Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development now that I have retired

Please read this post before posting

Latest Cumulus release v1.9.4 (build 1099) - Nov 28 2014
Latest Cumulus MX release - v3.0.0 build 3043 Jan 20 2017. See this post for download

FTP Upload doesn't upload

Discussion of version 3 of Cumulus, which runs on Windows, Linux, and OS X. All Cumulus MX queries in here, please.
wfmason
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:01 am
Weather Station: Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10

FTP Upload doesn't upload

Postby wfmason » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:17 pm

I have been trying to upload Cumulus data to my website without success.
I copied the index page without a problem using FileZilla.
I now have set Cumulus MX to update (auto-update, standard files, UTF-8, every 15 mins, not active mode, not realtime) and turned on ftplog.
Looking at the log (attached), nothing gets uploaded - the index page is still 5386 bytes and (using FileZilla) its timestamp hasn't changed. All the other files remain at 0 (they became length 0 during my attempts to get the FTP working).
There are no errors in the log but nothing happens. The only oddity I can see is the response to the EPSV command which appears to be the response one would expect to PASV.
I know little about ftp so any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Cumulus MX 3043. Windows 10. Cumulus is working locally without a problem.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
steve
Cumulus Author
Posts: 26324
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:49 pm
Weather Station: None
Operating System: None
Location: On tour in Portugal
Contact:

Re: FTP Upload doesn't upload

Postby steve » Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:08 am

Zero length files are often due to firewalls, have you tried active mode?
Steve
-----
Hosting available for Cumulus web sites. See http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11876

Please read the posts in the Announcements section about the current status of Cumulus development since I have retired from my day job

wfmason
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:01 am
Weather Station: Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: FTP Upload doesn't upload

Postby wfmason » Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:17 pm

I have tried active mode - the only result is that all the files on the web server are now length 0.

Also tried turning off Windows firewall in both active and passive modes.

My log of the various attempts is attached - I have added comments to separate the various runs.

Thanks again for looking
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Toxic17
Posts: 568
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Weather Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Operating System: Debian 9.1 Stretch
Location: Bangor, NI
Contact:

Re: FTP Upload doesn't upload

Postby Toxic17 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:29 pm

try selecting "FTP Rename" in the settings, else it maybe a permission issue on the folder you are trying to ftp to.
Regards Simon

https://www.conligwx.org
https://www.conligwx.org/pws/
https://www.conligwx.org/pws1/

https://twitter.com/conligwx
Davis Vantage Pro2+ - CumulusMX v3.0.0 (build 3043) + Saratoga/PWS
Image

wfmason
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:01 am
Weather Station: Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: FTP Upload doesn't upload

Postby wfmason » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:52 pm

I've tried the rename option in both Passive and Active. The active mode actually creates the htmtmp file on the server, but doesn't send any data. Revised ftplog is attached (latest attempts at the end). I've looked at the firewall log and there is no record of anything being blocked. Can anyone show me what the ftplog ought to look like when successful, please?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

fractonimbus
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:15 am
Weather Station: WH1091
Operating System: Windows 7 on a Dell Vostro
Location: Canberra

Re: FTP Upload doesn't upload

Postby fractonimbus » Tue Oct 03, 2017 12:05 pm

A slight possibility: instead of specifying "ftp.website.com" (website=whatever you use) try the numerical IP address. I need to do that in both CumulusMX and regular Cumulus. Apart from that, I use the same settings for FTP that I use in Filezilla.
Image

wfmason
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:01 am
Weather Station: Vantage Vue
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: FTP Upload doesn't upload

Postby wfmason » Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:06 pm

Many thanks to everyone for suggestions - I tried them all but nothing seemed to work.
So I downloaded WinSCP and set it to keep the website directory in sync with the cumulus web directory, leaving the Cumulus FTP running but failing each time. That worked but I had to restart WinSCP whenever I (or Windows Update) rebooted my computer. I found out that WinSCP can be script-driven and was looking at what I needed to do when ...
I was restarting WinSCP and found that the files on the server were already up to date - the Cumulus FTP is now working!
I have checked the FTPLog file and the FTP server is now giving the correct reply to the EPSV command (see my original post in this topic) - I can only assume that my ISP has updated its server software.
All's well that end's well and I'm very pleased with the live website.


Return to “Cumulus MX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests