48.870 Daylight saving time? True
2017-04-28 16:46:48.870 28/04/2017 16:46:48
2017-04-28 16:46:48.870 Data path = data/
2017-04-28 16:46:48.893 Creating backup folder backup/20170428164648/
2017-04-28 16:46:48.894 Created backup folder backup/20170428164648/
2017-04-28 16:46:48.899 Reading Cumulus.ini file
2017-04-28 16:46:48.902 ASM=10 AST=00:10:00
2017-04-28 16:46:48.902 Cumulus start date: 28 April 2017
2017-04-28 16:46:48.904 Debug logging is disabled
2017-04-28 16:46:48.904 Data logging is disabled
2017-04-28 16:46:48.904 Logging interval = 10
2017-04-28 16:46:48.970 Calculating sunrise and sunset times
2017-04-28 16:46:48.972 Sunrise: 05:48:04
2017-04-28 16:46:48.972 Sunset : 20:25:55
2017-04-28 16:46:48.972 Tomorrow sunrise: 05:46:12
2017-04-28 16:46:48.972 Tomorrow sunset : 20:27:32
2017-04-28 16:46:48.977 Station type: Davis Vantage Pro2
2017-04-28 16:46:48.977 WindUnit=mph RainUnit=mm TempUnit=°C PressureUnit=mb
2017-04-28 16:46:48.977 YTDRain=0.000 Year=0
2017-04-28 16:46:48.977 RainDayThreshold=-1.000
2017-04-28 16:46:48.978 Offsets and Multipliers:
2017-04-28 16:46:48.978 PO=0.000 TO=0.000 HO=0 WDO=0 ITO=0.000 UVO=0.000
2017-04-28 16:46:48.978 WSM=1.000 WGM=1.000 TM=1.000 TM2=0.000 HM=1.000 RM=1.000 UVM=1.000
2017-04-28 16:46:48.978 Spike removal:
2017-04-28 16:46:48.978 TD=999.000 GD=999.000 WD=999.000 HD=999.000 PD=999.000
2017-04-28 16:46:48.978 MR=999.000 MH=999.000
2017-04-28 16:46:48.978 Cumulus Starting
2017-04-28 16:46:48.978 Opening station
2017-04-28 16:46:48.986 Last update time from today.ini: 28/04/2017 16:46:48
2017-04-28 16:46:48.986 Read today file: Date = 00/00/00, LastUpdateTime = 28/04/2017 16:46:48, Month = 4
2017-04-28 16:46:48.986 ET not initialised
2017-04-28 16:46:48.988 /Applications/CumulusMX/data/alltime.ini
2017-04-28 16:46:48.988 Alltime.ini file read
2017-04-28 16:46:48.991 MonthlyAlltime.ini file read
2017-04-28 16:46:48.993 Finding raintoday from logfile data/Apr17log.txt
2017-04-28 16:46:48.993 Expecting listsep=, decimal=.
2017-04-28 16:46:48.993 Setting raintoday from logfile = 0
2017-04-28 16:46:48.993 Calculating rain counter = -1
2017-04-28 16:46:48.993 Rain counter negative, setting to zero
2017-04-28 16:46:48.993 Midnight rain not found, using raindaystart
2017-04-28 16:46:48.994 Getting rain totals, rain season start = 1
2017-04-28 16:46:48.994 Today = 28/04/17
2017-04-28 16:46:48.995 Station type = Davis
2017-04-28 16:46:48.995 LOOP2 disabled
2017-04-28 16:46:48.995 Serial device = /dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART
2017-04-28 16:46:48.997 Resource busy
2017-04-28 16:46:48.997 Not Connected
2017-04-28 16:46:49.015 629 web tags initialised
2017-04-28 16:46:49.019 HTML root path = /Applications/CumulusMX/interface
2017-04-28 16:46:49.057 Starting web socket server on port 8002
2017-04-28 16:47:01.664 Cumulus closing
2017-04-28 16:47:01.666 Writing Cumulus.ini file
2017-04-28 16:47:01.674 Closing connection
2017-04-28 16:47:01.675 Station stopped
2017-04-28 16:47:01.675 No data read this session, today.ini not written

Benpointer
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: OSX Sierra

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby Benpointer » Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:05 pm

Ah Ha!! Sorted I saw the MXDiags said:

2017-04-28 16:46:48.997 Resource busy

so I restarted the VP2 console - and tried MX again, lo and behold it's now connecting!

Many thanks for pointing me in the right direction Steve!

:D

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26141
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby steve » Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:06 pm

It can't connect to that serial port:

2017-04-28 16:46:48.995 Serial device = /dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART
2017-04-28 16:46:48.997 Resource busy
2017-04-28 16:46:48.997 Not Connected

I'm not able to say why that is, I'm afraid. Apparently something else is using the device.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26141
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby steve » Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:07 pm

Benpointer wrote:so I restarted the VP2 console - and tried MX again, lo and behold it's now connecting!
Ah - OK, well done.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Benpointer
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: OSX Sierra

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby Benpointer » Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:40 am

All is not quite right yet sadly :(

The console lost contact with the ISS last night at 19:45 (as it got dark) so I think a new ISS battery may be required. It was back in contact with the ISS by 8:03 this morning but then I noticed that the Last Station Update on Cumulus was stuck at 07:26. So I decided to stop and re-start Cumulus MX. On stopping it I got the following:

