Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

use CumulusMX dashboard interface as webpage online

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
User avatar
novy
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:37 pm
Weather Station: davis vantage vue
Operating System: Windows 7 / RASPBIAN
Location: Scotland

use CumulusMX dashboard interface as webpage online

Postby novy » Sun Jul 02, 2017 2:15 am

Hi

I have cumulus mx running on rasperry pi 3b perfect . local webpage is set up running but can i use this local webpage as my website ?
I have bought my domain name and would like to run a website using the cumulus local page as my website is this possible and how do i go about setting this up on rasperry pi ?

any help much appreciated.
Last edited by novy on Tue Sep 19, 2017 12:59 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: setting up cumulus mx for website

Postby steve » Mon Jul 03, 2017 7:26 am

It's possible, but it comes with risks, as it exposes your settings screens as well as your data. It's probably possible to prevent access to those with firewall rules, but you will have to get it right. Someone may be able to tell you what you need to do, I have seen at least one site done that way.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

User avatar
novy
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:37 pm
Weather Station: davis vantage vue
Operating System: Windows 7 / RASPBIAN
Location: Scotland

Re: setting up cumulus mx for website

Postby novy » Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:57 am

ok thanks yes i understand this for the setting. ive edited the local webpage to not show the settings tabs anymore for this reason . although someone could possibly access if they knew the setting address for them pages. or yes i could possibly block these via firewall somehow .

ive installed Apache on my rasperry pie but thats as far as ive got not really sure what to do next still learning .

Thanks again will wait to see if anyone can advise further

Herbaldew
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:33 pm
Weather Station: VP2+
Operating System: Raspbian Stretch
Location: US Mid-Atlantic

Re: setting up cumulus mx for website

Postby Herbaldew » Mon Jul 03, 2017 5:59 pm

novy wrote:ok thanks yes i understand this for the setting. ive edited the local webpage to not show the settings tabs anymore for this reason . although someone could possibly access if they knew the setting address for them pages.


I pondered doing this myself and along with taking the steps you mention, I deleted the actual "varioussettings".html so they couldn't be accessed even if someone new their respective name. The plan was that if I ever need to use them I would just copy them back long enough to do what was needed.

I ended up using this setup for in-house use only and keep it blocked from the outside.

I leave my rPi running my customized gauges page in full screen in Chromium. When I am away from home I connect using the VNC App and the VNC Server included in rPi3. Additionally, my rPi is next to my TV, so a quick change of the source on my TV remote shows it on the wide screen. You can send mouse controls with the app and I have a wireless mouse on the table where my remote sits, so I can navigate from the gauges page to wherever I want.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26254
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in France
Contact:

Re: setting up cumulus mx for website

Postby steve » Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:28 pm

Deleting the settings pages doesn't stop someone accessing your settings by calling the settings API directly.
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

freddie
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:19 am
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Operating System: GNU/Linux (Ubuntu 17.04)
Location: Hyssington, Powys, UK
Contact:

Re: setting up cumulus mx for website

Postby freddie » Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:23 pm

steve wrote:Deleting the settings pages doesn't stop someone accessing your settings by calling the settings API directly.
Very true. I think the only way around this is to proxy the calls to the API - Apache is very easy to set up to do this. On my site (I use the standard Cumulus site, not the interface) I proxy calls for the graph data back to MX rather than uploading the JSON files every minute. It dramatically cuts down the data upload volume to my site. It is ever so slightly slower than doing it the "normal" way, but only by half a second or so for the graphs with the most data (temperature and wind direction). It would be trivial (but more complex than my setup) to implement this method.
Freddie
Image

User avatar
novy
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:37 pm
Weather Station: davis vantage vue
Operating System: Windows 7 / RASPBIAN
Location: Scotland

Re: setting up cumulus mx for website

Postby novy » Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:30 am

Managed to get it working proper way now but not all working .
the way i done it before i had port 8888 on apache and opened port 8002 and data started flowing. but now running of port 99 on apache forwarding port 8002 does nothing

copied the cumulusmx folder contents on my pi to a new folder on my pi called webfolder
set up cumulus ftp setting to upload the files to the webfolder i just created
pointed apache2 to the webfolder
set the apache2 listen port to 99 as port 80 will not work or forward
open/forward port 99 on my router to my raspberry pi ip address
on 123-reg.co.uk i setup web forwarding to my public ip http://##.##.###:99/index.html


my site is working although not all data is being displayed on some parts of the site am i right in thinking no one can access the setting pages now ? opening port 8002 does nothing now .
Last edited by novy on Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
odintheterrible
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:18 am
Weather Station: Aercus WS3083 Wireless
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
Location: Torre-Pacheco, Murcia, Spain

