Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby scanman » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:41 pm

Windows 10 has just performed one of its updates, and now Cumulus MX won't work. This is what it shows me when I try to start Cumulus up. Any clever people here know what I need to do to fix it?
help.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby steve » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:58 pm

That looks like you're not running it as administrator?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby scanman » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:33 pm

Hi Steve. That was what I thought, but that is what I get, even though I am trying to run it as an Administrator. It all worked fine until the latest Windows 10 update.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby steve » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:15 pm

I'll give it a try myself tomorrow, I think I got the update today.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby steve » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:12 am

Just tried it and it works OK for me. Don't know what to suggest, sorry.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby scanman » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:14 pm

Tried a new install, with the same result. Looks like Windows 10 update may have introduced compatability issues with CumulusMX?

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby steve » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:26 pm

For you but apparently for no-one else? I'm completely up to date with Windows 10 updates and it works fine for me, both when right-clicking and selecting 'run as administrator' and when running from an administrator command prompt.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby scanman » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:44 pm

Steve, you might be right in that the problem lies with my machine - but all I know is that Cumulus was working absolutely fine until Windows 10 forced an update - since then I just cannot get Cumulus to work at all. Unfortunately, I am not terribly good with computers, but this latest update from Microsoft has killed Cumulus completely and I haven't the foggiest idea what it has done or how to remedy it. I had hoped that a completely new install might sort it out, in case a file had become corrupted during the forced update, but I still keep getting the error. Curiously, Cumulus 1 is still working, but I really don't want to have to roll back as that would mean re-configuring my web-site again, which I do not have the time to do.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby steve » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:56 pm

Cumulus 1 doesn't use a browser connection for its user interface; it's when MX tries to open the http interface so that a browser can connect that you are getting an error which says that you do not have permission to do that. Microsoft decided that you have to use administrator privilege to do that, or use the netsh command to allow a program not running as administrator to do it.

Can you confirm that you haven't at some point used the netsh command as described in the MX instructions, and that you run MX by right-clicking on CumulusMX.exe and selecting 'Run as administrator', after which you get a prompt which asks you if you want to allow an app from an unknown publisher to make changes to your device?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby scanman » Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:09 pm

Hi Steve - I don't know what the netsh command is, so I assume I have never used it. In launching the program, I right click on the program to start it, and select run as administartor. Windows then gives me a message asking me if I want to run the program and I select yes. All this I used to do no problems, but since the Windows update, instead of the usual blurb showing up in the Dos window, it gives me the error message I posted at the start of this thread. Even new install throws up the same error message. I am totally stumped.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby steve » Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:24 pm

Try this:

Right click on a Command Prompt and select 'Run as administrator'. If you don't know how to find Command Prompt, it should be under 'Windows System' on your start menu. Then type:

netsh http add urlacl url=http://*:8998/ user=\users

Then try to start MX.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby scanman » Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:41 pm

So it says at the command prompt that the URL reservation was successfully added, but I still get the error message when I try to launch Cumulus.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby steve » Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:19 pm

That does seem to suggest that the problem is not lack of privilege. Try running MX on a different port. Using your administrator command prompt, change to the folder containing CumulusMX.exe and type:

CumulusMX.exe -port 28998
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

scanman
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby scanman » Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:31 pm

Hi Steve - I appreciate all your help. Unfortunately, changing the port as you suggested still gives me the same error message. :cry:

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: Help - Windows 10 has murdered Cumulus.

Postby steve » Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:39 pm

If I think of anything else, I'll let you know. Or perhaps someone else will be able to suggest something.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tau Bootis and 4 guests