System.InvalidOperationException: Specified port is not open.
at System.IO.Ports.SerialPort.CheckOpen () [0x0000b] in <f8255d9ef0594d18ae2c0d97286b9a80>:0
at System.IO.Ports.SerialPort.DiscardInBuffer () [0x00000] in <f8255d9ef0594d18ae2c0d97286b9a80>:0
at (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) System.IO.Ports.SerialPort:DiscardInBuffer ()
at CumulusMX.DavisStation.SendLoopCommand (System.IO.Ports.SerialPort serialPort, System.String commandString) [0x0001b] in <e5374d62bd7e4591847a6042233be333>:0
at CumulusMX.DavisStation.Start () [0x000a3] in <e5374d62bd7e4591847a6042233be333>:0
at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart_Context (System.Object state) [0x00017] in <f712f98eb8e445c8918edaf595bbe465>:0
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal (System.Threading.ExecutionContext executionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback callback, System.Object state, System.Boolean preserveSyncCtx) [0x0008d] in <f712f98eb8e445c8918edaf595bbe465>:0
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run (System.Threading.ExecutionContext executionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback callback, System.Object state, System.Boolean preserveSyncCtx) [0x00000] in <f712f98eb8e445c8918edaf595bbe465>:0
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run (System.Threading.ExecutionContext executionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback callback, System.Object state) [0x00031] in <f712f98eb8e445c8918edaf595bbe465>:0
at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart () [0x0000b] in <f712f98eb8e445c8918edaf595bbe465>:0
**** An error has occurred - please zip up the MXdiags folder and post it in the forum ****

So attached is the MXDiags zip.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Benpointer
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: OSX Sierra

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby Benpointer » Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:55 am

Does the following in the MXdiags zip indicate that the station logging interval is set to 1 hour?

...
2017-04-28 17:04:09.314 Loaded archive record for Page=511 Record=0 Timestamp=28/04/2017 09:00:00
2017-04-28 17:04:09.314 Ignoring old archive data
2017-04-28 17:04:09.314 2556 archive entries processed
2017-04-28 17:04:09.314 Loaded archive record for Page=511 Record=1 Timestamp=28/04/2017 10:00:00
2017-04-28 17:04:09.314 Ignoring old archive data
2017-04-28 17:04:09.314 2557 archive entries processed
2017-04-28 17:04:09.314 Loaded archive record for Page=511 Record=2 Timestamp=28/04/2017 11:00:00
2017-04-28 17:04:09.314 Ignoring old archive data
...

And could that cause issues if Cumulus is set to 10minutes?

If so I have a problem Houston! ...because I don't have the WeatherLink Mac software and I see no way to set Cumulus to more than 30 mins (I'd prefer to keep it at 10mins ideally anyway.

I really don't want to spend £200 (£195 'special price' at WeatherShop) just to get the software, when I already have the data logger.

Any suggestions gratefully received :)

Thanks

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26141
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby steve » Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:20 am

The connection to the logger was lost somehow. I'm afraid I don't know enough about Macs and their serial (or USB) ports to be able to advise on how you might go about investigating that issue.

Having different logger intervals in Cumulus and the logger will cause problems (as demonstrated in your diags file, one problem is that the logger dumps its entire contents when Cumulus asks for the archive data). I don't think that it's the cause of your serial port problem, though.

You can set the logger interval by connecting to the logger using a terminal program - I think on a Mac you can use the 'screen' command to do this, e.g:

screen /dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART 19200

You can download the protocol spec from the downloads section on the Davis web site, but basically you need the following:

"TEST" Sends the string “TEST\n” back. (use this to confirm all is well before trying any other commands)

"SETPER 10" sets the logger interval to 10 minutes (and clear the logger data).

"NEWSETUP" Re-initialize the Vantage console after making certain configuration changes. I'm not sure whether you need to send this after changing the logger interval.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Benpointer
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: OSX Sierra

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby Benpointer » Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:25 am

Brilliant! I 'll give that a try. Thanks once again Steve - really appreciate the help :)

Benpointer
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: OSX Sierra

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby Benpointer » Sat Apr 29, 2017 10:12 am

No joy sadly :(

I can connect to the logger using the 'screen /dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART 19200' command in terminal (sometimes I get the 'Resource busy' message but disconnecting and reconnecting the usb cable solves that)...

But I can see no way to send the TEST or any other command to the logger. Just trying to type TEST - nothing appears on the terminal. IF I do Ctrl-A then : [colon] which the help says puts the screen into command mode I can then type (and see) TEST. But I just get ": unkown command TEST" displayed back for my troubles. I am no doubt confusing 'screen' commands with logger commands but no way can I seem to send anything to the logger.

Very frustrating! :cry:

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26141
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby steve » Sat Apr 29, 2017 10:45 am

Commands to the console have to be terminated by a Line Feed character (decimal 10, hex 0x0A), and perhaps the screen command doesn't send those when you use the 'enter' key. You might be able to send LF using ctrl-J. You may need to send a LF or two to wake the console up before the TEST command.

If you don't get anywhere, when I get chance I'll get my MacBook out and experiment myself, but I'm afraid I don't know when that will be, I'm up to my eyes in DIY and house tidying at the moment.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Like Cumulus and want to support it? Please donate! Image

Benpointer
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2
Operating System: OSX Sierra

Re: Davis Pro2 connection questions

Postby Benpointer » Sat Apr 29, 2017 1:04 pm

Thanks Steve, the Ctrl-J seemed to work... TEST <Ctrl-J> came back with TEST and SETPER 10 <Ctrl-J> came back with OK. I did NEWSETUP <Ctrl-J> too but there was no real reaction there.

I do seem to be having quite a few intermittent issues seeing the serial port - just going to change my USB cable in case it is as simple as that! Then I'll try running up CumulusMX again.

Thanks once again!


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests