Page 1 of 3

looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:51 pm
by richard_newberry
anyone else's playing up weather underground?

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 10:58 am
by Toxic17
looks ok here...

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:44 am
by Mapantz
I've noticed, after having a permanent gold badge, it has disappeared. On closer inspection in the mxdiags, I have this:

Code: Select all

2017-12-28 11:39:07.878 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.


Going back quite a few days.. I have rebooted since then, but it's still occurring. The data is showing up on wunderground fine (every 5 mins)

It's not about the gold badge - I don't care about that. It's just odd that there's no loss of data but I still get an error. I just wondered if anyone else is seeing these errors in their diags?

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:21 pm
by Toxic17
Mapantz wrote:I've noticed, after having a permanent gold badge, it has disappeared. On closer inspection in the mxdiags, I have this:

Code: Select all

2017-12-28 11:39:07.878 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.


Going back quite a few days.. I have rebooted since then, but it's still occurring. The data is showing up on wunderground fine (every 5 mins)

It's not about the gold badge - I don't care about that. It's just odd that there's no loss of data but I still get an error. I just wondered if anyone else is seeing these errors in their diags?


Just checked my mxdiag, which is a few days old, no error about wu update since then.

I too have had that error before, though not recently.

have a new one on me though

Code: Select all

2017-12-28 14:41:11.014 WU update: The character set provided in ContentType is invalid. Cannot read content as string using an invalid character set.


could have been when I updated Debian before a reboot perhaps...

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:59 am
by RayProudfoot
No problems for this user. My gold medallions are still visible as is all weather data. :)

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:43 am
by Mapantz
It's still happening to me. No missing data on WU either. If I run through their graphs, it's not a constant 5 minutes, sometimes it is 3 minutes, sometimes 4, and sometimes it has sent at 1 and 2 minute intervals.

Code: Select all

2017-12-29 10:57:03.568 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2017-12-29 11:06:28.935 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2017-12-29 11:16:23.914 WU update: A task was canceled.
2017-12-29 11:25:30.367 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2017-12-29 11:32:20.757 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.


I have nothing in my logs to say anything was successful to WU, and the errors are in the logs going back to the end of November. I have no idea what's occurring!

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:17 pm
by Mapantz
I decided to change my IP address, reboot the router - as it hadn't been for over a month! I cleared my DNS cache, then rebooted. I don't see any errors in the diags at the moment, so fingers crossed. :lol:

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:21 pm
by Mapantz
Nope, still happening..

Code: Select all

2017-12-29 12:55:56.086 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2017-12-29 13:13:11.920 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2017-12-29 13:17:57.268 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.


It must be something their end? But it's odd that I see no one else with this problem. :?

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:15 pm
by jdc
All good here too. I was having some broadband/FTP problems earlier this week but WU updates were working fine throughout.

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 6:46 pm
by dazza1223
im seeing the same


2017-12-31 01:30:38.775 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2017-12-31 01:34:03.787 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2017-12-31 01:35:08.792 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2017-12-31 01:35:43.792 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:04 pm
by Mapantz
I give up with WU. It has been shot to pieces for weeks now. I have huge log files with the same errors..

Code: Select all

2018-01-08 16:20:39.498 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:20:44.445 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:20:49.448 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:20:54.466 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:20:59.548 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:21:04.477 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:21:09.459 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:21:14.478 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:21:19.548 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:21:24.485 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:21:29.496 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.
2018-01-08 16:21:34.489 WU update: An error occurred while sending the request.


I'm going to ditch them, WU are a waste of internet bandwidth.

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:07 pm
by dazza1223
thinking the same it a joke

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:51 pm
by philpugh
WU is working OK for me. I have low broadband speed, around 2Mbps with daily drop-outs and have suffered power fails due to winds that are a bit higher than normal. Just some of the joys of living 'in the sticks' :lol:

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:09 pm
by RayProudfoot
Bizarre. My own station ISTOCKPO4 is no longer visible on WU but Cumulus is not reporting any problems.

WU is reporting my station lat/Lon is 0/0. I’ll just wait for them to sort things out. Strange how different stations are having different problems.

Re: looks like wunderground have messed up again

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:20 pm
by philpugh
OK I give in :roll:

WU stopped receiving data at 5:45 am this morning then came back and went away at 11:45 am It seems to be catching!

Ray - my station location as reported by WU seems to be in order though.