Re: Using CumulusMX localhost webpage as website online

Postby odintheterrible » Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:49 pm

Greetings,
I have switched to the MX version of Cumulus after changing my weather station earlier this year and I find the current dials presentation in the Dashboard to be somewhat less visually appealing compared to the 'home' web page which was generated by the old version of Cumulus. Additionally, as referred to earlier in this thread, the current dashboard will give anyone viewing it complete access to the 'settings' sections of Cumulus MX, with all the problems that this will cause.
After a bit of experimentation with reference to the way the MX program displays it's data I've concluded that it is possible to combine the best of both worlds ... the MX functionality along with the visual presentation of the old Cumulus WITHOUT exposing the settings to any Tom, Dick or Harry (or anyone else, come to that LOL) who may care to browse the page.
As soon as I've completed the work on the web pages I'll post a link to the new setup and upload the files to my server and anyone interested can download them for their own use/modification.

As a side note, again referring to earlier posts in this thread, you DO need to open port 8002 as well as 8998 in order to access the current MX web page from external sources .... this is something that is missing in the support info for MX.
"Qui Custodit Ipsos Custodes ? ..."

Duct Tape is like 'The Force' ... it has a 'Light Side' AND a 'Dark Side' and it binds the Universe together !

User avatar
novy
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:37 pm
Weather Station: davis vantage vue
Operating System: Windows 7 / RASPBIAN
Location: Scotland

Re: Using CumulusMX localhost webpage as website online

Postby novy » Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:56 pm

odintheterrible wrote:Greetings,
I have switched to the MX version of Cumulus after changing my weather station earlier this year and I find the current dials presentation in the Dashboard to be somewhat less visually appealing compared to the 'home' web page which was generated by the old version of Cumulus. Additionally, as referred to earlier in this thread, the current dashboard will give anyone viewing it complete access to the 'settings' sections of Cumulus MX, with all the problems that this will cause.
After a bit of experimentation with reference to the way the MX program displays it's data I've concluded that it is possible to combine the best of both worlds ... the MX functionality along with the visual presentation of the old Cumulus WITHOUT exposing the settings to any Tom, Dick or Harry (or anyone else, come to that LOL) who may care to browse the page.
As soon as I've completed the work on the web pages I'll post a link to the new setup and upload the files to my server and anyone interested can download them for their own use/modification.

As a side note, again referring to earlier posts in this thread, you DO need to open port 8002 as well as 8998 in order to access the current MX web page from external sources .... this is something that is missing in the support info for MX.


.
Last edited by novy on Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:38 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
mcrossley
Posts: 4980
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:44 pm
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Operating System: Jessie Lite rPi
Location: Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Using CumulusMX localhost webpage as website online

Postby mcrossley » Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:04 pm

odintheterrible wrote:Greetings,
I have switched to the MX version of Cumulus after changing my weather station earlier this year and I find the current dials presentation in the Dashboard to be somewhat less visually appealing compared to the 'home' web page which was generated by the old version of Cumulus. Additionally, as referred to earlier in this thread, the current dashboard will give anyone viewing it complete access to the 'settings' sections of Cumulus MX, with all the problems that this will cause.
After a bit of experimentation with reference to the way the MX program displays it's data I've concluded that it is possible to combine the best of both worlds ... the MX functionality along with the visual presentation of the old Cumulus WITHOUT exposing the settings to any Tom, Dick or Harry (or anyone else, come to that LOL) who may care to browse the page.
As soon as I've completed the work on the web pages I'll post a link to the new setup and upload the files to my server and anyone interested can download them for their own use/modification.

As a side note, again referring to earlier posts in this thread, you DO need to open port 8002 as well as 8998 in order to access the current MX web page from external sources .... this is something that is missing in the support info for MX.

The "Dashboard" was never intended to be an externally viewable web page, it is a replacement for the old application window on the Windows version. I.e. so you can see locally that the program is running ok, change the settings, and a quick look at the values.

CMX does come with default web pages which are similar to the old version, these are what are intended for public consumption.


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tau Bootis and 4 guests